Guides: Theology and Religious Studies Research Guide: Language Resources

Latin

Allen and Greenough's new Latin grammar by Allen and Greenough
Call Number: PA2087. A42

A complete and substantial study of Latin grammar.
Oxford Latin Dictionary
Call Number: PA2365.E5 O98

ISBN: 0198642245

Publication Date: 1968

Greek & Latin Reading Room. The standard reference for classical Latin.
Oxford Latin Desk Dictionary
Call Number: PA2365.E5 O93 2005

First Floor Reference. An abbreviated version of the Oxford Latin Dictionary.
Cassell's Latin Dictionary
Call Number: PA2365.E5 C3 1977

ISBN: 0025225804

Greek & Latin Reading Room. A basic dictionary, providing definitions for both Latin-English and English-Latin.
Lewis & Short Latin Dictionary
Call Number: PA2365.E5 A56 1955

ISBN: 0198642016

Greek & Latin Reading Room, Canon Law, and Mullen Library Stacks. Includes an orthographical index, as well as references to ancient authors and their works.
Dictionary of Ecclesiastical Latin: With an Appendix of Latin Expressions Defined and Clarified
Call Number: PA2891 .D53 1995 (Greek and Latin Reading Room)

A Latin-English dictionary with vocabulary pertaining to scripture, The Code of Canon Law, the liturgy, and the documents of Vatican II. An appendix includes legal and theological phrases and words.
Consecrated Phrases : A Latin Theological Dictionary
Call Number: PA2891 .B7 1998

ISBN: 0814658806

Canon Law, Religious Studies/Philosophy, and Mullen Library Stacks. This work compiles, translates and explains various theological expressions. It is intended to aid those who are studying theology and canon law, but may not be familiar with certain Latin phrases.
Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus
Call Number: PA2890 .N54 2002

ISBN: 9004112790

Greek & Latin Reading Room. A lexicon of medieval Latin reflecting a variety of usages and styles, including classical, Vulgate, and patristic Latin. Most entries come from the period between A.D. 550 and 1150.

French

The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary : French-English, English-French
Call Number: PC2640 .O83 1997

ISBN: 0198600674

Publication Date: 1997

Religious Studies/Philosophy; older editions in Mullen Library Stacks[PC2640 .O93 1995] and First Floor Reference
[PC2640 .O83 1994]. Includes example sentences and literary vocabulary, as well as terms from science and technology, business, and medicine.
Cassell's French-English, English-French Dictionary
Call Number: PC2640 .C3 1981

Publication Date: 1981

Canon Law, Religious Studies/Philosophy, and First Floor Reference.
Dictionnaire Universel, Contenant Généralement Tous Les Mots François
Call Number: PC2620 .F87 1972

Mullen Library Stacks. Includes words relevant to philosophy, logic, physics, medicine, mythology, antiquity, the sacred and profane, mathematics, geometry, arithmetic, the arts, rhetoric, poetry, and grammar.
French Reference Grammar for Schools and Colleges
Call Number: PC2111.M28 F8 1964

Mullen Library Stacks.

German

Oxford-Duden German Dictionary: German-English, English-German
Call Number: PF3640 .O94 2005

Religious Studies/Philosophy and Mullen Library Stacks. Includes cultural notes and vocabulary pertaining to technological innovations, politics, culture, and society.
Cassell's German-English, English-German Dictionary
Call Number: PF3640 .B453 1978

ISBN: 0025229206

Publication Date: 1978

Canon Law, Religious Studies/Philosophy, First Floor Reference, and Mullen Library Stacks.
Dictionary of Modern Theological German
Call Number: BR95 .Z53 1992

Publication Date: 1992

Canon Law and Religious Studies/Philosophy. Provides basic German vocabulary words helpful for reading the Bible and other theological texts.
A Concise German Grammar for Reference and Review
Call Number: PF3111 .L83

Publication Date: 1955

Mullen Library Stacks.

Italian

Sansoni-Harrap Standard Italian and English Dictionary
Call Number: PC1640 .S22

Publication Date: 1970

First Floor Reference and Mullen Library Stacks. This dictionary, containing over 100,000 words, is intended for both general readers and academic specialists.
Cassell's Italian Dictionary :Italian-English, English-Italian
Call Number: PC1640 .C33 1977

ISBN: 0025225405

Publication Date: 1977

Religious Studies/Philosophy and Mullen Library Stacks .
Using Italian: A Guide to Contemporary Usage
Call Number: PC1460 .K56 2004

ISBN: 0521485568

Publication Date: 2004

Religious Studies/Philosophy and First Floor Reference. Covers aspects of vocabulary as well as grammar, including clauses, sentence structure, etc.

Spanish

The Oxford Spanish Dictionary: Spanish-English, English-Spanish
Call Number: PC4640 .O94 2008

Religious Studies/Philosophy and Mullen Library Stacks.
Cassell's Spanish-English, English-Spanish Dictionary
Call Number: PC4640 .C35 1978b

ISBN: 0025229109

Publication Date: 1978

Religious Studies/Philosophy, First Floor Reference. and Mullen Library Stacks. A good aid for reading literature as well as modern colloquialisms and technical usages.
A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish
Call Number: PC4112 .B88 2004

ISBN: 0340810335

Mullen Library Stacks.