Call Number: BX 235 .E5 1997 (Religious and Philosophy Library and Canon Law Library)
This two volume set provides articles on individuals, doctrines, heresies, etc. up to the seventh century A.D. such as Augustine, Gregory of Nazianzus, Gregory of Nyssa, Ignatius of Antioch, Jerome, Origen, Tertullian, etc. Some of the articles contain images.
Call Number: BX 31 .K39 1992 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library and Stacks)
This dictionary focuses on Christianity from the first to the sixth century and includes entries such as Athanasius of Alexandria, Augustine of Hippo, Basil of Caesarea, Eusebius of Caesarea, Gregory of Nazianzus, Gregory of Nyssa, Hilary of Poitiers, Ignatius of Antioch, Irenaeus of Lyons, Origen, Origenist Controversies, and Tertullian.
These dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks are Patristic or Early
Christianity specific. Many entries include bibliographies.
Call Number: BR95.W12 D5 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
This one volume dictionary is an abridgment of the four volume set mentioned above. The one volume covers the first six Christian centuries and omits some of the minor articles found in the four volume set.
Call Number: BR66.5 .L4813 2000 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
The Dictionary of Early Christian Literature is the English translation of the first German edition, Lexicon der Antiken Christlichen Literature. The dictionary consists of numerous articles on early Christian authors which contain a brief description of their lives and a presentation of their works.