Guides: Theology and Religious Studies Research Guide: Language Tools

General Language Resources

This page lists select Greek and Latin lexicons, thesauri, indicies, and vocabularies. Some of the resources are general (found in the left column) while other sources are Patristic author specific (found in the right column).

A Greek English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature
Call Number: PA881 .B38 2000 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)

This book contains numerous references to classical, intertestamental, Early Christian, and modern literature as well as extended definitions which give a fuller sense of the word in question.
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament: Based on Semantic Domains
Call Number: PA881 .G68 1989 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)

The two volume set allows you to search by the Greek word, English word, or a Scripture passage of the New Testament. Volume 1 has the Introduction, Table of Domains, and Text of Domains. Volume 2 has three indices: Greek-English Index, English Index, and Passage Index.
A Patristic Greek Lexicon
Call Number: PA881 .L35 1961 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, Greek and Latin Reading Room, and Stacks)

This lexicon of Hellenistic Greek (300 B.C. to 600 A.D.) is a companion volume to A Greek-English lexicon by H. G. Liddell and R. Scott as revised by H. S. Scott.
A Reverse Index of Patristic Greek
Call Number: PA881 .F45 1983

This index contains a general introduction is in English while the detailed introduction is in German.
Dictionary of Ecclesiastical Latin: With an Appendix of Latin Expressions Defined and Clarified
Call Number: PA2891 .D53 1995 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library and Greek and Latin Reading Room)

This dictionary contains terms from Scripture, Canon Law, liturgy, Second Vatican Council, Church Fathers, and theology. This book is not a research dictionary.
A Primer of Ecclesiastical Latin
Call Number: PA2823 .C55 1985 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library and Stacks)

This book helps individuals to learn and read ecclesiastical Latin; Morphology, Latin-English Vocabulary, and English-Latin Vocabulary are included as well. The book contains texts from Church Fathers (Ambrose, Jerome, and Augustine,) the New Testament, and the Mass.

Patristic Author Language Resources

Augustinus-Lexikon
Call Number: BQ 5829 .A8 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)

These volumes contain entries on the life and thought of Augustine as well as individuals, places, objects, and concepts associated with Augustine in English, French, and German. The preface is available in English, French, and German.
Index Verborvm Omnivm Quae Svnt in Q. Septimii Florentis Tertvlliani Tractatv De Praescriptione Haereticorvm
Call Number: BQ 6217 .P7 M62 I3

This book contains an index in Latin to one of Tertullian's works.
Lexicon Athanasianum
Call Number: BQ 1117 .M9

This lexicon, in Greek, contains words found in Athanasius' writings. The entries contain abbreviations of titles in Latin.
The Rare and Late Latin Nouns, Adjectives, and Adverbs in St. Augustine's De Civitate Dei: A Morphological and Semasiological Study
Call Number: PA25 .C36 v.44

The book contains a postclassical Latin glossary as well as the semantics found in Saint Augustine's De Civitate Dei.
The Vocabulary of St. Hilary of Poitiers as Contained in Commentarius in Matthaeum, Liber I ad Constantium and De Trinitate: A Morphological and Semasiological Study
Call Number: PA25 .C36 v.47

The book contains a postclassical Latin glossary as well as the semantics found in Saint Hilary of Poitiers' Commentarius in Matthaeum and De Trinitate.
Thesaurus Basilii Caesariensis: Opera Omnia
Call Number: BQ 310 .C68 B3 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library Folios)

The thesaurus consists of microfiches with indexes and concordances in Greek while the introduction is in French.
Thesaurus Clementis Alexandrini: Opera Omnia
Call Number: BQ 310 .C68 C5 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library Folios)

This thesaurus consists of microfiches with word lists in Greek and an introduction in Italian.
Thesaurus Sancti Gregorii Nazianzeni
Call Number: BQ 310 .C68 G7 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library Folios)

The thesaurus consists of microfiches with indexes of forms and lemmata, tables of frequencies, and concordances of lemmata. The introduction is in French.