This bibliography contains citations to scholarship in English and European languages on Aristotle. The citations are to books, articles, book reviews, and dissertations from the 20th century to the 21st century. Richard Ingardia (St. John’s University) is the editor of IABO.
The print version is from 1940 to the present and is in English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
This index is available online. The database contains citations to books and journals in philosophy and its subjects from 1940 to the present. Book reviews begin in 1993. Over 550 journals are indexed. A search for "Aristotle" returned 13,611 results while a search for "Aristotle and virtue" returned 1,139 results.
The database covers material from the 1980's to the present and includes languages such as Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish, and Catalan. Over 550 journals are indexed. The fourth issue has an index to book reviews included in the same volume. The bibliography is available in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library (B33 .R42 1949). The print version begins in 1949. The coverage for International Philosophical Bibliography (Répertoire Bibliographique de la Philosophie / Bibliografisch Repertorium van de Wijsbegeerte) is 1997 to the present volume. The coverage for International Philosophical Bibliography Retrospective is 1985 to 1996.
The section, From Socrates to Aristotle (in LXII, 1-2, 2010 and LXII, 3-4, 2010), lists over a 100 books and articles concerning Aristotle. You may also want to check the Index of Names for Aristotle.
This title goes back to 1934 as a supplement of the "Revue neoclassique de philosophie." Years 1934 to 1945 can be found in "Bibliographia Philosophica 1934 to 1945": B 33 .B85 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library).
The CD-ROM (available in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library) provides coverage for years 1998-2005 and contains text in French, English, German, Spanish, and Italian. The CD-ROM is also available in print (B33 .I61a) in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library.
This book contains citations to books, anthologies, and journal articles from 1965 to 1989; the citations concern philosophers from Thales (580 BC) to Augustine (400 AD). The citations listed are found in the Philosopher's Index and Annee Philologique. Other citations are from the bibliographies of books and articles. The book does not contain citations to dissertations.
The section on Aristotle (pages 400-593) contains more than 1,000 citations organized into the following categories: General, The Organization of Knowledge, Aesthetics, Biology, Categories, Epistemology, Ethics, Logic/Dialectic/Language, Mathematics, Metaphysics, Modal Logic, Physics, Politics, Psychology, Rhetoric, Science, Theology, and Time. The section also includes a short biography of Aristotle and a short discussion of his works.