This illustrated edition is designed to explain the editorial decisions used to create the 1986 Complete Works of Shakespeare printed by the Oxford University Press. The book provides an introduction to editing Shakespeare and information about the authorship of Shakespeare's plays. The main body of the book presents the textual and editorial changes made to the poems and plays in the Complete Works of Shakespeare. This book is also available in the stacks.

This nine volume series provide concordances to the works of Shakespeare. The volumes include statistical information for the plays, such as total speeches, total lines, and total words in prose and verse. Volumes 1-3 provide individual concordances for the plays. The listings include statistical information for each word, including frequency and relative frequency in verse and prose, and citations. Concordances to the characters of the plays are also provided. The character concordances are alphabetical and provide such information as the number of speeches per character, lines, and words in verse and prose.

This resource (a three volume set) provides a biographical sketch of Shakespeare's life, descriptions of each genre (comedy, tragedy, etc.), essays on major themes and influences, and basic information on each play or poem. The texts of the plays include annotations, which provide definitions for archaic words and explanations for mythological and historical allusions.

This encyclopedia includes everything relating to Shakespeare such as synopses of plays, character studies, and information on the the authorship controversy and the Elizabethan theater. The book also contains black-and-white photos and illustrations.

This illustrated book provides alphabetical listings and explanations of historical figures, actors, countries, cities, titles, characters, and concepts relating to Shakespeare. Minor characters such as "Citizen" are included. Further, entries for the plays include summaries, commentaries, textual notes, sources, and theatrical histories. Additionally, historical or literary figures only incidentally related to Shakespeare are included, such as Samuel Taylor Coleridge or William Caxton.

This illustrated volume provides descriptions of all of the characters that appear in Shakespeare's plays. The editors include Pericles and Henry VIII, but do not include Sir Thomas More or The Two Noble Kinsmen among the works. Quotations from the plays are from William Shakespeare: The Complete Works edited by C.J. Sisson. Comments from Johnson, Coleridge, and Hazlitt are included in the descriptions of some major characters.

The book provides information regarding Shakespeare's plays and his life as well as information on theater interpretations of the plays, criticism of the plays, and plays in film.

This book contains forty five essays discussing various aspects of William Shakespeare and illustrations; the essays are divided into four parts (Shakespeare's life and times, Shakespearian genres, Shakespeare Criticism, and Shakespeare's afterlife).

This illustrated edition is designed to explain the editorial decisions used to create the 1986 Complete Works of Shakespeare printed by the Oxford University Press. The book provides an introduction to editing Shakespeare and information about the authorship of Shakespeare's plays. The main body of the book presents the textual and editorial changes made to the poems and plays in the Complete Works of Shakespeare. This book is also available in the stacks.

This illustrated book provides alphabetical listings and explanations of historical figures, actors, countries, cities, titles, characters, and concepts relating to Shakespeare. Minor characters such as "Citizen" are included. Further, entries for the plays include summaries, commentaries, textual notes, sources, and theatrical histories. Additionally, historical or literary figures only incidentally related to Shakespeare are included, such as Samuel Taylor Coleridge or William Caxton.

This illustrated volume provides descriptions of all of the characters that appear in Shakespeare's plays. The editors include Pericles and Henry VIII, but do not include Sir Thomas More or The Two Noble Kinsmen among the works. Quotations from the plays are from William Shakespeare: The Complete Works edited by C.J. Sisson. Comments from Johnson, Coleridge, and Hazlitt are included in the descriptions of some major characters.

The introduction provides information on various aspects of the festival. The Catalogue of Production includes plays of William Shakespeare and provides information such as the year the play was performed, the theatre it was performed in, the opening day and closing day of the play, actor names and the role they played, and citations of reviews. Index of Names and Index of Titles are included.

Five volumes in eleven parts with illustrations; an index was published in 1979 (PN2592 .L84 index). Part 1 covers 1660-1700, Part 2 covers 1700-1729, Part 3 covers 1729-1747, Part 4 covers 1747-1776, and Part 5 covers 1776-1800. Volume 1 has a long introduction which provides information regarding Playhouses, Theatrical Financing, Advertising, Actors and Acting, Dancers and Dancing, The Production of Plays, The Audience, and more. Each season such as Season of 1687-1688 is introduced by a short introduction.

This 16 volume provides biographical entries of individuals involved in theater companies and public entertainment in London, England. The articles are arranged by the individual's last name, first name, year(s), the role(s) of the individual, and biographical information. Illustrations are included in each volume and at the end of each volume (Volume 1 has Illustrations Maps and Views of London and Threatre Sites while Volume 5 has Illustrations Views and Drawings of Provincial Theatres).

This work guides actors through the plays of Shakespeare's time period. Lists of scenes and monologues are provided. Plays are organized by genre, such as tragedy, history, comedy, romance, and tragicomedy. Background information is given for each genre. Each section primarily contains Shakespeare plays, but plays from his contemporaries also are given. Biographical synopses are provided for each playwright. The appendices furnish notes on the order of the composition of Shakespeare's plays, descriptions of the selection guides that aid in finding a scene or monologue, selection guides to monologues, and selection guides to scenes.

The monologues from Shakespeare's plays (well known as well as overlooked) include All's Well That Ends Well, Antony and Cleopatra, Coriolanus, Cymbeline, Henry V, Henry VI Part I, Henry VI Part II, Henry VIII, King Lear, Love's Labours Lost, The Merchant of Venice, The Merry Wives of Windsor, Much Ado About Nothing, Pericles, Richard II, Richard III, The Taming of the Shrew, The Tempest, Titus Andronicus, Troilus and Cressida, The Two Gentlemen of Verona, The Two Noble Kinsmen, and The Winter's Tale.

The monologues from Shakespeare's plays (well known as well as overlooked) include All's Well That Ends Well, Anthony and Cleopatra, The Comedy of Errors, Coriolanus, Cymbeline, Henry IV Part II, Henry VI Part I, Henry VI Part II, Henry VI Part III, Henry VIII, Julius Caesar, King Lear, Love's Labours Lost, Measure for Measure, The Merchant of Venice, The Merry Wives of Windsor, Much Ado About Nothing, Pericles, Richard II, Richard III, Romeo and Juliet, The Tempest, Titus Andronicus, Troilus and Cressida, The Two Gentlemen of Verona, The Two Noble Kinsmen, and The Winter's Tale.

All of the monologues are from William Shakespeare's plays: All's Well That Ends Well. Antony and Cleopatra, Coriolanus, Cymbeline, Hamlet, Henry IV Part I, Henry IV Part II, Henry VIII, King John, King Lear, Love's Labours Lost, The Merchant of Venice, The Merry Wives of Windsor, Much Ado About Nothing, Othello, Pericles, Richard II, Richard III, The Tempest, Titus Andronicus, Troilus and Cressida, Twelfth Night, The Two Gentlemen of Verona, The Two Noble Kinsmen, and The Winter's Tale.

Speak the speech! contains everything an actor needs to select and prepare a Shakespeare monologue for classwork, auditions, or performance. Over 150 monologues are included. Each one is placed in context with a brief introduction, is carefully punctuated in the manner that best illustrates its meaning, and is painstakingly and thoroughly annotated. Each is accompanied by commentary that will spark the actor's imagination by exploring how the interrelationship of meter and the choice of words and sounds yields clues to character and performance.

Chapter Four is dedicated to monologues from Shakespeare's plays and sonnets: Henry VIII, Romeo and Juliet, Twelfth Night, Henry VI Part I, The Two Noble Kinsmen, As You Like It, Henry VI Part III, Macbeth, Cymbeline, Richard III, All's Well That Ends Well, Antony and Cleopatra, Hamlet, Timon of Athens, King John, Julius Ceasar, Henry IV Part II, The Merry Wives of Windsor, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Venus and Adonis, The Taming of the Shrew, and Sonnets (Numbers 29 and 116).

100 Great Monologues from the Renaissance Theatre organizes the monologues for women and men. Some of the monologues are from William Shakespeare's plays: for women (The Life and Death of King John, The Merry Wives of Windsor, Titus Andronicus, The Two Gentlemen of Verona, The Two Noble Kinsmen, and The Winter's Tale) and for men (Cymbeline, Much Ado About Nothing, The Tempest, Timon of Athens, The Tragedy of King Richard II, The Two Noble Kinsmen, and The Winter's Tale).