Guides: Manuscripts: Images

Images of Manuscripts

This page lists subscription databases and websites containing images of manuscripts; the databases and websites allow the images to be used for educational purposes. The Bodleian Library, British Museum, The Morgan Library & Museum, Koninklijke Bibliotheek National Library of the Netherlands, and the New York Public Library have digitized some of the manuscripts (complete or in part) in their collections. For further information regarding the use of images, see the terms and conditions of each subscription database and website.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
In this subscription database, one can find images of manuscripts by:
1. Selecting “Classification” under Browse (below Search)
2. Selecting “Manuscripts and Manuscript Illuminations"
3. Selecting one of the countries
Note: First time users must be on campus in order to create an account. ARTstor allows images to be downloaded for noncommercial educational and scholarly uses by students and faculty. For further information, see the Terms & Conditions of Use.

Bodleian Library ODL
The Bodleian Library has digitized some of the manuscripts, books, and posters in its collection. One can find images of manuscripts by:
Selecting a collection from the list such as "Greek"
Clicking on "Browse Greek", etc.
Choosing a manuscript listed on the left portion of the screen or selecting one of the thumbnails
Note: After registering for a username and password, images can be saved and used in presentations.
more...less...
The ODL collections are Bindings, Celtic Manuscripts, CPA Poster Collection, Early Printing - in Europe, Greek, Masterpieces of the non-Western book, Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts, and Western Manuscripts.

The Bodleian Library allows the images of manuscripts, posters, and early books to be used for private use and teaching as long as the source of the image is acknowledged. Information about the Bodleian Library's copyright restrictions and UK copyright is available on the library's website.
British Museum
The British Museum has numerous images of manuscripts. You can search for "manuscripts" or a specific type of manuscript such as medieval manuscript, Greek manuscript, codex, manuscript codex, and illuminated manuscript. The British Museum also allows individuals to request 100 images a month after registering!
Corsair: Images from Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts (The Morgan Library & Museum)
The database contains illuminations found in medieval and Renaissance manuscripts dating from the 5th century to the 19th century. The images are accompanied by descriptions; the images can be printed. One can browse by the type of manuscript, country of creation, or century of creation. The Corsair catalog and the descriptions accompanying the images are searchable.
e-codices Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland
e-codices Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland provides access to digitized medieval and early modern manuscripts in Switzerland (more than 700 manuscripts). The manuscripts date from the 4th century to the 18th century. The manuscripts are organized by libraries' collections. Images of manuscripts are able to printed and emailed.
To view a manuscript: select "Facsimile" in the record.
more...less...
The images are allowed to be used for personal and non-commercial use (teaching, studying, and research) as long as the image is accompanied by a bibliographic reference.
Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts (Koninklijke Bibliotheek National Library of the Netherlands)
The database contains illuminations found in manuscripts. Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts can be browsed by subject in several languages (German, French, and English). The database can also be searched by manuscripts, images, width and height of text block, width and height of page, and date. The images can be printed and saved as well.
New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Library
The Digital Library contains numerous images of manuscripts. One can type "manuscripts" into the search box or select "Printing & Graphics" which provides links to collections of images such as Illuminated Hebrew Manuscripts and Medieval and Renaissance Illuminated Manuscripts from Western Europe.
more...less...
Images may be used for education purposes, for more information see the Website Terms and Conditions.

Title-Page / Print

The print is the title-page to Thomas Hobbes' Leviathan; the book was published in 1651 by Andrew Cooke.