The work is directed toward the beginning student or scholar of classical Greek epigraphy. Chapter topics include signs and symbols, the Greek alphabet, dating and classification of inscriptions, restoration of inscriptions, and inscriptions in the history of Greek art. Notes and an index are included. This book is the second edition.
These resources are located in the Greek and Latin Reading Room of Mullen Library unless noted with a different location.
This dictionary is designed to serve as a companion piece to the contemporaneous Corpus Inscriptionum Latinorum. The dictionary includes geographical and mythological names, but not historical personalities. The entries include brief English definitions and references to original resources.
This two-volume study is a register of names found in prechristian literature and inscriptions for over 16,800 Athenian men, women, and children. Backgrounds and context are given for many of the names. This work will aid students in studying the genealogies and achievements of the Athenian people. Names are listed in Greek and commentary is written in Latin.
This index constitutes a useful resource for students and scholars of philology, epigraphy, and papyrology. It provides copious details for the history of Greek noun and adjective formation. In the preface, the authors state that the numerous lists in reverse alphabetical order will assist the study of inscriptions and papyri by enabling the student to visualize the possibilities of the restoration of words of which only the last few letters are preserved.
Epigraphists and students of Greek will delight in engaging this monumental two-volume study of the grammar of Attic inscriptions. Threatte’s study is founded upon all the extant written documents from Attica from its earliest period until the end of the third-century after Christ, more than 20,000 inscriptions carved on stone documents. Volume 1 presents phonology while Volume 2 expounds morphology. This work includes bibliographical references and abbreviations.
Call Number: PA881 .M92 V8 1930 Greek and Latin Reading Room
The preface to this volume gives a history of the discoveries of various papyri pertaining to the New Testament. The vocabulary is laid out in dictionary-format with an analysis of each word.
This book collects four essays/lists relating to Greek abbreviations in inscriptions, manuscripts, and early printed books: "Abbreviations in Greek Inscriptions" by M. Avi-Yonah, "Abbreviations and Symbols in Greek Papyri" by F.G. Kenyon, "Abbreviations in Greek Manuscripts" by T.W. Allen, and "Abbreviations in Early Greek Printed Books" by G.F. von Ostermann and A.E. Giegengack.
Resources for Locating Papyri, Inscriptions, and Manuscripts
This two-volume set is a concordance for users of the Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum, series. Due to multiple appearances of inscriptions in different volumes, a user-friendly concordance was created to facilitate effective research of the corpus.
These resources are located in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Reading Room in Room 314 of Mullen Library.
This book is a location list for the papyri discussed in the multi-volume set The Oxyrhynchus Papyri, which is also available in the library. It includes addresses for institutions holdings originals and addresses for obtaining photographs.
This work comprises Annual Lists of Additions to the Department of Manuscripts, from 1836 to 1840 inclusive, which provide the description of 2017 volumes of Manuscripts and 4087 Charters, exclusive of Papyri and Seals. Table of reference and Index are also included in this volume.
This work (revised edition) lists the catalogs of the Department of Manuscripts at the British Museum. Only those catalogs that are in use are described. Catalogs are organized by type or nature of the collection (King's MSS., Papyri, Seals, Microfilms, etc.)
This five-volume set (no. 5-9) describes the Monastic Manuscripts Project at St. John’s University, Collegeville, Minnesota , which involved photographing manuscripts and putting the manuscripts on microfilm. Each issue reports the progress of the project and lists the collections of manuscripts filmed by the name of the institution that owns them. During this project the library changed its name from the Monastic Manuscript Microfilm Library to the Hill Manuscript Library.
The Checklist of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets is a bibliography of all Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic documentary texts on papyrus, parchment, ostraca or wood tablets.
