Criticism Early Editors of Shakespeare is part of Sh:in:E - Shakespeare in Europe website; the University of Basel in Switzerland maintains this website. This page focuses on criticism and the early editors of William Shakespeare's works.
Information and Articles, Essays, Reviews, Study Guides, etc. on Shakespeare's Works
Converse The Literature Website has the following articles on Shakespeare: Directors in Conversation, Post-colonial Shakespeare, Shakespeare's Comedy, Taming the Tamer, Shakespeare's School, Shakespeare in Production, and Shakespeare in Love Shakespeare and Love.
Encyclopedia Britannica's Shakespeare and The Globe: Then and Now contains categories such as The Bard, The Plays, Elizabethan World, Elizabethan Actors on Writers, Elizabethan Theatre, Special Essays, Filmography, Shakespeare Scholars, and Multimedia (audio and video).
The Department of English at the University of Victoria maintains Internet Shakespeare Editions which organizes all of the Shakespeare information in categories such as Plays & Poems, Life & Times, Performance, and Resources.
Michael J. Cummings maintains Shake Sphere (Formerly Known as The Complete Shakespeare) which includes plot summaries and criticism of his plays, analysis and discussions on his sonnets and poems, glossaries, websites with full text, essays and articles, study guides to the plays and poems, and a list of DVD versions of Shakespeare's plays.
Experts in the fields prepare all of the study guides and other information relating to Shakespeare found on enotes. This website focuses on quality information for students, teachers, and researchers.
Amanda Mabillard maintains Shakespeare Online which includes the full text of Shakespeare's works, articles discussing Shakespeare's works, information about his life, book reviews on books relating to Shakespeare, and sources for Shakespeare' works.
J. M. Pressley created and maintains Shakespeare Resource Center which lists websites relating to William Shakespeare and has a searchable glossary. He organizes information in categories such as Shakespeare's Language, Shakespeare's Will, Authorship Debate, The Globe Theatre, and Elizabethan England.
Voice of the Shuttle has a page dedicated to William Shakespeare; links are arranged in categories such as general resources, the authorship issue, criticism, organizations & programs, and visual resources. The visual resources category contains links to images.
Renaissance and Elizabethan Period
The Renaissance and Elizabethan Period Section contains background information for understanding Shakespeare and his works.
Luminarium 16th Century Renaissance English Literature (1485-1603) provides information about the time period and provides links to authors in the time period which lead outside of the Luminarium website.
Renaissance, The Elizabethan World lists useful websites providing information regarding the history, people, maps, costume, literature, drama, music, and exploration of the Renaissance and Elizabethan Era.
Evaluating Web Resources
Since anyone can put anything on the web, you will need to evaluate what is high quality information and what is not.
The following guides can assist you in evaluating web resources:
Sh:in:E - Shakespeare in Europe has a page showing the various translations and languages of Shakespeare's works from 1604 to 1995. The English Department at the University of Basel in Switzerland maintains this website.