This ten volume set contains extensive articles such as "Aristotelianism in Islamic Philosophy", "Aristotelianism in the 17th Century", "Aristotelianism, Medieval", "Aristotelianism, Renaissance", "Aristotle", and "Aristotle Commentators". Each of the articles is accompanied by a list of works (recommended editions and than translations of individual works) and references and further reading. The set is also located at the Reference Desk.

The encyclopedia is also available as a CD-ROM in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library).

This book provides a lengthy overview of Plato's works and main ideas (more than 150 pages) as well as a dictionary of quotations from Aristotle's works.

This dictionary consists of lengthy and comprehensive articles on Aristotle and other topics such as commentaries on Aristotle and virtue ethics.

This dictionary provides a shorter article on Aristotle and other topics such as arete and Aristotelianism than the article found in The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy.

This dictionary contains numerous cross-references in its articles. Even though the dictionary does not contain exhaustive information on topics, its article on Aristotle is rather lengthy.

This dictionary is for individuals who are new to studying philosophy - articles on important thinkers such as Aristotle and the vocabulary found in philosophy are included. The dictionary's article on Aristotle is shorter than the article found in The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy.

This dictionary contains a short article on Aristotle.

This book contains 40 chapters which highlight central topics found in Aristotle's works as a whole (substance, essence, cause, etc.).

This book provides philosophical criticism on Aristotle's life and his works; the book's focus is Aristotle as a philosopher. The book concludes with suggestions for reading and a comprehensive bibliography (introductory, juvenilia, logic, philosophy of science, science, psychology, metaphysics, ethics, rhetoric and poetics, and politics).

This book contains 15 chapters discussing aspects of Aristotle's Politics such as man, private property, distributive justice, oligarchy, and political change.

This book provides a discussion of Aristotle's terminology, interpretation controversy of Aristotle's writings, and the impact of Aristotle's Ethics on contemporary moral philosophy.

This book provides an introduction to reading and understanding Aristotle's Metaphysics, especially the main arguments.

This book contains Aristotle's key ideas and their influence on western philosophy in chapters such as science, being or substance, nature, soul, and success.

Volume II, Aristotle, the Early Peripatetic School and the Early Academy, contains actual Greek passages from Aristotle as well as notes in English. Book III is entirely on Aristotle (life, works, Physics, Metaphysics, Nicomachean Ethics, Rhetoric, Poetics, and much more). These books are also available in the Greek and Latin Reading Room and the Stacks.

This book contains articles on most philosophical terms and provides articles on Aristotle and Aristotelianism.

This book contains 193 essays including an essay on Aristotle which concludes with a bibliography.

This book contains 47 essays on ethics which includes discussion on Aristotle and topics such as arete, practical reason, virtue, and Nichomachean Ethics.

This book contains an essay on Aristotle which concludes with a bibliography (texts and translations and studies) and related articles. Illustrations are included.

Select "The Papers"
Select "Classical Philosophy"

This five volume set is the Suda in print. The Suda is in Greek while the Preface is in Latin. Volume 1 contains entries for Aristotle.

This program addresses core topics in ancient philosophy such as freedom and fate, permanence and change, happiness, the nature of the cosmos, and the immortality of the soul. Concepts are presented as articulated by key figures including Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, Heraclitus, Pythagoras, and the Milesian and Eleatic philosophers -- in combination with quotations drawn from Plato’s Republic, Aristotle’s Physics, and other influential sources -- make this program an excellent tool for building a solid understanding of Western philosophy.

Harvard University’s Frances Kamm, Rutgers University’s Larry Temkin, and Richard Sorabji, emeritus professor of philosophy at King’s College, London, describe the three major categories of ethics: metaethics, applied ethics, and normative ethics. Also included are virtue theory, divine command theory, utilitarian theory, and duty theory. Plato’s Republic, Aristotle’s Nicomachean Ethics, and Kant’s Grounding for the Metaphysics of Morals are considered along with the contributions of Epicurus, Hume, Bentham, Hegel, Marx, Nietzsche, Max Weber, G.E. Moore, and John Rawls.