Guides: Shakespeare Studies: General Research Guide: Journals

Twelfth Night

The print shows Malvolio, Olivia, and maid from Twelfth Night (Act III, Scene IV).

Object Type: Print Study and Drawing

Materials: Paper

Techniques: Drawn

Production Person: Drawn by Thomas Stothard

Date: 1755-1834

Illustrations to Shakespeare: Merry Wives of Windsor

The print shows Anne Page and Slender from Merry Wives of Windsor (Act II, Scene I).

Object Type: Print and Book-illustration

Materials: Paper

Techniques: Etching

Production Person: Print made by Kenny Meadows, Published by William S Orr & Co

Date: 1845

Illustrations to Shakespeare: Othello

The print shows Othello and Desdemona from Othello (Act III, Scene IV).

Object Type: Print and Book-illustration

Materials: Paper

Techniques: Etching

Production Person: Print made by Kenny Meadows, Published by William S Orr & Co

Date: 1845

Shakespeare Gallery: Cymbeline

The print shows Cymbeline in Act III, Scene VI.

Object Type: Print

Materials: Paper

Techniques: Stipple, Etching, and Color

Production Person: Print made by Thomas Gaugain, After Richard Westall

Date: 1803

Subscription e-journals

Most journals are available online through various subscription databases and websites. Use SearchBox for Articles (image below) to find articles. To search for a particular journal title, use the Journal Title Finder.

Jounals

Shakespeare Studies
PR2885 .S56 (Stacks)
v. 1-6, 8-10
The Shakespearean International Yearbook: Where Are We Now in Shakespearean Studies?
PR2885 .S649 (Stacks)
v.1-9
Shakespeare Survey; an Annual Survey of Shakespearian Study and Production
PR2888 .C17 (Stacks)
v.1- present
Shakespeare Association Bulletin
PR2887 .S52 (Stacks Periodicals)
v.1-24
Royal Shakespeare Company; a Complete Record of the Year's Work
PN2595.3 .R6 (Stacks Folios)
more...less...
RSC has pictures from productions and cast lists.
Shakespeare Newsletter
PR2885 .S52 (Stacks Folios)
v.15 - 58
Jahrbuch der Deutschen Shakespeare-Gesellschaft
request from WRLC
more...less...
Most volumes include "Shakespeare-Bibliographie".
Shakespeare Bulletin
Shakespeare Bulletin contains theatre reviews, book reviews, and photographs from performances. A print version is available in Stacks Periodicals (PR 3091 .B77).
Shakespeare Quarterly (SQ)
Several CUA databases provide access to the Shakespeare Quarterly (SQ) from 1950 to the present. The SQ's emphasis is on Shakespeare studies which includes essays on the criticism of the plays and poems, theater history, Shakespeare pedagogy, the history of Shakespeare as an institution, and studies in editing, text, canon, book reviews, and bibliography.
The Upstart Crow
The Upstart Crow contains essays, notes, poems, and ideas concerning Shakespeare's works.
Early Modern Literary Studies (EMLS)
The Early Modern Literary Studies (EMLS) has several special issues dedicated to Shakespeare. Select "Browse Special Issues" to see the four Shakespeare issues (2: The Internet Shakespeare: Opportunities in a New Medium, 5: Shakespeare on Screen, 12: Monitoring Electronic Shakespeares, and 19: Embodying Shakespeare).
more...less...
Some of the regular issues contain articles on Shakespeare and theatre reviews as well (you can view all of the "Theatre Reviews" by selecting "All Issues", close to the top of the page you will see "Full Listing of Contents", select "Theatre Reviews" which is below "Full Listing of Contents").
ISE Performance Chronicle
The journal, ISE Performance Chronicle, consists of reviews of current Shakespeare productions. The journal also provides performance criticism.
Multicultural Shakespeare Translation Appropriation Performance
Multicultural Shakespeare, an international Shakespearean journal, has page and stage renditions of his plays, translations, critical analysis, and book and theatre reviews. The journal provides abstracts of articles for years 2006, 2007, and 2009. A list of articles and reviews which appeared from 1974 to 1995 is available as a word document.

Google Scholar

Many of the article databases CUA subscribes to are accessible through Google Scholar.

If you are off campus, please make sure to set the preferences so that Google will show you the resources that Catholic University provides:

go to http://scholar.google.com
click Settings at the top menu
select Library Links at the left side menu
input "Catholic Unviersity of America" in the search box
check the box in the front of our university name, then click Save in the lower right corner.

On the search result page, the link "ViewIt@CatholicU" will bring you the full text of the article from our subscribed databases.