This book is an important work for the study of East Christian history, delivering five hundred and thirty-four inscriptions from the dioceses of Asia, Hellespont, the Islands, Caria, Lycia, Pamphylia, and Lydia. The inscriptions span a broad period of time, through the fourteenth century. The print is very small, the inscriptions are reprinted in Greek, and the supporting notes are in French.
This work presents eight hundred and eight inscriptions reflecting Greek Christian communities in Egypt. The coverage begins with the middle of the second century and ends with the twelfth century. The editor emphasizes the historical significance of the inscriptions from the epoch of martyrdom under the reign of Diocletian. The work includes a foreword, a bibliography, a substantial introduction, and indices of names and places.
This work is a very small book, which includes 491 reproduced Greek and Latin inscriptions for students and scholars of ancient Christian epigraphy. Most of the entries provide the inscriptions in boxes with contextual descriptions following. The majority of the inscriptions were taken from Roman sources. A small section of illustrations is positioned at the end of the book.
This book delivers a useful reference study for ancient Christian epigraphy. While the book includes reproductions of the Greek and Latin inscriptions, they are positioned within the body of the text itself, rather than in a separate section. The work provides an introduction to the study of inscriptions and a listing of sources, a section on paleography and dating, thematic chapters that include examples from family life and the Catholic Church, and inscriptions from Pope Damasus and the Roman catacombs.
Latin Inscriptions: Christian (print resources)
These resources are located in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Reading Room of Mullen Library.
This book provides an updated companion piece to the Inscriptions Latines D’Afrique (Tripolitaine, Tunisie, Maroc). This work focuses on the inscriptions of Tunisia, including Christian inscriptions, totaling over 1,730 entries. Ten helpful tables are provided to aid students and scholars in focusing their research.
This book provides information on 5,000 ancient Latin Christian inscriptions. The texts are divided into two sections. The first section refers to Roman affairs and the second treats questions of Christian belief and ecclesial affairs. Volume 3 delivers eleven substantial indices, a necessary complement to the first two volumes.
This two-volume set is a comprehensive reference for the study of Roman epigraphy (Latin inscriptions). The introduction presents the basics of the science of epigraphy, covering its history and methodology. Pagan, Jewish, and Christian funerary inscriptions are included. A general conclusion and several appendices, tables, and lists complete the work.