Skip to Main Content

Engineering Research Guide

Electrical Engineering at Catholic University

Research: Electrical Engineering

Encyclopedias & Textbooks : Getting Started

Take a look in a print encyclopedia, like Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia (Q121 .V3 1995 in the Reference Section) or the Encyclopedia of Computer Science (QA 76.15 .E48 2000).

We also have several textbooks that explain basic concepts in the field, like McGraw-Hill's Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers (TK 151 .S78 2000) and the CRC Computer Science and Engineering Handbook (QA 76 .C57315 1997).

 

Books : Learning More

Searching for Computer Science titles in Mullen Library will give you more information about broad topics, like electronic circuitry or important programming languages. Try searching for them in the WRLC Libraries Catalog. Here are some ways to search:

  • Select "Keyword" and try a search like computer and graphics. This search will return all of the records that have both the words computer and graphics, no matter what order they're in. If word order is important, just put quotation marks around the term: "computer graphics" or "solid state circuits".
  • On the Search Results screen, select "Publish Date Descending" from the "Sort by:" drop-down menu to see the most recent books first.
  • Remember that words may be in singular or plural form, depending on how the author used them. With a Keyword Search you can use a ? to truncate words- a search for digital? and watermark? will return both "digital watermarking" and "digitally watermarked".

Searching the WRLC Libraries Catalog returns catalog records for all of the academic libraries in the Washington Research Library Consortium. CUA students can borrow materials from any of these libraries. You can go to the library and borrow the material directly, or click the Request button at the top of the catalog record and fill out the form to make a "CLS request". The material will be sent to you and can be picked up at Mullen Library (or viewed on th

You can also try browsing the shelves in Mullen  Library. Most of the Computer Science books are between call numbers QA 75.5 and QA 76.95. Electrical Engineering books have call numbers that start with TK, and Computer Engineering books (about hardware) are between call numbers TK 7885 and TK 7895.

 

Citation Indexes and Periodicals : Getting Specific

Periodicals have current information about specific topics. Catholic University Libraries subscribes to many engineering journals, including journals and transactions from the IEEE and the ACM. Subscriptions may be in print or online. To find information in journals, first use a citation index.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library: This database indexes all of the journals and conference proceedings of the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers), including the IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering. Full text of journal articles from 1988 with select content back to 1952 is available. If the article you want is unavailable online, you may submit an interlibrary loan request.

Also see : Engineering information by IEEE Spectrum

ACM Digital Library: The Digital Library contains the full-text of articles published by the Association for Computing Machinery.

  • Type your term into the search box near the top of the window and click on "Search".
  • When you have a list of results, you can download a PDF file of the article, or click on the article title to see the abstract and other information about it (even a review of the article, sometimes).
  • In the records, you will see lists of index terms - click on one of these terms to see more articles about the subject.

If another school in the WRLC owns a journal that Catholic University doesn't, click the Request button in the catalog record and enter the Volume number, Article Title, Author, and Page Number to have the article scanned and made available to you on the web.

 

Web Links : Exploring

engineering.cua.edu/eecs is the website of CUA's Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

www.ieee.org is the website of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. has lots of resources for finding information, schools, and jobs.

www.iet.org, from the Institution of Engineering and Technology, also has news, events, and links.

www.acm.org is the website of the Association for Computing Machinery - lots of information and links, including online articles from publications like Queue and TechNews.

www.spie.org is SPIE Web -"the website for optics, photonics, and imaging".

nist.gov/ is the Communications Technology Laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

 

 

Annual Review Materials Research

Loading ...