Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Shakespearean Criticism is included! Type 'shakespearean criticism' in the search box; you will receive results. On the left side of the screen you see various subjects of your results - some of which are play titles and book reviews.
A digitized collection of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, and more, issued 1701-1800. Most published in the U.K., some from the Americas and elsewhere. Significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare are included. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.
This illustrated volume provides bibliographical information relating to Shakespeare and his works, stage history, the twelve largest Shakespeare libraries, criticism, articles relating to Shakespeare, Shakespeare portraits and autographs, actors, etc. It also includes a historical introduction with quotes from famous writers and historical figures about Shakespeare and an examination of previous bibliographies. Further, it records the market values for rarer entries.
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions and reviews, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials relating to international Shakespeare scholarship. Continual retrospective indexing (three prior years in any given year) will expand the coverage of the database. This version includes more than 74,800 entries.
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the MLA International Bibliography indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
Beginning in 1920, ABELL is an annual publication gathering together articles and books written on various areas of the English language, philology, and literature. Indexes of sources and abbreviations are given as well as indices on scholars, authors and filmmakers. Every volume has a dedicated section on William Shakespeare (found in the "Sixteenth Century" Section) which includes editions and textual criticism, general scholarship and criticism, productions, and separate works. ABELL is a British publication and MLA International Bibliography is an American one.
This journal provides a record of the scholarship published during each year from 1919 to the present concerning the English language and literature. The aim of this eighty-eight volume work is to provide a record of the scholarship published during each year from 1919 to the present (the volumes are usually two years behind) relating to English language and literature. The volumes are comprised of bibliographic essays that discuss the merits of articles, essays, editions, and books published during the year that pertain to certain topics. Every volume has a section dedicated to Shakespeare (earlier volumes have editions, general studies, studies of individual plays and poems, Shakespearean productions, Shakespearean scholarship echoes and allusions, and gramophone recordings while later volumes have editions and textual studies, Shakespeare in the Theatre, Shakespeare on Screen, criticism, and books reviewed) as well as to The Renaissance and Elizabethan Drama. Some of the section names undergo changes from earlier volumes to later volumes. Each volume concludes with an index. This series is available in the Reference Room (PE58 .E58)
A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index (over 1.6 million records) plus unique full text content.
Academic Search Complete, first stop for the beginning researcher, is our largest multi-disciplinary database, offering thousands of full-text journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Most of the periodicals are covered back to at least the early 1990s, but some content dates back as far as 1887. The database features some content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. To cross-search additional subject-specific databases from this publisher, click on Choose Databases.