This page contains resources (print and online) for locating Aristotelian manuscripts, major institutions whose collections include manuscripts of Aristotle's works, and digitized Aristotelian manuscripts (in Greek and Latin). 

Besides the resources listed in this section, consider searching the online catalogs of libraries found on the Libraries and Associations page.  Consult the Manuscripts LibGuide for other library catalogs listing Aristotle's manuscripts.  The Manuscripts LibGuide is also a good place to start for learning about the process of locating manuscripts (see the Home page). 

Except for the first resource (a database), all of the other resources are books.  The books are found in multiple locations: Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, Greek and Latin Seminar Room, and Stacks.

These digitized Aristotelian manuscripts are in Greek and Latin; the description for each manuscript states the name of the library which holds the manuscript.

This section lists select libraries (national and academic) and archives whose collections include Aristotelian manuscripts.  The links lead to online descriptions of Aristotelian manuscript collections.

"The Aristotle Archive, founded in 1965 on the initiative of Paul Moraux, is dedicated to exploration of the history of how the Corpus Aristotelicum has been handed down through time. The Archive has a unique microfilm collection of all Greek Aristotle manuscripts as well as approximately 1,000 additional manuscripts with late antique and Byzantine commentaries on Aristotle’s treatises" (Greek and Latin Languages and Literature: Aristotle Archive of Freie Universität Berlin).

• Austrian National Library, Vienna
• Bancroft Library (University of California, Berkeley), Berkeley
• Biblioteca Ambrosiana, Milan
• Biblioteca Marciana, Venice
• Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Paris
• Burke Library at Union Theological Seminary (Columbia University), New York
• George Peabody Library (Johns Hopkins University), Baltimore
• Houghton Library (Harvard University), Cambridge
• Huntington Library, San Marino
• Kenneth Spencer Research Library (University of Kansas), Lawrence

The Lilly Library Manuscript Collections contain commentaries on the works of Aristotle; these commentaries in Latin were written from 1603 to 1704. Authors of the commentaries include Maur Altomar, Pierre Baron, Jakob Bidermann, Christoph Brandis, Jean de Horion, Nicolas Mohr, Francois Noghera, Jean-Baptiste Weiss, Joseph Zwinger, Ludwig Babenstuber, Simon Fürbas, Maurus Oberascher, Nicolas Chaumorat, Henrich Drophuysen, Andreas Guetmair, Bernhard Ruedorffer, and Eustach Strenzi.

Rare Book and Manuscript Library (Columbia University), New York

Vatican Library, Rome