The database, Searchable Greek Inscriptions, organizes the Greek inscriptions by region and then by categories such as Main Corpora, Regional and Site Corpora, Miscellaneous Collections, Miscellaneous Books, and Journals. It is also possible to perform a search by typing in the search box found at the bottom of the page.
This database allows you to perform a simple, advanced search, or quick search as well as to browse the records for Roman Inscriptions which can be sorted by Record No., Title, Object Type, Inscription Type, Place of Finding, and Place of Custody (found under "Table View"). In order to see a larger image of the inscription click on the image in the record.
Vindolanda Tablets Online contains the texts, English translations, commentaries, and images of each tablet. The images can be zoomed in for details. You can choose to view all tablets, search, or browse by highlights, number, subject, category, type, people, places, military terms, archaeological context, and TVI number. Chapters from the print version of Vindolanda tablets Volume I and Volume II are online as well.
The online version of Inscriptions of Roman Tripolitania provides the same material available in the out of print publication as well as more ways to search and browse Roman inscriptions than was possible in the print. The inscriptions are available through Table of Contents (locations, date, text categories, monument types, and texts by number) and Indicies (words, fragments, names, and other characters and features) under Inscriptions or Text Search and Category Search under Search.
Imaging Inscriptions organizes the images of inscriptions by region: Athens and Attica, Peloponnese, Central Greece, Aegean Islands, Asia Minor, and Egypt and the Near East. The Centre for the Study of Ancient Documents maintains Imaging Inscriptions
The U.S. Epigraphy Project has over 2,000 Greek and Latin inscriptions and over 1,000 images of the inscriptions in its database. These inscriptions are found in collections located in the United States.
A full-text database containing the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe and the Latin works of the "peregrini" on mainland Europe during the period 400 to 1200 AD. These texts span a variety of fields including theology, liturgy, grammar, hagiography, poetry, and historiography. Document types include legal texts, charters, and inscriptions. The texts are available from the Library of Latin Texts. database.
Click "Click here to access the book" to access the e-book. The book, as an introduction to the science of papyrology, undertakes the task of demonstrating the development of discovery and interpretation as parts of the process of identifying and defining the papyri, with emphasis on the nature and history of papyrology, and a set of guidelines for research. Plates and notes are included, along with a general index, index of Greek words, and a map of Egypt. A print version is available in the Greek and Latin Reading Room (PA3341 .T94 G7).
The Hawara Papyri provides images and information regarding the papyri in the collection. The images can be enlarged. The papyri contain mostly documents such as accounts and letters while the literary papyri includes Iliad 2.219-223 (Homer), De Virtute 376 b-c (Plato), Aenid 2.601 (Vergil), and Cyropaedia 4.5.41-44 (Xenophon).
The Institut für Papyrologie has papyri organized in three categories: "Griechisch", "Demotisch", and "Koptisch". After selecting a category, you will see a list of papyri. By selecting a number, you will see the information and an image of the papyrus. The website is in German but it is easy to tell the name of the papyrus.
Claremont Colleges Digital Library maintains the Nag Hammadi Archive which contains image of the Nag Hammadi codices. These Coptic codices include Gnostic texts such as Gospel of Thomas, the Gospel of Philip, and the Gospel of Truth.
P.Herc. is an image database of the Herculaneum Papyri. You can search for a particular word or sort the papyri by authors, titles, dates, genres, and papyrus numbers. The images are available in high and low resolution.
The Photographic Archive of Papyri in the Cairo Museum provides numerous images of papyri from its collection, organized by published collections. The papyri include the Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha (P.Cairo 10759), BGU, P.Cair.Isid, P.Hib., and SB.
The Rylands Collection includes images of manuscripts, letters, and papyri (Arabic, Greek, and Egyptian). Images are regularly added and are accompanied by numerous details. The Introduction page to The Rylands Collection contains a direct link to the images of papyri.
The "Copyright and obtaining copies" section (the bottom of the page) states "You may use the images for private study without seeking permission. You may also use the images for strictly educational purposes (e.g. in MSPowerPoint presentations or in student handouts) without the need to obtain permission."