The collection includes several boxes dedicated to Elizabethan Theatre (13, 14, and 15) and the Royal Shakespeare Company (85 and 85a). A "People Search" for "William Shakespeare" in the online catalog returned numerous results (the online catalog is a link on the page). The online catalog can include images in its searches.
The British Universities Film & Video Council (BUFVC) maintains Shakespeare: An International Database of Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio. You can search by year, medium, and play. The BUFVC has interesting facts about William Shakespeare and his plays on the website.
The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust website maintains the RSC Performance Database which includes "plays, productions and the creative and performing artists who have been involved with the RSC and its predecessors in Stratford-upon-Avon from 1879 to the present" (Performance Database page). You can perform a play title search, production search, and name search.
The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign digitalized Series I (Prints: Portraits and Scenes) which contains 3,500 images of actors, dramatists, theatrical managers, singers, and musicians. The collection can be browsed by role and play title. The plays include some of William Shakespeare's plays such as Macbeth.
The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign digitalized The Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design, "a valuable source of documentation on the history of theatre" (Project Description). "It is a rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States" (Project Description). Some of the production were for Shakespeare's plays.
At the bottom of the page there is a link to production notes for six plays (Hamlet, Romeo and Juliet, Othello, Antony and Cleopatra, A Midsummer Night's Dream, and The Merchant of Venice). The collection can be browsed by theatre and play title. The theaters include theaters and tours in the United States, Europe, and Australia.
The Cleveland Press Shakespeare Photographs 1870-1982, maintained by Cleveland State University Library, has photographs of Shakespeare performances from the stage, screen, television, opera, and ballet. You can browse by play title and genre (Comedies, English Histories, Roman Plays, Romances, and Tragedies) or perform a keyword search. More photographs will be digitalized and added to the database.
The Biographical Index of English Drama Before 1660 includes entries for playwrights, actors, performers in masques between 1603 and 1640, musicians, patrons of playing companies, theatrical managers and entrepreneurs, carpenters who built playhouses, ancillary theatrical employees, Lords Chamberlain, Masters of the Revels, subsidiary employees of the Revels office, and contemporary critics of the theatre.
"Shakespeare in Performance is a searchable database of performance materials from over 1000 film and stage productions related to Shakespeare's works" (Shakespeare in Performance Home Page). The items included are director's notes, images of stage and costume design, performance stills, posters, cast and crew listing, and images of published reviews. The Internet Shakespeare Editions maintains this database.
The Royal Shakespeare Company at Stratford-upon-Avon is an ensemble company. Under the Explore Tab are categories such as Shakespeare's Life, Shakespeare's Work, Our Collection, Our Past Productions, and Behind the Scenes.
The American Shakespeare Center, located in Staunton, Virginia, desires to make Shakespeare and his plays accessible to all people by giving performances. The American Shakespeare Center also goes on tour (see the website for more details).
Electronic Shakespeare has a section dedicated to Shakespeare Festivals and Companies in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, and Australia. All of the festivals and companies are links which lead to you to their websites.
Primary Text on Professional Theatre and Dramatic Performance in Early Modern England
The Henslowe-Alleyn Digitisation Project provides images of the manuscripts of the actor Edward Alleyn (1566-1626) and his father-in-law, Philip Henslowe (d. 1616). Images of the manuscripts and muniments series are found on the "Catalog and Images" page. The Archive of Dulwich College in London, England maintains this digital collection.
The "manuscripts comprise the largest and most important single extant archive of material on the professional theatre and dramatic performance in early modern England, the age of Shakespeare, Marlowe, Jonson, Middleton, Heywood, Dekker, Chettle, and so many of their contemporaries and colleagues" (Introduction to the Henslowe-Alleyn Digitisation Project home page).
Primary Text on Elizabethan Literature and Playwrights
Shakespeare in Asia has films, photos, and productions for Shakespeare in China, Japan, and India and featured artists as well. The Links to Globe page is an archive of links for international Shakespeare research and performance. The list is organized into General Shakespeare Sites, Shakespeare in Asia, and Other Parts of the Globe. Standford University in California maintains this website.