This page lists books pertaining to the history of the Church Councils. These books are located in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library and the Canon Law Library. Similar books are available in the Stacks.
The Church of the Ancient Councils: The Disciplinary Work of the First Four Ecumenical Councils
Councils & Synods, With Other Documents Relating to the English Church
The First Seven Ecumenical Councils (325-787) Their History and TheologyHandbook of Church HistoryHistoire des Conciles d'après les Documents OriginauxA History of the Councils of the Church: From the Original DocumentsThe History of the Popes from the Close of the Middle Ages: Drawn from the Secret Archives of the Vatican and Other Original SourcesThe Lives of the Popes in the Early Middle AgesActa Conciliorum et Epistolae Decretales, ac Constitutiones Summorum Pontificum by
Call Number: BV 11 .H26 (Canon Law Library Folios)
These volumes cover councils and synods from 56 (Canons of the Apostles) to 1714. The text is in parallel columns of Greek and Latin or Latin only. This set is also available online.
Acta Conciliorum Oecumenicorum. Call Number: BV 11 .S4 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library). The volumes cover 431 to 553.
Acta et Decreta Sacrorum Conciliorum Recentiorum. Call Number: BV 11 .L13 (Canon Law Library). The seven volumes contain acta and decreta from synods, councils, and Catholic Episcopal conferences from 1682 to 1870 (the First Vatican Council). This set is also available online.
Bruns Canones Apostolorum Et Conciliorum. Call Number: BV 11 .B89 (Canon Law Library). The two volumes covers the canons of the Apostles, synods, and councils from 56 to 696. The text is in Greek and Latin.
Canones Apostolorum Et Concilliorum. Call Number: BV 11 .B89 1959 (Canon Law Library). This book contains the texts (Greek and Latin) of the First Council of Nicaea (325) to the Council of Berghamstedense. Synods are included as well.
Les Conciles oecuméniques. Call Number: BV 11 .C6 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, Canon Law Library, and Stacks). The first volume contains the history of the councils in French while the second volume contains the actual texts in Greek, Latin, Armenian, and Arabic with a French Translation from the Council of Nicaea to the Second Vatican Council (325 to 1965).
Conciliorum Oecumenicorum Decreta. Call Number: BV 11 .C39 1973 (Canon Law Library, Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, and Stacks). This book contains decrees from the Council of Nicaea to the Second Vatican Council (325 to 1965). Synods are included as well.
Conciliorum Oecumenicorum Generaliumque Decreta. Call Number: BV 11 .C6 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library). The volumes (part of Corpus Christianorum) contain the texts of the decreta in Greek and Latin in parallel columns while the apparatus is in English. Volume 1 covers the First Council of Nicaea (325) to the Second Council of Nicaea (787) while volume 3 covers the Council of Trent (1545-1563) to the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
Decrees of the Ecumenical Councils. Call Number: BV 11 .C3913 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, Canon Law Library, and Stacks). The two volumes contain the original text as well as English translations of decrees from the Council of Nicaea to the Second Vatican Council (325 to 1965).
Disciplinary Decrees of the General Councils, Text, Translation, and Commentary. Call Number: BV 11 .S38 (Canon Law Library, Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, and Stacks). This book contains texts in Greek and Latin as well as English translations of 18 councils: the First Council of Nicaea (325) to the Fifth Lateran Council (1512-1517).
Ecclesiae Occidentalis Monumenta Iuris Antiquissima. Call Number: BV 11 .T94 (Canon Law Library). The volumes contain canons from the Canones Apostolorvm to Concilivm Constantinopolitanvm. The canons are in Greek while interpretations of the canons are in Latin. This set is also available online.
Epitome Canonum Conciliorum. Call Number: BV 11 .R62 1870 (Canon Law Library). The two volumes contain excerpts (in Latin) from the councils and synods of the church arranged under subjects alphabetically (such as Abbas, Agape, Eucharistia, Iudaei, Martyres, Patriarchae, Pax, Ritus Ecclesiae, and Sacramenta). Each volume has an index of the subjects covered in that volume. This set is also available online.
Die Kanones Der Wichtigsten Altkirchlichen Concilien. Call Number: BV 11 .L36 (Canon Law Library). This book contains texts in Greek and Latin of synods and councils from the Canons of the Apostles to the Council of Turin. Councils included are the Council of Ephesus (431), the Council of Chalcedon (451), and the Second Council of Nicaea (787). This set is also available online.
Sacrorum Conciliorum Nova et Amplissima Collectio by Call Number: BV 11 .M28 (Canon Law Library Folios and Religious Studies and Philosophy Library Folios). The volumes (also known as Mansi) cover councils from the First Council of Nicaea (325) to the First Vatican Council (1869-1870) as well as synods from 33 onwards. Engraved title vignettes, portraits, and head and tail pieces are included as well. The text consists of parallel columns of Latin as well as parallel columns of Greek and Latin. The seventeen volumes contain texts of councils and synods from 33 (Synod of Apostles) to 1655 as well as maps. This set is also available online from Patristica.net
Decrees of the Ecumenical Councils. Call Number: BV 11 .C3913 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, Canon Law Library, and Stacks). The two volumes contain the original text as well as English translations of decrees from the Council of Nicaea to the Second Vatican Council (325 to 1965).
Disciplinary Decrees of the General Councils, Text, Translation, and Commentary. Call Number: BV 11 .S38 (Canon Law Library, Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, and Stacks). This book contains texts in Greek and Latin as well as English translations of 18 councils: the First Council of Nicaea (325) to the Fifth Lateran Council (1512-1517).
The Seven Ecumenical Councils of the Undivided Church. Call Number: BV 11 .S43 (Canon Law Library). This book contains English translations of synods and councils from the First Council of Nicaea (325) to the Second Council of Nicaea (787). Notes accompany the texts.
Concilia Aevi Merovingici. Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.1 (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume contains texts in Latin from synods and councils from 511 to 695. The volume is also available in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library Folios (DD 3 .M81 ser.11 sect.3 t.1).
Concilia Aevi Karolini. Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.2 (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume contains texts in Latin from synods and councils from 742-839. The volume is also available in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library Folios (DD 3 .M81 ser.11 sect.3 t.2).
Opus Caroli Regis Contra Synodum (Libri Carolini). Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.2 supp.1 1998 (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume focus on the Second Council of Nicaea (787), Iconoclasm, and worship of idols and images.
Libri Carolini, sive, Caroli Magni Capitulare de Imaginibus. Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.2 supp. (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume focuses on the Second Council of Nicaea (787) and Iconoclasm. The volume is also available in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library (DD 3 .M81 ser.11 sect.3 t.2 suppl.).
Das Konzil von Aachen 809. Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.2 supp.2 (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume focuses on the Council of Aachen (809).
De Divortio Lotharii Regis et Theutbergae Reginae. Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.4 supp.1 (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume focuses on councils and synods in France, Sources of Germanic law, and Lothair II (King of Lorraine, ca. 825-869).
Die Konzilien der Karolingischen Teilreiche, 843-859. Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.3 (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume contains texts in Latin from synods and councils concerning Europe from 843 to 859. The commentary is in German.
Die Konzilien der Karolingischen Teilreiche, 860-874. Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.4 (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume contains texts in Latin from synods and councils concerning Europe from 860 to 874. The commentary is in German.
Die Streitschriften Hinkmars von Reims und Hinkmars von Laon 869-871. Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.4 supp.2 (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume focuses on history sources regarding the Carolingians and the Church history of France to 987.
Die Konzilien Deutschlands und Reichsitaliens, 916-1001. Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.6 (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume contains texts in Latin from synods and councils concerning Germany and Italy from 916-1001. The volume is also available in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library Folios (DD3 .M81 ser.11 sect.3 t.6).
Die Konzilien Deutschlands und Reichsitaliens 1023-1059. Call Number: BV 11 .M81 t.8 (Canon Law Library Folios). This volume contains texts in Latin from synods and councils concerning Germany and Italy from 1023 to 1059.