Osservatore Romano [Italian Daily Edition]. Publication Date: 1849-. Contains official press releases put out by the Vatican. Print and CD-ROM formats are located in Religious Studies/Philosophy Library Rm 314. Print 2004-present; CD-ROM 1998-2009; Microform 1849-1997 [Micfilm. BQ 2 .O84]
L'Osservatore Romano [English Weekly Edition]. Publication Date: 1968-.CD-ROM and some print issues are located in Religious Studies/Philosophy Library Rm 314; other print issues will be located in Mullen Library Stacks.Print 2008-present [BQ 2 .O84 E5]; CD-ROM 1998-2009; Also includes French and Spanish editions, each with slightly-different content.Microform 1968-1998 [Micfilm BQ 2 .O84 E5].
Origins [English Weekly Edition]. Publication Date: 1971-. Published by the Catholic News Service of USCCB. Includes English translations of significant Vatican documents. It is also available online [OriginsPlus].
The Pope Speaks.Publication Date: 1954-2004. Includes published papal documents as well as public speeches in English. It is also available in Microform (1982-1988) [Micfilm. BQ 2 .P82].
Located in Main Reading Room and Religious Studies/Philosophy (1968-2004 only), and online. Previously published as The Catholic Periodical Index and The Guide to Catholic Literature. An annual, annotated, author-title-subject bibliography covering many Catholic sources including the Acta Apostolica Sedis, L'Osservatore Romano, and Origins, as well as several Catholic newspapers. More info
The Vatican’s online papal archive goes back to Pope Leo XIII (1878), and includes a variety of encyclicals, exhortations, letters, and speeches from each pope since. Many of these documents are available in multiple languages including English. For Popes John Paul II and Benedict XVI, most documents are available in English. The Vatican site also includes many documents published by the various departments of the Roman Curia. It archives the full contents of Acta Apostolicae Sedis and Acta Sancta Sedis, broken down by volume.
This site provides access to the texts of many encyclicals, bulls, and other documents from 1216 to present. Users can browse the list of documents (sorted by Pope), or directories of Popes and church councils; they can also search by keyword. The site also includes a page with images of selected medieval church documents.