The Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts. The manuscripts are in Anglo-Norman, Arabic, Aramaic,
Catalan, Czech, Dutch, English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Occitan, Rhenish, Spanish, and Welsh. It is possible to browse by location, shelfmark, author, title, scribe, artist, and languages. The University of California, Berkeley maintains this database.

The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) maintains the Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts, a database which provides links to medieval manuscripts available electronically.

These manuscripts are from libraries and universities in countries such as Australia, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Poland, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, United States, and Wales.

The languages of these manuscripts include Anglo-Norman, Arabic, Armenian, Catalan, Cornish, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Latin, Middle English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, High German, Irish, Italian, Middle Cornish, Middle Dutch, Middle French, Middle Irish, Middle High German, Old English, Old French, Old Old Irish, Old Latin, Persian, Polish, Spanish, and Welsh.

It is possible to browse by languages, title, author, shelfmark, and location.

The book includes a section on manuscripts and archives for Canadian literature. The section contains a list of books and online resources concerning Canadian repositories; descriptions of the resources follow the list. The section also contains a list of online catalogs and gateways for archival research; descriptions of the resources follow the list. This section includes a discussion of preparing for archival research and a case study. The section highlights the advantages and disadvantages of manuscript diaries and letters.

The Union World Catalog (six volumes) lists collections of manuscript books in countries including the United States, Canada, Cuba, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Spain, and Portugal. The section for the United States is organized by state while the sections on other European countries, Africa, and Asia are organized by country.

Volume 1 lists collections of manuscript books for the United States, Canada, Cuba, South America, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Other European Countries, Africa, and Asia. Volume 2 lists public collections of manuscript books in Spain and Portugal and 8 Spanish collections. Volume 3 lists printed catalogs of manuscript books. The list is arranged alphabetically by the name of the city or town of a country.

Volume 4 lists Arabic manuscripts and fragments in the Princeton University Library. Volume 5 is a supplement to volume 2: manuscript book collections of Spain and Portugal. The first section consists of 19 Spanish collections; these manuscripts are in Latin, Portuguese, French, Italian, and Spanish. The section section is the cumulated author list.

In 1973 Stanford University created a guide of manuscripts available in the Main Library. The manuscript collection covers subjects such as arts, education, history (Cuba, France, Great Britain, Mexico, Orient, South Pacific, and United States), Literature (Great Britain, United States, and Miscellaneous), Philosophy, Science, and Transportation. The guide provides the access number, name of the collection, and the dates covered for each manuscript collection.

The catalog lists medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale University; the Rare Book and Manuscript Library consists of the general collection and the Marston collection. The three volume catalog describes 500 manuscripts in the general collection (Volumes 1-2) and 234 manuscripts in the Marston collection (Volume 3). The catalog contains an index of incipits (Index VII).

The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Greek, French, German, Italian, Spanish, English, Icelandic, and Nahutal. The manuscripts date from the 10th century to the 18th century.

The catalog lists medieval and renaissance manuscripts located at the University of Notre Dame.

The catalog describes 6,000 cataloged collections of the Manuscript Department of Perkins Library. The manuscripts date from the 14th century to the 20th century. The manuscript collections are listed alphabetically by the individual's last name. The catalog includes an index.

The strengths of the manuscript collections are in antebellum South, the Civil War, Reconstruction, Afro-American history, slavery, abolition movement in the United States, United States (religion, education, politics, social history, business, economic history, labor, and socialism), and Southern literature. The manuscript collections are also strong in the history of Great Britain and the British Empire.

Volume 1 contains Pacific and Western manuscripts except for manuscripts in California while Volume 2 contains manuscripts concerning Mexico, Central America, and Spanish Colonial America.

Pacific and Western manuscripts refer to manuscripts concerning Oregon, Washington, Canada (British Columbia and the Yukon), Arizona, New Mexico, Utah (including the Mormons), Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Alaska, Colorado, Wyoming, Hawaii, and Texas. The manuscripts date from the 19th century to the 20th century.

The book lists medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the Houghton Library at Harvard University. The Houghton Library's collection includes manuscripts in Latin, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and Greek. The library has 850 manuscripts in Western European languages which date before 1525.

Volume 1 contains manuscripts in Latin and date from the 12th century to the 16th century.

The Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University contains a collection of 98 Greek manuscripts from 9th to 17th centuries (known as the Kenneth Willis Clark Collection of Greek Manuscripts) as well as papyri in Greek. Descriptions of the manuscripts in the Kenneth Willis Clark Collection of Greek Manuscripts is available online.

Images of the papyri are available in the Duke Papyrus Archive. To find Greek papyri, select "Greek" under "Browse by language".

The Houghton Library's collection consists of manuscripts pertaining to Western civilization (American, Continental, and English history and literature) such as ostraca, daguerreotypes, and the working papers of living authors and poets. Manuscripts belong to categories such as early books and manuscripts (to 1600), Donald & Mary Hyde Collection of Dr. Samuel Johnson and Early Modern Books and Manuscripts (1600-1800), Modern Books and Manuscripts (1800-present), Theodore Roosevelt Collection, Printing and Graphic Arts, Harvard Theatre Collection, and George Edward Woodberry Poetry Room.

The Digital Medieval Manuscripts at Houghton Library contains bibliographies and catalog records for medieval and renaissance manuscripts in Latin, Greek, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Judaica, Portuguese, Spanish, and Syriac with subjects such as literature, art, history, music, philosophy, and theology.

The Exhibition page of Picturing Prayer Book of Hours in Houghton Library, Harvard University provides the opportunity to examine 10 digitized Book of Hours.

The Islamic Heritage Project provides access to more than 280 manuscripts from the 12th to 19th centuries and in languages such as Arabic, Chagatai, French, Gujarati, Indic, Malay, Persian, Turkish, and Ottoman. These manuscripts cover topics such as biography, calligraphy, dictionaries, divination/occultism, geography, Grammar, Hadith, Ismaili literature, Koran, law, literature, logic, philosophy, poetry, rhetoric, science (astrology, astronomy, mathematics, and medicine), Sufism, and theology.

The Special Collections and University Archives at Marquette University holds collections concerning Catholic social action, Christianity in native North America, politics and Wisconsin, popular entertainment, the history of Marquette University, and J. R. R. Tolkien. The J. R. R. Tolkien collection consists of original manuscripts and secondary literature on J . R. R. Tolkien or his writings.

The Special Collections and University Archives has also created the Digital Archives which provides access to some of the materials in its collections. These collections include the
Alfred Hamy's Jesuit Portrait Gallery, Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions, Hilltop Yearbooks, 1915-1996, Ralph Metcalfe, The Olympic Years, 1932-1936, Marquette University Histories, Van Vechten Postcard Portraits, I'll Tell You A Story Memories of Pre-Holocaust Europe, and The Indian Sentinel, 1902-1962.

Princeton University's collection of manuscripts includes medieval and renaissance (8th to 16th centuries and languages such as Latin, Byzantine Greek, post-Byzantine Greek, Middle English, French, Italian, Spanish, German, and Dutch or Flemish), Islamic (9th to the 19th centuries and languages such as Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish), non-Western (Ethiopic, Indic, and Mesoamerican manuscripts), modern literature (British, American, and Latin American authors), art and photography, publishing history, and American history (colonial and early American manuscripts).

Some of the medieval and renaissance manuscripts have been digitized such as Garrett MS. 125, Garrett MS. 158, Princeton MS. 173, and Garrett MS. 43. Links to these manuscripts are found on the Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts page.

Images of some of the Islamic manuscripts are in the Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts. The manuscripts can be viewed in alphabetical order or by subject and genre; one of the subjects/genres is illustrated and illuminated manuscripts. Click on a title and then click on "View Item" on the description page to view images of the manuscript.

Fondren Library's manuscript collection includes diaries, letters, photographs, drafts of literary and scientific works, audio and video recordings, legal documents, and papers of faculty pertaining to Houston and Texas history, American history, British maritime and naval history, U.S. Civil War and slavery, and world history.

Finding aids for the manuscripts are available online.

The Knights of Columbus Vatican Film Library makes accessible manuscripts from the Vatican Library in America to scholars and researchers. The collection includes manuscripts in Greek, Latin, Western European vernacular, Hebrew, Ethiopic, and Arabic. The collection includes non-Vatican Library manuscripts as well. It is possible to search for manuscripts online in the Manuscripts on Microfilm Database Search.

The Syracuse University Library's collection includes medieval manuscripts in Latin which date from the 13th century to the 16th century. The manuscripts have not fully been digitized but descriptions of ten manuscripts are available on the website for Medieval Manuscripts.

The University of Chicago Library's collection includes medieval, Renaissance, early modern, and modern manuscripts on various subject areas from the second century A.D. to the present. The manuscripts are in languages such as Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Latin (medieval and modern), Mexican, and Persian. Some of the manuscripts focus on Chicago.

Specific manuscript collections are the Edgar J. Goodspeed Manuscript Collection, the Sir Nicholas Bacon Collection of English Court and Manorial Documents, the Samuel R. and Marie-Louise Rosenthal Collection of Northern Italian Documents, the editorial files of Poetry Magazine, the William E. Barton Collection of Lincolniana, the papers of Stephen A. Douglas, the Reuben T. Durrett Collection on Kentucky and the Ohio River Valley, the Joseph Halle Schaffner Collection in the History of Science, drama and theatrical performance, organizations associated with the post-World War II atomic scientists' movement, and organizations promoting world government and international law.

The manuscripts in the Edgar J. Goodspeed Manuscript Collection are are currently being digitized and are available at The Goodspeed Manuscript Collection.

The Philip M. Klutznick: Community Builder, Jewish and Civic Leader, Diplomat digital collection provides select papers of Philip M. Klutznick, biography, timeline, and finding aid of the Philip M. Klutznick Papers 1914-1999.

The Rose & Chess: Le Roman de la Rose & Le Jeu des échecs moralisé digital collection tells the story of the reunion of the two manuscripts (Le Roman de la Rose, The Romance of the Rose and Le Jeu des échecs moralisé, The Moralized Game of Chess) as well as provides access to the two manuscripts. The two manuscripts were bound together in the 14th century but were later separated in 1907.

The Medieval Institute at the University of Notre Dame holds a photographic copy of Biblioteca Ambrosiana's manuscript collection - 12,000 drawings. Robert Randolf Coleman (University of Notre Dame) has created an inventory catalog of the manuscript collection which contains images of the drawings. He has also created a detailed guide explaining the various search fields.

The manuscripts collections at the University of Pennsylvania cover the broad categories of medieval, Renaissance and early modern, modern American studies, modern European studies, and South Asian studies. The broad categories include sub categories such as theology and doctrine, literature, literary, philosophy, scientific, Islamic and other non-Western manuscripts, and music history.

The Rare Book & Manuscript Library also contains the Henry Charles Lea Library (history of the Inquisition and the Catholic Church), the Horace Howard Furness Memorial Library (Shakespeariana), and the Edgar Fahs Smith Memorial Collection (history of chemistry).

Some of the manuscripts are available online as facsimiles and with bibliographic information in Penn in Hand: Selected Manuscripts. Finding aids for the manuscripts are also available online. The manuscripts are in Arabic, Catalan, Chinese, ‎Coptic, Dutch, ‎English, French, German, ‎Greek, Hebrew, Italian, ‎Latin, Persian, Portuguese, ‎Provençal, Rajasthani, ‎Sanskrit, and Spanish. ‎

Yale University Library's collection covers public policy, administration, diplomacy, international affairs, political thought, social thought, science, medicine, environment, legal history, judicial history, performing arts, urban planning, architecture, environmental policy, psychology, psychiatry, history and culture of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, and the history of New Haven, Connecticut and New England.

The Yale Finding Aid Database provides finding aids to the various collections held by Yale University. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library: Pre-1600 Manuscripts provides descriptions of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts which are based on the Catalogue of Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, edited by Barbara Shailor et al. The manuscripts are in Latin, Greek, French, German, Italian, Spanish, English, Icelandic, and Nahuatl.

Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library: Digital Images & Collections Online contains images of photographs, textual documents, illuminated manuscripts, maps, works of art, and books.

This page provides information and links to the Library of Congress' collection of manuscripts which includes manuscripts related to political history, military history, diplomatic history, cultural history, American history, history of science, and the archives of nongovernmental organizations.

Manuscripts such as Jefferson's rough draft of the Declaration of Independence, James Madison's notes on the Federal Convention, George Washington's first inaugural address, and Abraham Lincoln's Gettysburg Address are found in Library of Congress' collection.

The Library of Congress has also made numerous finding aids to its manuscripts available online.

The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) offers bibliographic access to archival and manuscript collections in United States repositories.

The checklist lists manuscripts on microfilms held by the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. The checklist is arranged alphabetically by the last name of the individual. Each entry provides the location of the actual manuscript: Library of Congress or another institution in the United States or the world (such as the National Library of Scotland and Newberry Library in Chicago).

Entries also include the birth and death dates of the author, the number of reels, and notes regarding the type of microfilm (positive, negative, or both), and whether the particular collection of manuscripts has been completely microfilmed.

The catalog lists medieval and renaissance manuscript books held by the Library of Congress.

This national union catalog lists manuscript collections held by public American repositories (libraries, historical societies, etc.). The information gathered for the national union catalog was obtained from reports from American repositories of manuscripts.

The records for the manuscript collections are organized by the card number (the number listed in the lower right corner). The national union catalog contains three indexes which provide access to the records: name index, subject index, and repository index.

The record contains the main entry, title, physical description, location, scope and content note, and subject index terms (based on Library of Congress Subject Headings).

The index provides guidance for the form of names which appear in Library of Congresses' National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (print and online versions). The union catalog lists American manuscripts in repositories throughout the United States.

The checklist contains over 270 American libraries which contain American literary manuscripts of 2,350 American authors.

This checklist is organized by the last name of authors; each author's name includes birth-death dates (based on dates used by the Library of Congress), library symbols which state the type(s) of manuscripts, the name of the library, and the location of the library (state and city).

Consult "How To Use These Listings" (pages xx-xxviii) for the explanation of library symbols.

Authors included are George Abbe, Louisa May Alcott, Paul Green, William Maxwell, Eve Triem, and Louis Zukofsky.

The catalog lists literary manuscripts (Beowulf) and fragments written in Old English and Latin before 1200.

Besides listing manuscripts located in England, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, France, Italy, and Sweden, the catalog lists a manuscript collection in the United States: Collection of William H. Scheide. The catalog contains an appendix of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts copied by foreign scribes which provides a description and the library which has the manuscript.

The types of manuscripts included are glossaries, chronicles, homilies, martyrologies, Church laws, Church histories, rules, gospels, prayers, grammars, lives, wills, handbooks, glosses, and laws.

The catalog includes manuscripts of Boethius, Bede, and AElfric.

The catalog lists pre-1500 western manuscript books in Latin. The manuscripts date from the 11th century to the 15th century. The catalog contains an index of authors, titles, and subjects.

The union catalog (in three volumes) lists small and large collections of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in American and Canadian library collections (public and private). The manuscripts are organized by state and then by library. The types of manuscripts described include letters, charters, and deeds.

Volumes 1 and 2 contain manuscript collections in the United States and Canada while Volume 3 contains indices.

The union catalog does not include Greek and Latin Papyri and Oriental manuscripts.

The Pierpont Morgan Library's collection contains 64 Central European manuscripts in languages such as Latin and German. The catalog focuses on manuscripts produced in Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary, and Bohemia. The manuscripts date from 8th century to the 17th century.

The two volumes provide an inventory of manuscripts in Austrian libraries which were microfilmed by the Hill Monastic Manuscript Library. The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Italian, German, and Slavic.

Volume 2 contains the Descriptive Inventory of Fiecht Archives and Library, Index of Latin and Italian Incipits, and Index of German and Slavic Incipits. The Short List of Contents includes manuscripts which used to be owned by Fiecht. The manuscripts date from the 11th century to the 20th century.

Volume 3 describes 138 manuscripts in the Stiftsbibliothek Herzogenburg; these manuscripts date from the 13th century to the 18th century.

The two volumes contains copies of catalog cards in The New York Public Library's manuscript collection. The manuscript collection has strengths in the history of North America, Latin America, and New York (state and city). These manuscripts cover subjects such as diplomatic history, science, and literature. The manuscripts are in languages such as Greek, Latin, Spanish, German, and English.

Volume 2 contains three appendices: Gansevoort-Lansing Papers, Garrison-McKim-Maloney Collection (antislavery and movement for Irish independence), and Musical Resources Largely Transferred to the Music Division, November 1965.

The Preface concludes with the names of three Special Collections which also hold manuscripts: William A. Spencer Collection of books finely bound and finely illustrated, George Arents Collection on the History of Tobacco and of Books in Parts, and Albert A. and Henry W. Berg Collection. The Rare Book division holds the Oscar Lion Collection of Whitmaniana.

The Huntington Library's collection consists of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in Latin, Greek, Dutch, Flemish, Spanish, and English. The catalog (in two volumes) describes 390 manuscripts and fragments; the manuscripts date from the 9th century to the 18th century.

The manuscript collection includes cartularies, Bibles, psalters, Book of hours, missals, statutes, poetry, and literature (Canterbury Tales by Chaucer). The collection includes manuscripts of ancient authors such as Cicero, Plutarch, Aristotle, Virgil, Ovid, and Sallust.

Volume 2 contains numerous indexes: Dated Manuscripts, Other Manuscripts Cited, Persons and Institutions (Mainly Owners), Scribes, Artists, Iconography, Saints, Index of Middle English Verse Numbers, and General Index. A Chart of the Books of Hours is included as well.

Handlist I lists Middle English manuscripts in the collection of the Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery; these manuscripts date from 1100-1500.

The Walters Art Gallery is now called the Walters Art Museum. The museum's collection includes medieval and renaissance manuscripts from France (875-1540) and Belgium (1250-1530).

The catalog lists medieval manuscripts dating from the 11th century to the 19th century. The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Castilian, Catalan, French, Italian, and Portuguese.

The manuscripts cover subjects such as religion, law (religious and secular), science, history, language, literature, philosophy, education, and encyclopedias.

The union list provides the manuscript holdings of 21 Benedictine libraries in America: Mount Saviour Monastery, St. Martin's College Library, St. Joseph Abbey Library, The Archabbey Library, St. John's University Library, St. Gregory's College Library, St. Bede College Library, Benedictine Heights College, Saint Scholastica, Villa Madonna College Library, St. Scholastica's Convent Library, Convent Immaculate Conception Library, Library at College of St. Scholastica, Mount St. Scholastica College Library, St. Mary Priory Library, Mt. St. Mary Convent Library, Mount Marty College Library, St. Lucy's Priory Library, St. Benedict Convent Library, and Assumption Abbey Library.

The manuscripts are organized into categories such as Sacred Studies, Philosophy, Fine Arts, Library Science, Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Education and Psychology, Social Sciences, Language and Literature, and Miscellaneous. Each manuscript is marked whether the particular manuscript is available for research or library loan.

The Union World Catalog (six volumes) lists collections of manuscript books in countries including the United States, Canada, Cuba, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Spain, and Portugal. The section for the United States is organized by state while the sections on other European countries, Africa, and Asia are organized by country.

Volume 1 lists collections of manuscript books for the United States, Canada, Cuba, South America, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Other European Countries, Africa, and Asia. Volume 2 lists public collections of manuscript books in Spain and Portugal and 8 Spanish collections. Volume 3 lists printed catalogs of manuscript books. The list is arranged alphabetically by the name of the city or town of a country.

Volume 4 lists Arabic manuscripts and fragments in the Princeton University Library. Volume 5 is a supplement to volume 2: manuscript book collections of Spain and Portugal. The first section consists of 19 Spanish collections; these manuscripts are in Latin, Portuguese, French, Italian, and Spanish. The section section is the cumulated author list.

Saint John's University created the Hill Museum and Manuscript Library (HMML) in 1965 to preserve manuscripts found in European monasteries and libraries (Germany, Austria, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, Portugal, England, Malta, Ethiopia, etc.) by microfilming the manuscripts.

HMML contains three special collections of manuscripts and rare books: Saint John’s University Collection, Arca Artium Collection, and HMML Collection. HHML has images of manuscripts from Europe, Ethiopia, the Middle East, and India and owns Greek, Ethiopian and Arabic manuscript books, the Steiner Collection, and the Kritzeck Collection (a collection of letters and autographs of Popes, Monarchs, and American Presidents).

Numerous handlists and catalogs (Arabic, Armenian, music, etc.) to manuscripts are available online.

HMML Research Resources provides two databases: Manuscript Catalogue Search and Search for Images Online. In the Search for Images Online database, it is possible to browse HMML’s Collection by type of material such as manuscript which returned over 700 results.

The website also provides information regarding manuscript reproductions.

The Huntington Library's collection includes manuscripts from the 11th century to the present with topics such as English and American history and literature, European medieval manuscripts, Renaissance exploration and cartography, Latin American history, and the history of science and technology.

The library also has archives of authors such as Jack London, Wallace Stevens, Kingsley Amis, Christopher Isherwood, Charles Bukowski, and Hilary Mantel.

Descriptive handlists of some of the manuscripts are available on the Online Archive of California (OAC).

Images of manuscripts in the medieval collections are available in Digital Scriptorium.

The The Huntington Library Online Catalog contains collection-level records for manuscripts. The advanced search page has an option of limiting by material type such as “manuscripts” or location such as “manuscript material”.

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) has created a digital collection of its medieval manuscripts. The manuscripts and fragments (prayer books, missals, Bibles, Books of Hours, poetry, histories, etc.) date from the 10th century to the 19th century. Manuscripts in Latin and Greek cover subjects such as theology, philosophy, history, literature, and genealogy. It is possible to search by keyword or country as well as to browse subjects by letter, date range, or shelfmark.

The diverse collection of The Morgan Library & Museum includes medieval and renaissance manuscripts, the manuscripts and letters of Oscar Wilde, Mark Twain's manuscripts, letters, drawings, and photographs.

The collection includes numerous diaries by individuals such as Charlotte Brontë, Frances Eliza Grenfell, Sophia and Nathaniel Hawthorne, Paul Horgan, Elizabeth Eastman Morgan, John Newton, Mary Ann and Septimus Palairet, John Ruskin, Sir Walter Scott, Bartholomew Sharpe, and Tennessee Williams.

The Morgan Gutenberg Bible is available online. The Morgan Library & Museum has been digitizing its music manuscripts which are available in Music Manuscripts Online.

Interesting Research Guides include Medieval & Renaissance Manuscripts, Music Manuscripts & Printed Music, Printed Books & Bindings, and Archives.

The database, Corsair: Images from Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts, provides access to the illuminations found in manuscripts. The images are accompanied by descriptions.

The Walters Art Museum's collection includes 900 illuminated manuscripts, 1,250 of the first printed books, and post-1500 deluxe editions. The Manuscript and Rare Books and Islamic Manuscripts categories on the website provides access to digitized versions of some of the manuscripts. The original name of the museum was the Walters Art Gallery.