Skip to Main Content

Engineering Research Guide

Biomedical Engineering at Catholic University

Welcome to Biomedical Engineering @ CUA! 

Biomedical engineers bridge the gap between medicine and engineering.

Beautiful Brain from Human Connectome Project NIH

NIH Human Connectome Project

 

 

Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine

  • The Open-i project aims to provide next generation information retrieval services for biomedical articles from the full text collections such as PubMed Central. It is unique in its ability to index both the text and images in the articles. The article retrieval is powered by Essie (the search engine that supports ClinicalTrials.gov).

Fact Sheet: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?

  • PubMed citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals and manuscripts archived in PMC, and 3) NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed citations may have links to full-text articles or manuscripts in PMC, NCBI Bookshelf, and publishers' websites. If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will only see MEDLINE citations in your results. 

 

Biomedical Engineering Research

Click here for Search examples

Class Documents

MEDLINE, PubMed and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?

 

WRLC Washington Research Library Consortium

How TO: Search for Springer eBooks collections in WRLC catalog

  • Keyword: "springer biomedical and life sciences collection"
  • Keyword: "springer chemistry and materials science collection"
  • Keyword: "springer computer science collection"

        EX: "springer biomedical and life sciences collection" AND rehabilitation

How TO : PubMed citations to RefWorks

How TO: import SpringerLink eBooks into RefWorks

SpringerLink

  1. Do your search.
  2. Select one title link at a time and display full record.
  3. Select Export Citation link.
  4. Select RefWorks and Export Citation.
  5. Save the RIS file to your computer.
  6. Log in to RefWorks.
  7. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
  8. Select SpringerLink as the data source and SpringerLink - RefWorks Tagged format as the database.
  9. Browse to find the RIS file you saved to your computer.
  10. Click Import.
  11. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
     
     
     
     

Using Google Scholar

Set your Google Scholar Preferences for CUA resources

Google Scholar Search

Biomedical Engineering Research

Article Databases for Biomedical Engineering Research

  • Web of Science
    Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science provides "Cited Reference Search" and subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches. Our Web of Science subscription includes citations and references for articles in almost 9000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 2002 to the present. Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage is in the sciences (more than 6000 journals), followed by social sciences (approximately 1800 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1100 journals). For impact factor information about specific journals, users are directed to the index "Journal Citation Reports."
     
  • PubMed
    PubMed is a database containing over 19 million bibliographic citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. It was developed by The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI ) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), and provides access to biomedical and genomic information.
     
  • Annual Reviews
    Critical review articles of scientific research in the biological, physical, and social sciences. Full-text is available for titles to which CUA subscribes. See Biomedical Engineering
 

Contains journal articles, conference proceedings and standards of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

 
Web Links : Exploring

Computer Science Journals - open access journals SEE: International Journal of Biometrics and Bioinformatics (IJBB)

http://biomedical.cua.edu/ is the website of CUA's Department of Biomedical Engineering, and has information about the program and links to the homepages and research of the faculty.

www.bmes.org is from the Biomedical Engineering Society. Their site has lots of information about the Society, and Biomedical Engineering in general. Their site offers news, job postings, and links.

The National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project at www.nlm.nih.gov/research/visible/visible_human.html is an interesting anatomy project.

 

Other Libraries

The National Library of Medicine, the world's largest medical library, is nearby in Bethesda, MD. The public can use NLM's resources in their reading room (but not off the premises).


 
 
 

Annual review BioMed

Loading ...