Guides: Thomas Aquinas Research Guide: Bibliographies, Abstracts, and Indices

Image of Thomas Aquinas

Studiolo of Urbino. Portraits of Famous Men. Saint Thomas Aquinas.
c. 1472-1475
Wood
Painted
Renaissance
Urbino. Palace of Federigo da Montfeltro. Italy.
Paris. Louvre.
©Kathleen Cohen
louv2141

Bibliographies

Thomistic Bibliography: 1920-1940
Edited by Vernon J. Bourke. St. Louis, Mo. : McMullen, 1945. BQ 6867 .B77 (Religious Studies/Philosophy Library, 3rd floor)

Thomistic Bibliography: 1940-1978
Compiled by Terry L. Miethe and Vernon J. Bourke. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1980. BQ 6867 .M5 (Religious Studies/Philosophy Library, 3rd floor)

Bibliographie Thomiste, 1960
2nd revised edition. Completed by P. Mandonnet, J. Destrez, and M.-D. Chenu. Paris : J. Vrin, 1960. BQ 6867 .M27 B5 1960 (Religious Studies/Philosophy Library, 3rd floor)

Thomas Aquinas: International Bibliography, 1977-1990
Compiled by Richard Ingardia. Bowling Green, Ohio: Bowling Green State University, 1993. BQ 6867 .I55 1993 (Religious Studies/Philosophy Library, 3rd floor)

Thomistica: an international yearbook of Thomistic bibliography
Edited by Enrique Alarcón with the collaboration of Mark Johnson. Bonn: Nova & Vetera, 2007. BQ 6867 .T46 2006 (Religious Studies/Philosophy Library, 3rd floor)

Rassegna di Letteratura Tomistica
Supersedes Bulletin Thomiste. Napoli: Edizioni Domenicane Italiane, 1969-1996. BQ 6867 .B94 (Religious Studies/Philosophy Library, 3rd floor)

Bibliographia Thomistica
Bibliographia Thomistica is a bibliographical database maintained by the Fundación Tomás de Aquino as part of the Corpus Thomisticum Project.

Bibliographies in Journals

Aquinas
B1.A1 A65 (Stacks Periodicals). Each issue contains bibliography on multiple subjects including Thomas Aquinas.
Ciencia Tomista
B5 .C56 (Stacks Periodicals). Each issue contains bibliography arranged by subject.
Doctor Angelicus: internationales Thomistisches Jahrbuch
BQ 6889 .D6 (Stacks). Each volume contains subject specific (Thomistic) bibliography.
The Heythrop Journal
A quarterly review of philosophy and theology. BT 3 .H62 (Stacks Periodicals). Each issue contains a bibliography and book reviews.
The Modern Schoolman
B1 .M68 (Stacks Periodicals). Issue no. 2 contains a bibliography and book reviews.
Thomist
B1 .T46 (Stacks Periodicals). Edited by the Dominican Fathers of the Province of St. Joseph. Each issue contains a bibliography and book reviews.

Bibliographies Online

Thomas Aquinas in English
This resource provides bibliography of English translations as well as links to many works of Thomas Aquinas available in full text online

Subject Relevant Databases

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
This resource provides citations to books and journals in philosophy and its subjects,
including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of
selected disciplines from 1940 to present. Book reviews are included after 1993 and over 550
journals are indexed. The print version is in room 314 Mullen (B33.6 .P54).
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
The ATLA Religion Database, produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), is a comprehensive reference tool designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The database consists of more than 1.5 million records covering the research literature of religion in over 30 languages from 1,633 journals (518 currently indexed) and 18,700 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. The database covers 1949 to the present with a few journals going back to the mid 1800’s. Over 100 journals with full text.
International Philosophical Bibliography This link opens in a new window
1949 to present. Languages included: Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish, and Catalan. Over 550 journals are indexed. The fourth issue has an index to book reviews included in the same volume. The call number for the print version is T/P B 33 .R42 1949 in 314 Mullen.
Please note that this title goes back to 1934 as a supplement of the "Revue neoclassique de philosophie." 1934 to 1945 can be found in "Bibliographia Philosophica 1934 to 1945" (T/P B 33 .B85). There are two IBP databases: a retrospective one that begins in the early 1980s and a current database that covers from 1997 to the present. Also known as the 'Répertoire Bibliographique de la Philosophie / Bibliografisch Repertorium van de Wijsbegeerte.'