The 2nd edition contains an English translation of magical spells, formulae, hymns, and rituals from a body of papyri from Greco-Roman Egypt. The material provides critical insights into the study of ancient religions, as the texts predominantly date from the second century BC to the fifth century AD.
These resources are located in the Greek and Latin Reading Room unless noted with a different location.
This two-volume work constitutes a critical edition of magical papyri from Greco-Roman Egypt. In the first volume, the editors present eight manuscripts, each accompanied by a brief introduction. The end of the first volume includes illustrations from some of the manuscripts. The second volume contains additional texts and details, a brief section on literature, and more illustrations. Both volumes include forewords. The Greek critical text is accompanied by a German translation and all notes and introductions are in German.
This nine-volume set delivers crucial resources for students and scholars of the New Testament and Christian history by producing Greek texts from inscriptions and papyri that illuminate early Christian history. Each entry provides a bibliographic reference for further research, the texts in questions, an English translation, and brief commentary. Each volume is devoted to reproducing the texts published in specific years. Volume 5 contains essays on the linguistic issues such as syntax and lexicography.
Over 70 publications of papyri and fragments of papyri have been published from the papyri sources discovered during excavations from the ancient Egyptian city of Oxyrhynchus. The printed publications provide a description of the manuscript, frequently an illustration of the papyrus, a reproduction of the text, some translations, and notes on the texts, all with typical editorial convention marks.
This illustrated book provides information on and examples of ancient Greek manuscripts from the fourth century B.C. until the Augustan Era. Ninety-six examples are included in this volume from Egypt to Herculaneum. The preface provides links for websites that contain more images of Greek manuscripts. The book also provides a list of papyri, a general index, and a bibliography.
This two volume set provides information on and examples of ancient Greek palaeography on papyri. The papyri inscriptions cover a period of over one thousand years, ranging from administrative documents to works of literature. Illustrations include black and white photographs of the inscriptions. The second volume provides indices for persons, general words, and geographic places.
The illustrated volumes provide information on and examples of Latin handwriting on papyri. Illustrations include maps and black and white photographs of the papyri samples. The Roman papyri ranges from the development of the Latin script through Augustus and the Byzantine period to the early Middle Ages. Each book concludes with indices for ancient and modern persons and places.
These resources are located in the Greek and Latin Reading Room of Mullen Library.
This illustrated book provides information on and examples of Roman palaeography. Illustrations include drawings, diagrams, etchings, and black and white photographs of inscriptions. Topics include Roman handwriting until the second century on papyri and inscriptions, Roman handwriting after the first century AD, the African hypothesis, handwriting from the barbarian kingdoms, and the new Roman script.