Guides: Plato Research Guide: Understanding Plato

Encyclopedias

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy consists of peer reviewed articles on all aspects of philosophy including Plato. This encyclopedia provides information of scholarly quality freely on the web.

These links contains background information for understanding Plato and his works from modern sources. The first two links are online encyclopedia articles (peer reviewed and open access) on Plato while the next three links are to encyclopedias available in print and electronically.

Standford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy has an article by on Plato which concludes with a bibliography of translations, general overviews, interpretive strategies, and chronology of the dialogues.

New Catholic Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Catholic University of America. 2nd ed. Detroit: Thomson/Gale; Washington, D.C.: Catholic University of America, 2003. BT 6 .N53 2003 (Religious Studies and Philosophy and Reference) New Catholic Encyclopedia (Volume 11) contains an article by P. J. ASPELL on Plato which concludes with a bibliography.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Craig, Edward (ed). London; New York: Routledge, 1998. B51 .R68 1998 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This ten volume set contains extensive articles such as "Plato", "Platonism, Early and Middle", "Platonism in Islamic Philosophy", "Platonism, Medieval", and "Plato, Renaissance". Each of the articles is accompanied by a list of works (translations of individual works and references and further reading). The set is also located at the Reference Desk.

The encyclopedia is also available as a CD-ROM in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library).

Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Edwards, Paul. New York : Macmillan: Free Press; London: Collier Macmillan, 1967. B41 .E56 1967a (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, Reference, and Stacks) This encyclopedia is the English-language reference source for philosophy and has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. The extensive article on Aristotle by Charles H. Kahn includes a comprehensive bibliography.

Dictionaries

Plato Dictionary
Stockhammer, Morris (ed.). New York: Philosophical Library, 1963. B 351 .S86 P7 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This dictionary provides quotations for words found in Plato's works.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Audi, Robert (ed.). 2nd ed. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999. B41 .C35 1999 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This dictionary consists of lengthy and comprehensive articles on Plato and other topics such as commentaries on Plato.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Blackburn, Simon. 2nd ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. B41 .B53 2005 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This dictionary provides a shorter article on Plato and other topics such as form and Platonism than the article found in The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy.
Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western Thought
Reese, William L. new and enl. ed. Atlantic Highlands, NJ: Humanities Press, 1996. B41 .R43 1996 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This dictionary contains numerous cross-references in its articles. Even though the dictionary does not contain exhaustive information on topics, its article on Plato is rather lengthy.
A Dictionary of Philosophy
Mautner, Thomas. Oxford, UK; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Reference, 1996. B41 .M38 1996 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This dictionary is for individuals who are new to studying philosophy - articles on important thinkers such as Plato and the vocabulary found in philosophy are included. The dictionary's article on Plato is shorter than the article found in The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy.
A Dictionary of Philosophy
Lacey, A. R. 3rd ed. London: Routledge, 1996. B41 .L32 1996 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This dictionary contains a short article on Plato.

Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
. Provides nearly 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres such as Plato. Plato appears in Volume 176: Ancient Greek Authors (A Bruccoli Clark Layman Book. Edited by Ward W. Briggs, University of South Carolina. The Gale Group, 1997. pp. 285-304).
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
. The Oxford Classical Dictionary has an article by Julia Annas on Plato which concludes with a bibliography.

Biographical and Background Information (Greek Electronic Sources)

Διογένης Λαέρτιος Βίοι και γνώμαι των εν φιλοσοφία ευδοκιμησάντων
This website makes available the Greek text of Diogenes Laërtius which was edited by H.S. Long (1964). Βιβλίο Γ provides biographical information on Plato.

The first link is to Diogenes Laërtius' Lives of the Eminent Philosophers (3rd Century A.D.) in Greek while the second link is an English translation of the Lives of the Eminent Philosophers. The next two links are entries on Plato from the Suda (10th century A.D.) which contains the Byzantine Greek text and an English translation.

Diogenes Laërtius' Lives of the Eminent Philosophers
Book 3 of Diogenes Laërtius' Lives of the Eminent Philosophers provides biographical information on Plato. An English translation by Robert Drew Hicks from the Loeb Classical Library Series (volumes 1 and 2) is out out of copyright and therefore available in public domain.
Suda On Line (first entry on Plato)
Suda On Line makes the Suda (a 10th century Byzantine Greek encyclopedia) available on the web. The website provides the English translation, the Greek text, notes, and keywords for entries such as Plato in the Suda. Entries are regularly added.
Suda On Line (second entry on Plato)
Suda On Line makes the Suda (a 10th century Byzantine Greek encyclopedia) available on the web. The website provides the English translation, the Greek text, notes, and keywords for entries such as Plato in the Suda. Entries are regularly added.

Biographical and Background Information (Greek Print Sources)

Svidae Lexicon
Adler, Ada. (ed.). Lipsiae: in aedibvs B. G. Tevbneri, 1928-38. PA5365 .A23 1928 (Greek and Latin Reading Room)
more...less...
This five volume set is the Suda in print. The Suda is in Greek while the Preface is in Latin.

Understanding Plato . . . (print resources)

A Companion to Plato
Benson, Hugh H. (ed.). Blackwell Companions to Philosophy Malden, MA; Oxford: Wiley-Blackwell, 2006. B 395 .C64 2006 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book contains 29 chapters which focus on topics in Platonic philosophy and the development of Plato's philosophical views.
The Cambridge Companion to Plato
Kraut, Richard (ed.). Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1992. B395 .C28 1992 (Two Hour Reserve, Circulation)
more...less...
This book contains 15 essays on Plato, Socrates, and some of Plato's works such as the Meno and Philebus. A comprehensive bibliography is included as well.
The Oxford Handbook of Plato
Fine, Gail (ed.). Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. B 395 .O94 2008 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book contains 21 essays on Plato which focus on a major Platonic dialogue or a key topic. All of the essays conclude with a bibliography.
Plato: A Guide for the Perplexed
Press, Gerald A. Guides for the Perplexed London; New York: Continuum, 2007. B395 .P74 2007 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book contains a discussion of Plato's philosophy, works, ideas, and life as well as advice for reading and understanding Plato's dialogues. A glossary of Greek terms and a bibliography are included as well. Each of the chapters concludes with suggestions for further reading.
The Ancient Commentators on Plato and Aristotle
Tuominen, Miira. Ancient Philosophies Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2009. B335 .T86 2009 (Stacks).
more...less...
The book provides a discussion on ancient commentators such as Alexander of Aphrodisias, Olympiodorus, and Proclus who commented on the works of Plato and Aristotle.
Cambridge Companion to Plato's Republic
Ferrari, G. R. F. (ed.). Cambridge Companions to Philosophy Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007. JC71.P6 C36 2007 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book contains sixteen essays which discuss various aspects of Plato's Republic such as the ideal city, soul, eros, characters, forms, and imitative poetry.
Routledge Philosophy Guidebook to Plato and the Republic
Pappas, Nickolas. 2nd ed. Routledge Philosophy Guidebooks London; New York: Routledge, 2003. JC71.P6 P36 2003 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book provides the historical and philosophical context of Plato and his Republic as well as the main ideas of the Republic.
Routledge Philosophy Guidebook to Plato and the Trial of Socrates
Brickhouse, Thomas C. and Nicholas D. Smith. Routledge Philosophy Guidebooks New York: Routledge, 2004. B365 .B73 2004 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book provides a discussion of Plato's works (Euthyphro, Apology of Socrates, Crito, and Phaedo) dealing with Socrates and trial by highlighting key ideas and topics.
Plato and His Contemporaries A Study in Fourth-century Life and Thought
Field, G. C. London: Methuen and company, 1930. B 393 .F71 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This book provides a discussion of Plato's life, writings, moral and political background, Socratic literature and philosophers, Pythagoreans, and post-Aristotelian tradition.
Plato: The Man and His Work
Taylor, A. E. Mineola, New York: Dover Publications, 2001. B 395 .T25 2001 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This book provides a discussion of Plato's life and his writings.
Plato
Skemp, J. B. Greece and Rome New Surveys in the Classics Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1976. DE1.G77 N5 no.10 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book provides a discussion on the Platonic Corpus, Plato, Socrates, Sophists, forms, knowledge, politics, ethics, and ultimate cause.
The Handbook of Platonism
Alcinous. Translated by John M. Dillon. Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. B535.A43 D5313 1993 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book provides an English translation of Alcinous's Handbook of Platonism, a philosophical commentary, and an overview of Platonist thought in the second century A.D.
Greek Philosophy A Collection of Texts with Notes and Explanations Volume I
Vogel, C. J. De. 3rd ed. Leiden, Netherlands: E. J. Brill, 1967. B 165 .V87 v.2 1967 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
Volume I, Thales to Plato, contains actual Greek passages from Aristotle as well as notes in English. Book II (Chapter IX) is entirely on Plato (preliminary questions, life and work, the Republic, and much more). These books are also available in the Greek and Latin Reading Room and the Stacks.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Honderich, Ted (ed.). 2nd ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. B51 .O94 2005 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This book contains articles on most philosophical terms and provides articles on Plato and Platonism.
A Companion to Ethics
Singer, Peter (ed). Blackwell Companions to Philosophy. Oxford, UK; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Reference, 1991. BJ1012 .C62 1991 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This book contains 47 essays on ethics which includes discussion on Plato and topics such as arete.
A Companion to the Philosophers
Arrington, Robert L. (ed.) Blackwell Companions to Philosophy Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 1999. B 72 .C595 1999 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This book contains 193 essays including an essay on Plato which concludes with a bibliography.
Greek Thought: a Guide to Classical Knowledge
Brunschwig, Jacques and Geoffrey E.R. Lloyd (eds.). Translated by Catherine Porter. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2000. DF78 .S2813 2000 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book contains an essay on Plato which concludes with a bibliography and related articles. Illustrations are included.

Understanding Plato . . . (electronic resources)

People with online papers in philosophy
David Chalmers maintains People with online papers in philosophy which provides links to online papers. Philosophy papers on Plato are found under "Ancient" (Ancient Greek Philosophy).
Paideia Project On-Line
The Paideia Project On-Line contains philosophy papers in its archives, including papers on Plato. Type Plato's name in the search box. Not all of the papers are in English.
Lecture on Plato's Meno
Ian Johnston's lecture, given for Liberal Studies 111, is in public domain. This lecture can be used as long as Ian Johnston is given credit.
Lecture on Plato's Republic
Ian Johnston's lecture, given for Liberal Studies 310, is in public domain. This lecture can be used as long as Ian Johnston is given credit.
Princeton/Stanford Working Papers in Classics
Princeton/Stanford Working Papers in Classics contains papers discussing Plato, Aristotle, Socrates, and others.
more...less...
Select "The Papers"
Select "Classical Philosophy"

DVDS which Contain Plato's Works

Classical Greek Philosophy [videorecording]
Viddisc. 00528 (Central Reserve Audiovisual)
more...less...
This program addresses core topics in ancient philosophy such as freedom and fate, permanence and change, happiness, the nature of the cosmos, and the immortality of the soul. Concepts are presented as articulated by key figures including Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, Heraclitus, Pythagoras, and the Milesian and Eleatic philosophers -- in combination with quotations drawn from Plato’s Republic, Aristotle’s Physics, and other influential sources -- make this program an excellent tool for building a solid understanding of Western philosophy.

Ask for these DVDs at the Circulation Desk.

Ethics [videorecording] : what is right?
Viddisc. 00111 (Central Reserve Audiovisual)
more...less...
Harvard University’s Frances Kamm, Rutgers University’s Larry Temkin, and Richard Sorabji, emeritus professor of philosophy at King’s College, London, describe the three major categories of ethics: metaethics, applied ethics, and normative ethics. Also included are virtue theory, divine command theory, utilitarian theory, and duty theory. Plato’s Republic, Aristotle’s Nicomachean Ethics, and Kant’s Grounding for the Metaphysics of Morals are considered along with the contributions of Epicurus, Hume, Bentham, Hegel, Marx, Nietzsche, Max Weber, G.E. Moore, and John Rawls.