This DVD is the original broadcast which appeared on the television show, Great Performances, in 2008. Proposing to divide his vast kingdom among his three daughters, Goneril, Regan, and Cornelia, Lear devises a test for his offspring to convince him of their suitability and compassion for rule. Goneril and Regan's true colors emerge, they uncover a vast conspiracy of greed and cruelty within the once loyal dynasty. The special features include an exclusive interview with Ian McKellen.

A co-production of The Performance Company, Iambic Production Limited, Thirteen/WNET New York and Channel 4 in association with NHK; a Royal Shakespeare company production; by William Shakespeare; produced by Richard Price and Chris Hunt; directed by Trevor Nunn and Chris Hunt.

Television adaptation of the original stage performance of Shakespeare's play, using nontraditional costume. This production consists of 2 VHS tapes.

The DVD, a BBC Television production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Comedy series. William Shakespeare's comedy about Helena, the new wife of Count Bertram, who resorts to chicanery to win the respect and affection of her husband.

The DVD, a BBC Television production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Tragedy series. A dramatization of Shakespeare's famous play which explores the calamitous consequences of an overwhelming passion by telling the story of Antony, the once-heralded leader who becomes stupified with passion and degenerates into a fool, and the multi-faceted Cleopatra.

The DVD includes English subtitles; it originally was produced by BBC & Time-LIfe Films for television broadcast in 1978. Special features include PC/MAC downloadable scripts. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Comedy series. Title music is by William Walton, music (composed and conducted) is by Geoffrey Burgon, and the script editor is Alan Shallcross. The DVD presents a dramatization of William Shakespeare's play, a pastoral romance set in the Forest of Arden in medieval France.

Unfortunately, the DVD is missing.

The DVD, a BBC Television production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. Presents a dramatization of William Shakespeare's farce about two pairs of twins involved in an elaborate series of mistaken identities.

The DVD was originally produced by BBC & Time-Life Films for television broadcast in 1987. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Tragedy series. The last of Shakespeare's tragedies, in which Coriolanus, a strong and cruel soldier, brings about his own downfall through the flaws in his character.

This DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. It is part of the Complete dramatic works of William Shakespeare. Comedy series. King Cymbeline's evil second queen forces the king to banish his daughter Imogen's husband, Posthumus. While the queen tries to force Imogen to marry her own son, Posthumus flees to Rome. There he is tricked into believing Imogen has been unfaithful. Imogen disguises herself as a boy and flees the court.

The DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. The music is by James Tyler while the music is performed by the London Early Music Group. The last play Shakespeare wrote spins a web of intrigue and betrayal. This production was filmed at Henry's favorite place, Leeds Castle, with its ceremonies enacted in the very rooms the King inhabited, nearly 500 years ago.

The DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. This richly costumed production maintains all the tension of a murder mystery as it examines the fundamental issues of justice, guilt and death. Hamlet, the most complex of all Shakespeare's characters is considered the greatest challenge for an actor.

The DVD, a BBC Television Production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. A dramatization of William Shakespeare's historical play. Upon the murder of Richard II, Henry assumes the throne, and is immediately confronted with rebellion by Owen Glendower, Douglas of Scotland, Northumberland and his son Hotspur. The play also treats the moral development of the king's son Hal (later Henry V).

The DVD was produced by BBC & Time-Life Films; it was originally produced as a television play in 1980. Special features include PC/Mac downloadable scripts. King Henry, now in failing health and still embroiled in war, sends his second son Prince John of Lancaster to the battle. Prince John tricks and defeats the enemy while his older son, the Prince of Wales, is summoned away from Falstaff and his tavern circle to the king's bedside where he assumes the throne upon the death of the king.

You will need to order this from another Library in the Consortium (the CUA copy is missing).

The MGM DVD is based on the play by William Shakespeare. Kenneth MacMillan is the director of photography, Michael Bradsell is the editor, Patrick Doyle composed the music, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra performed the music, and Simon Rattle is the conductor. The original theatrical trailer is included. Young King Henry of England asserts a hereditary claim to the throne of France, gathering an army and embarking on a course that will lead to one of England's greatest battlefield triumphs and forever change the face of Europe

This DVD is produced by BBC and Time-Life Television.

The DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. History series. It was originally produced as a television play in 1982. It continues the King Henry VI chronicles. Henry marries Lady Margaret of Anjou, but she despises him for his meekness and takes Suffolk as a lover. The new Queen, who also hates the Yorks (the White Roses), becomes the inspiration of the Lancastrians (the Red Roses). She and her followers are pitted against Richard, Duke of York, and his supporters, who include the Earl of Warwick, also known as "the King maker."

The DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. History series. It was originally produced as a television play in 1982. Concludes the King Henry VI chronicles with the War of the Roses. York, as victor at St. Albans, contemptuously forces Henry to give him succession to the crown. The merciless Margaret captures and kills York, only to be captured herself and compelled to watch as the Yorkists slay her son. In a powerful soliloquy, the vile Duke of Gloucester reveals his plans to murder Henry VI.

This DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. It is part of the Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Tragedy. series. Breaking all conventional rules of drama, Shakespeare creates neither a clear-cut hero nor a villain. Instead, this great tragedy presents complicated human beings in agonizing conflict with one another, and themselves.

The DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. Intending to divide his realm among his three daughters, the dictatorial Lear commands each give a testimony of her love. But after the gushing of malevolent Goneril and Regan, loyal Cordelia states: "I love your majesty according to my bond: nor more nor less." She is banished, and Lear's descent into madness begins.

Unfortunately, the DVD is missing.

The DVD, a BBC-TV production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. This DVD is the original broadcast on the BBC series, The Shakespeare Plays, in 1978. Shakespeare's historical play about the dynastic struggle between Richard II and Henry Bolingboke (later Henry IV).

The DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. Here Shakespeare rewrites an anonymous dramatic treatment of the subject, the only time he uses such a source instead of the chronicles themselves. He changes the characters to show the king's wickedness and weakness, and raises Faulconbridge, the bastard, from swaggerer to champion of England.

Unfortunately, the DVD is missing.

The DVD, a BBC-TV production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. Young King Henry of England asserts a hereditary claim to the throne of France, gathering an army and embarking on a course that will lead to one of England's greatest battlefield triumphs and forever change the face of Europe. Follows King Henry V as he unites his people, deals justly with traitors, leads his soldiers to victory, and ensures peace by marrying a French princess.

The DVD, a BBC Television production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Comedy series. A satire directed against intellectual pride and pedantry. The King of Navarre and three of his lords vow to spend three years in study and not to see any women. But when the Princess of France arrives with her three ladies, the men break their vow and fall in love with them.

The DVD, produced by the BBC and Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. This savage tragedy is one of Shakespeare's most popular plays. Told by a trio of witches that he is fated to become King of Scotland, the warrior Macbeth, aided by his wife, in his quest for power murders his king and assumes the throne. The two embark on a guilt-ridden reign of terror.

The DVD, a BBC-TV production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Comedy series. Cruel Angelo is left in charge of Vienna when the Duke pretends to leave town. Angelo revives an old law against fornication and sentences Claudio to death for seducing Juliet, Claudio's betrothed. Claudio's sister, Isabella, pleads for his life and Angelo offers to spare him in exchange for her virginity. Angelo's corruption and severity are punished when the Duke reveals that he has witnessed it all.

The DVD, a BBC Television production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Comedy series. Blending tragedy and comedy, this play presents contrasts and ambiguities, the complexities of which lie in the character Shylock, its captivating villain. Is he a villain, a buffoon, or tragic hero?

The DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. Queen Elizabeth herself is said to have requested the return of Falstaff to the Bard's stage ... supposedly she wanted to see him in love. What Shakespeare gave Her Majesty instead was Falstaff's attempt to recoup his fortunes by seducing two respectable wives of affluent Windsor husbands. This most amiable play, depicts the sturdy middle class, rarely found among Shakespeare's milieu of aristocrats.

The DVD is a BBC Television Production in association with Time-Life Television. It presents a dramatization of William Shakespeare's play about devilish fairies, bedeviled lovers and tradesmen-actors. Plots intertwine as entangled love affairs, the comical performance of a "play within a play" by the tradesmen of Athens, and the antics in fairyland among King Oberon and his queen Titania produce a bizarre series of entanglements, but all ends happily.

The DVD, a BBC Television production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Comedy series. Claudio and Hero are engaged, but the jealous Don John tries to thwart the wedding by denouncing Hero as unchaste. Meanwhile, Beatrice and Benedick, who scorn each other, become betrothed as a result of the schemes of their friends.

The DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. Jealousy in love is one of the most common of human emotions. In Othello, Shakespeare combines this universal theme with perfectly structured scenes, a storyline that lingers in the memory and a prime example of a tragic hero, Othello himself. The result is perhaps his greatest triumph as a stage play. When the evil Iago plants the seeds of doubt in Othello's mind about Desdemona's fidelity, audiences around the world have been held spellbound.

The DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. The story is of the Prince of Tyre, who flees upon discovering his King in an incestuous relationship. He marries, and his own daughter is kidnapped by pirates and sold into the brothel.

Unfortunately, the DVD is missing.

The DVD, a BBC-TV production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Tragedy series. Shakespeare's tragedy about two teenagers who fall in love, encounter opposition from their feuding families, and take their own lives.

The DVD, a BBC Television production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. The marriage of two strong-minded people provides the spark for a comic confrontation between the sexes: The "shrew," Katharina, is so ill-tempered she seems unlikely to find a husband. Her father refuses to let her younger sister marry until Katherina is off his hands. Petruchio appears, marries Katharina, and "tames" her so well that he wins a bet with two other men on a test of their wives' obedience.

The DVD, a BBC-TV production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. This DVD is the Original broadcast on the BBC series, The Shakespeare Plays, in 1980. Television adaption of Shakespeare's play revolving around an enchanted island, an exiled Duke, young lovers, and a framework of conspiracy.

This DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. In his most cynical work, Shakespeare explores money--its virtues and its vices. Timon, a noble Athenian, is wildly extravagant with his inheritance. But as his money runs out, so do the friends who urged his lavishness. Timon loses his mind, then finds another fortune.

The DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PC/Mac downloadable scripts. Set in late Roman times, this tragedy draws on mythology for brutal tales, such as a banquet where a mother is served the flesh of her sons. Titus Andronicus is created as a commanding figure of bravery with a flawed sense of honor, a concern for the reputation of mobility than for its substance.

This DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes
the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. It is the original broadcast on the BBC series, The Shakespeare Plays, in 1983. Shakespeare's play about Richard of Gloucester, a self-proclaimed villain who usurps the crown. Through family machinations, political marriages and military coups, this play portrays the tumultuous reign of King Edward IV and the ascension of Richard to the throne, an intricate period in English history.

The DVD, a BBC Television production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Comedy series. A dramatization of Shakespeare's play about two lovers caught in the vicissitudes of the Trojan War.

The DVD, a BBC-TV production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. It is part of The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. Comedy series. Twins Sebastian and Viola are separated after a shipwreck and believe each other dead. Viola disguises herself as a page boy, Cesario, to work for Duke Orsino and falls in love with him, but he loves Olivia, who falls in love with Cesario. Seeing Sebastian one day, she mistakes him for Cesario and marries him. The confusion is cleared up when Viola and Sebastian meet again, and the Duke marries Viola. The subplot concerns the efforts of Sir Toby and Andrew to humble the presumptuous Malvolio.

This DVD, produced by BBC & Time-Life Films, includes PAC/Mac downloadable scripts. Shakespeare's earliest attempt at romantic comedy. Two friends, Valentine and Proteus, fall in love with Silvia, who is promised to another. Proteus forgets his old love, Julia, and thwarts Valentine's plan to elope with Silvia. Valentine is banished. Silvia follows with her page, who is Julia in disguise. They all meet in the forest.

The DVD, a BBC Television production in association with Time-Life Television, includes the complete script in Microsoft Word document format. King Leontes unjustly accuses his wife Hermione of adultery with King Polixenes. He imprisons Hermione, who falls into a swoon he believes is death, and orders her infant daughter to be abandoned on the shore. Sixteen years later, their daughter falls in love with Polixenes's son and when they come to Leontes' kingdom, her identity is revealed. Leontes and Polixenes become friends again, and Hermione is found to be alive after all.