Guides: Greek and Latin Research Guide: Primary Texts in Databases

Primary Texts Online (via Subscribed Databases)

Patrologiae Graecae This link opens in a new window
. The PG contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
The print version begins with T/P BQ310 .M34
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
. Works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 CE to Pope Innocent III in 1216. The print version is called ‘Patrologiae cursus completus’ edited by J.-P. Migne 1844-1865. The print version begins with T/P BQ 310 .M35.
In 221 volumes it covers most major and minor Latin authors, and contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history and literature.

The Patrologia Latina Database is the full-text electronic version of the Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus, indexes and illustrations.

The Patrologia Latina Database has made an enormous difference to the work of scholars of patristics, theology, medieval history and Latin. In many other disciplines in the humanities, from philosophy and medieval languages to the history of art and the history of medicine, it is making a significant contribution to research. No other full-text database in the humanities serves so many disciplines in so many ways.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
. Contains texts in Greek Literature from the eighth century BCE to 600 CE. Also has historiographical, lexicographical, and scholastic texes from the period between 600 and 1453 AD.
Library of Latin Texts Online (CLCLT) This link opens in a new window
. This database comprises almost all works published in the Corpus Christianorum, both the Series Latina and Continuatio Mediaevalis (approximately 70% of the database), Bibliotheca scriptorum Romanorum Teubneriana. Selected works from the following series are also present: Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum, Sources Chrétiennes, Migne’s Patrologia, Acta Sanctorum, Analecta Hymnica Medii Aevi. The print version begins with T/P BQ310.C.67

Monumenta Germaniae Historica
more...less...
The MGH is is a collection of several hundred works in German medieval history dating from 500 to 1500 A.D. Contains selections from the five divisions of the Monumenta Germanie Historica (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates), which covers a wide range of medieval documentation. Newer series cover specific studies. The entire collection with the exception of the last five years, is available online. The print edition, it is available in Room 316 Mullen in the folios section. DD3 .M81 The CD-ROM version is available in room 314.

Free Online Resources

Bibliotheca Graeca at Bibliotheca Augustana
The Greek authors are organized alphabetically under "index alphabeticus" while under "index chronologicus" into categories such as "litterae archaicae", "litterae classicae", "litterae hellenisticae", "litterae aetatis imperii Romani", and "litterae Byzantinae".
Bibliotheca Latina at Bibliotheca Augustana
The Latin authors are organized alphabetically under "index alphabeticus" while under "index chronologicus" into categories such as "latinitas antiqua", "latinitas classica", "latinitas postclassica", "latinitas mediaevalis", and "latinitas nova".
The Internet Classics Archive
The Internet Classics Archive has over 50 Greek and Roman authors. Some of the authors have links to the Perseus Project.