The National Library of Australia's collection of manuscripts focuses on maritime exploration,
immigration, federal politics and government, international relations, journalism, historical research, literature, music, performing arts, science, environmental movement, women’s movement, law, multiculturalism, indigenous peoples, military history, Christian churches and missions, and pastoral industry. The collection is not focused only on Australia's history but also on European discovery of Australia.

Some of the manuscripts have online finding aids.

The descriptive catalog lists medieval and renaissance manuscripts found in Australia; some private collections are included. The catalog is organized by region: Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia. An Index of Incipits is included as well as lost manuscripts (manuscripts which had been in Australian collections but were not found in Australian collections).

The manuscripts date from the 11th to 16th centuries. Types of manuscripts described are grants, Bibles, missals, legal texts, translations, and horae. These manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, English, French, German, Italian, Netherlandish, Middle Nethlandish, and Spanish.

Australian collections include manuscripts such as Aristotle, Plutarch, Vergil, Ovid, Cicero, Livy, Terence, Jerome, Augustine, Boethius, Bede, Bernard of Clairvaux, Bonaventure, Anselm of Canterbury, and Thomas Aquinas.

The book contains a section on manuscripts and archives for Australian and New Zealand literature. This section discusses archival research and provides lists of books and websites for locating archives and manuscript collections. Descriptions of the books and web sites follow the lists.

The collection of Stiftsbibliothek at Herzogenburg (Austria) contains manuscripts in Latin, German, and Italian. These manuscripts date from the 12th century to the 18th century.

The Brief Inventory of Illuminated Manuscripts until 1600 and Incunabula in the Library of the Augustiner-Chorherrenstiftes Herzogenburg in Niederösterreich contains digitized manuscripts (not complete) of some of the manuscripts in the Stiftsbibliothek Herzogenburg.

Volume 1 contains a checklist of microfilms made by the Hill Monastic Manuscript Library of manuscripts before 1600 in libraries, museums, and archives at Austrian monasteries. The Austrian monasteries include Gottweig, Heiligenkreuz, Herzogenburg, Klosterneuburg, Kremsmunster, Lambach, Lilienfeld, Melk, Neukloster zu Wiener-Neustadt, Reichersberg, Sankt Florian, Sankt Polten, Schlagl, Seitetstetten, Wien Schottenkloster, and Wilhering.

The two volumes provide an inventory of manuscripts in Austrian libraries which were microfilmed by the Hill Monastic Manuscript Library. The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Italian, German, and Slavic.

Volume 2 contains the Descriptive Inventory of Fiecht Archives and Library, Index of Latin and Italian Incipits, and Index of German and Slavic Incipits. The Short List of Contents includes manuscripts which used to be owned by Fiecht. The manuscripts date from the 11th century to the 20th century.

Volume 3 describes 138 manuscripts in the Stiftsbibliothek Herzogenburg; these manuscripts date from the 13th century to the 18th century.

The catalog (in 4 volumes) lists Western manuscripts and fragments in Austria's National Library. The manuscripts are in Spanish, German, Italian, Netherlandish, and Latin. The catalog is in German.

The catalog lists dated manuscripts in the Latin script from the 14th century to the 16th century. The catalog includes the works of Boethius, Aristotle, and Augustine.

The Royal Library of Belgium's collection includes manuscripts. The home page is only in Netherlandish and French while the Catalogs page is in English.

The CICweb.be created the Online guide to mediaeval manuscripts in Wallonia - Brussels which lists records for 1,300 medieval manuscripts in institutions' collections in Wallonia and Brussels (the French Community of Belgium). The manuscripts date from the 7th century to the 16th century; these manuscripts are in languages such as French, Greek, Latin, Romance languages, and Arabic.

The catalog (two volumes) lists 63 manuscript collections (private and monastic libraries) in Belgium. The manuscripts are in Latin.

The catalog lists manuscripts in the Bibliothèque Royale de Belgique. The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Greek, and French. The manuscripts cover Sacred Scripture, liturgy, patristics, theology, jurisprudence, history, sciences, arts, and literature.

The catalog lists literary manuscripts (Beowulf) and fragments written in Old English and Latin before 1200.

These manuscripts are located in England, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, France, United States (Collection of William H. Scheide), Italy, and Sweden. The catalog contains an appendix of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts copied by foreign scribes which provides a description and the library which has the manuscript.

The types of manuscripts included are glossaries, chronicles, homilies, martyrologies, Church laws, Church histories, rules, gospels, prayers, grammars, lives, wills, handbooks, glosses, and laws.

The catalog includes manuscripts of Boethius, Bede, and AElfric.

The six volumes list manuscripts from the 9th century to the 16th century and facsimiles of the manuscripts.

The Royal Library collection includes manuscripts from the early middle ages to the present. The manuscripts (illuminated manuscript, letter, manuscript, diary, rough draft, etc.) tend to represent Danish and European history, literature, and cultural history.

The manuscript collections include Music Manuscripts (manuscripts of contemporary composers), Oriental Collection (manuscripts and block prints from Asia and North Africa which date from the 10th century to the present), Judaica Collection (manuscripts in Hebrew), e-manuscripts (compete digitized facsimiles of manuscripts in Danish, Greek, Latin, Old-English, French, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish, and German from 600 to 1900), and the Digital facsimiles of rare books in the Royal Library. The Digital facsimiles of rare books in the Royal Library includes rare books from the 15th to 19th century in Danish and rare books in English, Flemish, German, Latin, Slovenian, and Spanish from the 16th and 18th centuries.

e-manuscripts consists of the following collections:
Codices Latini Haunienses, Fragmenta Latina Hauniensia, Middle Ages and Renaissance, 17th and 18th Century, and 19th and 20th Century (mostly in Danish).

The David Simonsen Manuscripts have been digitized; the manuscripts date from the 12th century to the present.

The Manuscript Databases and Catalogues page lists databases (Manuscripts and Archives in REXclassic, REX, Aquisitions 1924-87, The Letter Base, and DANPA - The National Data Base of Private Archives) and print catalogs available online.

The library has manuscripts of Peter Uldall, Abraham Kall, Jacob Langebek, J. A. Bølling, E. C. Werlauff, C. F. Allen, N. C. L. Abraham, Poul Martin Møller, Henrik Ibsen, H. C. Andersen, the family Holstein-Ledreborg, S. A. E. Hagen, Søren Kierkegaard, and H. C. Ørsted.

The website provides access to Icelandic manuscripts, in particular the Icelandic Sagas. These manuscripts are from the 13th century to the 19th century. The manuscripts have been completely digitized.

It is possible to browse or search the Icelandic Sagas; two types of search interfaces are available (simple and combined). A subject heading list is also provided.

The catalog lists literary manuscripts (Beowulf) and fragments written in Old English and Latin before 1200.

These manuscripts are located in England, Belgium, Denmark, Ireland, Netherlands, France, United States (Collection of William H. Scheide), Italy, and Sweden. The catalog contains an appendix of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts copied by foreign scribes which provides a description and the library which has the manuscript.

The types of manuscripts included are glossaries, chronicles, homilies, martyrologies, Church laws, Church histories, rules, gospels, prayers, grammars, lives, wills, handbooks, glosses, and laws.

The catalog includes manuscripts of Boethius, Bede, and AElfric.

The seven volumes are facsimiles of Icelandic manuscripts. Volume 1 contains The Arna-Magnæan manuscript 551A, 4to: Bardar saga, Viglunder saga, Grettis saga. Volume 2 contains The saga manuscript 2845, 4to in the Old Royal Collection in the Royal Library of Copenhagen. Volume 3 contains The saga manuscript 9. 10. Aug. 4to in the Herzog August Library, Wolfenbüttel. Volume 4 contains The Arna-Magnæan manuscript 674A, 4to: Elucidarius. Volume 5 contains The Arna-Magnæan manuscripts 371, 4to, 544, 4to, and 675, 4to: Hauksbók. Volume 6 contains The Arna-Magnæan manuscript 468, 4to: Njáls saga (Reykjabók). Volume 7 contains The Arna-Magnæan manuscript 519A, 4to: Alexanders saga.

The British Library's collection contains numerous medieval and renaissance manuscripts in languages such as Greek, Latin, Hebrew, and French (Arthurian manuscripts ). The manuscripts are organized in categories such as Medieval and Earlier Manuscripts (circa 300 BC to 1603), Modern Historical Collections (1603 to the Present), and Literary and Theatrical Collections. Descriptions and images of some of the manuscripts are found in the Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts. Additional catalogs are found on the Manuscript Catalogues page.

The Digitised Manuscripts provides access to all of the manuscripts which have been digitized by the British Library. It is possible to browse by manuscript, author, scribe, or title (Latin and Greek).

The British Library's collection also includes Hebrew Manuscripts; catalogs and guides for Hebrew manuscripts are listed on the website.

The Online Gallery contains more than 20 books which includes manuscripts and are available electronically through Turning the Pages. These books and manuscripts represent the various subject areas found in the British Library's collection; for example, art, music, literature, medicine, religious, and Hebrew manuscripts (the Golden Haggadah (Glorious Hebrew prayer book) and Lisbon Hebrew Bible).
To find books and manuscripts:
Select “Virtual Books” tab
Select “View All”
Click on a link to view a particular book

The Bodleian Libraries' collection includes various types of manuscripts: Western (3rd century B.C. papyri to medieval manuscripts to present day manuscripts and languages such as English and Latin) and oriental languages (Arabic, Chinese, Hebrew, Persian, Sanskrit, Aramaic, Armenian, Burmese, Chagatay, Coptic, Egyptian, Ethiopic, Georgian, Javanese, Korean, Malay, Mongolian, Syriac, Tibetan, and Turkish). The oriental manuscripts are from areas such as Asia, North Africa, Central Asia, Tibet, the Himalayas, Korea, and South East Asia.

Digitised images from the Bodleian Libraries Special Collections contains collections such as Greek Manuscripts, Medieval and Renaissance Manuscript Illumination, Crossing Borders: Hebrew Manuscripts as a Meeting-place of Cultures, and Western Manuscripts.

The John Rylands University Library manuscript collection consist of numerous languages such as Armenian, Dutch, English, Ethiopian, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Irish, Italian, Latin, Persian, Spanish, Syriac, and Turkish representing five millennia. The manuscripts cover subjects such as literary, historical, antiquarian, genealogical, biblical, devotional, ritualistic, medical, scientific, legal, and administrative.

To learn the specifics (date range, depth, etc.) of each collection, see Special Collections A to Z.

One can browse or search for medieval and renaissance manuscripts in languages such as Anglo-Saxon, Old English, Anglo-Norman, Middle English, English, and Latin in the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College in Cambridge, England. The manuscripts are accompanied by images. Most of the manuscripts in the collection have been fully digitized except for the manuscripts listed in About the Parker Library on the Web Project.

Some of the Corpus Christi College Manuscript Catalogs are available online.

Early Manuscripts at Oxford University provides access to digitized manuscripts (Latin, French, Old English, Greek, Anglo-Norman, Italian, English, Irish, and Welsh) which are organized by collection: Balliol College, Bodleian Library, Corpus Christi College, Jesus College, Magdalen College, Merton College, and St. John's College. The manuscripts date from the 9th to the 19th centuries.

It is also possible to browse a list of all the manuscripts; a description accompanies each manuscript.

The database provides access to "the digitized notes of the historian and bibliographer Seymour Montefiore Robert Rosso de Ricci (1881-1942) made for the compilation of his unfinished Bibliotheca Britannica Manuscripta" (Home page). The Bibliotheca Britannica Manuscripta focuses on manuscripts in Great Britain and is a companion to the Census of Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts in the United States and Canada. It is possible to search the database by collector or repository which can be limited by country. After a country (England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales, or Other/Unknown) is selected from the drop down menu, you have the option to search by all counties or a specific county from the drop down menu.

The Aberdeen University Library's collection includes the Burnet Psalter, a 15 century manuscript in Latin. A graduate of Aberdeen University, Gilbert Burnet, gave the manuscript to the university. The Psalter has been completely digitized. Transcriptions of the Latin accompanies the digital images.

The Aberdeen Bestiary (Aberdeen University Library MS 24) is a 12th century Latin manuscript. The manuscript has been digitized and is accompanied by a translation, transcription, and commentary. The website also provides an introduction to the bestiary.

The catalog (2 volumes) lists Gaelic manuscripts held by libraries in Great Britain and Ireland: National Library of Scotland, King's College Library at Aberdeen University, Glasgow University Library, and Edinburgh University Library. Volume 1 includes an Index of Initia while Volume 2 is an Index to Notes on Manuscripts.

This catalog lists Irish manuscripts on subjects such as history, law, medicine, lexicography, poetry, tales, and theology from the 15th to the 19th century in the British Museum. Manuscript collections included in the catalog are the Royal Manuscripts, Cotton Manuscripts, Harley Manuscripts, Lansdowne Manuscripts, Sloane Manuscripts, Additional Manuscripts, and Egerton Manuscripts.

The catalog lists literary manuscripts (Beowulf) and fragments written in Old English and Latin before 1200.

These manuscripts are located in England, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, France, United States (Collection of William H. Scheide), Italy, and Sweden. The catalog contains an appendix of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts copied by foreign scribes which provides a description and the library which has the manuscript.

The types of manuscripts included are glossaries, chronicles, homilies, martyrologies, Church laws, Church histories, rules, gospels, prayers, grammars, lives, wills, handbooks, glosses, and laws.

The catalog includes manuscripts of Boethius, Bede, and AElfric.

The catalog provides summary descriptions of manuscripts in the Lambeth Palace Library: 1222-1860. The manuscripts date from the 10th century to the 19th century. The manuscripts are in Latin, Greek, English, Scottish, and French.

The collection includes Bibles, registers (Shanghai China), papers, statutes, poems, photographs, sermons, and letters.

The catalog lists summary descriptions of manuscripts in Lambeth Palace Library: 2341-2689 and 2751-3119. The manuscripts (letters, sermons, photographs, papers, diaries, journals, postcards, and registers) date from the 13th century to the 20th century.

The collection includes manuscripts concerning the divorce of Catherine of Arragon, the Council of Trent, Ancient Monuments (Churches) Committee, and Confraternity of the Blessed Sacrament. The registers concern the baptisms and marriages in Mesopotamia (Iraq) 1883-1972 and Atbara (Sudan) 1937-1953.

The collection also contains the papers of individuals such as Athelstan Riley, Revd. William Jocelyn Palmer, Richard Bertie, Arthur Cayley Headlam, Revd. John Mason Neale, Mauurice Bernays, William Ewart Gladstone, Roundell Palmer, Revd. Edwin Palmer, Sir George Lee, Dr. John Lee, and William Wake.

The catalog lists the British Museum's Harleian manuscripts; the manuscripts are in Greek, Latin, Hebrew, Chaldee, Arabic, English, French, German, Low Dutch, Armenian, Russian, and Saxon. The manuscripts date from the 8th century to the 18th century. The catalog consists of three volumes while the fourth volume consists of four indexes (names of persons, names of places, subject matter, and a general index).

Examples of manuscripts include Gospels, Bibles, Biblical Books, Psalters, Talmuds, Cabbalas, sermons and homilies of Church Fathers, liturgies, missals, breviaries, Books of Hours, lectionaries, martyrologies, lives of saints, hymns, litanies, prayers, histories, chronicles, letters, journals, statutes, charters, registers, genealogies, chartularies, lexicons, glossaries, dictionaries, chorographies, poems, ballads, and essays.

The manuscripts cover subjects such as liturgy, theology, religion, Patristics, Church history (councils, canons, and Popes), antiquities, topographical description of Britain and Wales, history (civil and ecclesiastical), law, ceremonials, Greek and Latin Classics, literature, music, architecture, geometry, ship-building, military affairs, natural history, philosophy, agriculture, travels, astronomy, geography, chemistry, medicine, and illuminations.

The catalog lists manuscripts in languages such as Latin, Armenian, Turkish, Arabic, Persian, and Hebrew. The manuscripts date from the 12th century to the 15th century. The catalog also lists Balliol manuscripts which are located in other libraries.

The catalog (4 volumes) lists Spanish manuscripts, letters, and state papers in the British Library's collection. These manuscripts date from the 15th century to the 19th century.

Volume 1 covers manuscripts in theology, Belles-Lettres, and the history of Spain. Volume 2 covers manuscripts concerning the history of Spain, works relating to Asia, Africa, and America, Spanish settlements in America, and a supplement. Volume 3 covers manuscripts concerning the history of Spain. Volume 4 covers manuscripts concerning the history of Spain, works relating to Asia, Africa, and America, Spanish settlements in America, and an appendix.

Handlist 2 lists Middle English manuscripts in John Rylands University Library and Chetham’s Library in Manchester, England. These manuscripts date from 1100 to 1500.

Handlist 8 lists manuscripts found in Oxford college libraries.
The manuscripts date from 1100 to 1500.

The four volumes list medieval manuscripts (before 1500) in Latin and Western European languages (English, French, Italian, German, Netherlandish, and Welsh) found in British libraries.

The catalog lists Greek and Oriental medieval manuscripts of Keeble College. The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Arabic, Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Italian, Pashto, Persian, Samaritan, and Turkish. The manuscripts date from the 12th to the 16th century.

Types of manuscripts in the collection include horae, meditations, Bibles, homilies, missals, breviaries, prayers, rules, sermons, liturgies, martyrologies, Old Testament, and New Testament.

The catalog lists manuscripts in the Bodleian Library; these manuscripts date from the 5th century to the 19th century. The manuscripts are in Greek, Latin, English, Old English, Middle English, Arabic, Persian, Turkish, Welsh, Irish, and Italian.

These manuscripts cover subjects such as theology, liturgy, Church history, Greek literature, Latin literature, English literature, foreign literature (French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Russian), history, British topography, foreign topography, colonial topography, medicine, astrology, astronomy, mathematics, architecture, and music.

Examples of manuscripts in the Bodleian Library include Bibles, biblical glosses, Psalters, Books of Hours, penitentials, statutes, decrees, registers, chronicles, letters, papers, poetry, and journals.

The Union World Catalog (six volumes) lists collections of manuscript books in countries including the United States, Canada, Cuba, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Spain, and Portugal. The section for the United States is organized by state while the sections on other European countries, Africa, and Asia are organized by country.

Volume 1 lists collections of manuscript books for the United States, Canada, Cuba, South America, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Other European Countries, Africa, and Asia. Volume 2 lists public collections of manuscript books in Spain and Portugal and 8 Spanish collections. Volume 3 lists printed catalogs of manuscript books. The list is arranged alphabetically by the name of the city or town of a country.

Volume 4 lists Arabic manuscripts and fragments in the Princeton University Library. Volume 5 is a supplement to volume 2: manuscript book collections of Spain and Portugal. The first section consists of 19 Spanish collections; these manuscripts are in Latin, Portuguese, French, Italian, and Spanish. The section section is the cumulated author list.

The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) maintains the Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts, a database which provides links to medieval manuscripts available electronically.

These manuscripts are from libraries and universities in countries such as Australia, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Poland, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, United States, and Wales.

The languages of these manuscripts include Anglo-Norman, Arabic, Armenian, Catalan, Cornish, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Latin, Middle English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, High German, Irish, Italian, Middle Cornish, Middle Dutch, Middle French, Middle Irish, Middle High German, Old English, Old French, Old Old Irish, Old Latin, Persian, Polish, Spanish, and Welsh.

It is possible to browse by languages, title, author, shelfmark, and location.

Missale Aboense is a missal in the style of Dominican liturgy for Finland and dates from the 15th century. To view images of the missal, click on "Sivu 1" and use the arrows at the top to see the next image. You can zoom in, by clicking on the image.

The collection of the Åbo Akademis bibliotek at Åbo Akademi University consists of manuscripts relating to the personal and cultural history of Finland (emigrant letters and wartime letters) in languages such as Finnish and Swedish. The library has the manuscripts of authors such as Hagar Olsson, Gunnar Björling, Tove Jansson, Jörn Donner, and Lars Huldén.

The library provides complete digital facsimiles of three liturgical manuscripts on the website, Tammelahandskrifterna: Antiphonarium Tammelense, Graduale Tammelense, and Liber Ecclesiae Tammelensis. The text of the website is in Finnish but it should be easy to find the digital images of the manuscripts.

The National Library of Finland consists of multiples collections including manuscripts (histories of Finnish culture, music, education, and the University of Helsinki). The archives of Finnish individuals and communities are a part of the manuscript collection as well.

The manuscript collection includes oriental manuscripts (languages such as Arabic, Persian, and Turkish) and papyri, mediaeval parchment fragments (masses, Catholic Church ceremonies, hymns, canonical hours, and fragments of legal and philosophical texts), Slavonic manuscripts and private archives, photographs, and music manuscripts. The mediaeval parchment fragments are in Latin.

The Manuscripts Department at BnF - National Library of France consists of the history of manuscripts, languages and linguistics, literature, illuminated and painted manuscripts, music, orient and eastern collections: manuscripts, tools and sources for genealogy and local history, philosophy, religion, and theater (writings, stage production, and broadcasting).

The manuscripts are organized by language (Greek, Latin, French and other European languages, Arabic, Coptic, Ethiopian, Hebrew, Persian, Turkish, Near- and Middle-Eastern languages, Chinese, Japanese, Tibetan, Sanskrit, Indian languages, and Vietnamese) or by content (collections of learned materials, Library Archives, and French provinces).

It is possible to search for manuscripts in the catalog, BnF catalog gallica bibliotheque numerique, by clicking on “leaf through” in a record from the list of results, a new window opens up with the digitalized version of the manuscript.

Mandragore, base des manuscrits enluminés de la BnF is the Manuscripts Department’s database of iconographic materials. The database is in French but the Recherche page contains search boxes for manuscripts and images.

The website is in French. Archives Nationales holds medieval documents. The Instruments de recherche page (under Fonds d'archives) lists inventories and directories avaialble online as well as databases. Documents en ligne (also under Fonds d'archives) lists online documents concerning French history such as World war II (internal resistance, external resistance, and Free France) and maps of Paris.

The catalog lists literary manuscripts (Beowulf) and fragments written in Old English and Latin before 1200.

These manuscripts are located in England, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, France, United States (Collection of William H. Scheide), Italy, and Sweden. The catalog contains an appendix of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts copied by foreign scribes which provides a description and the library which has the manuscript.

The types of manuscripts included are glossaries, chronicles, homilies, martyrologies, Church laws, Church histories, rules, gospels, prayers, grammars, lives, wills, handbooks, glosses, and laws.

The catalog includes manuscripts of Boethius, Bede, and AElfric.

The catalog (in French) lists manuscripts found in the National Archives of France.

The catalog (seven volumes) lists medieval and modern manuscripts in Latin; the catalog is in French. The manuscripts date from the 9th century to the 16th century. The manuscripts are in Latin, Greek, and French.

This catalog is continued by the monographic series, Manuscrits Datés des Bibliothèques de France.

The catalog lists Spanish and Portuguese manuscripts in the Bibliotheque Nationale. The manuscripts date from the 14th century to the 19th century. The manuscripts are organized by language: Catalogue des Manuscrits Espagnols and Catalogue des Manuscrits Portugais. The Spanish manuscripts represent subjects such as theology, jurisprudence, sciences, arts, and history.

The catalog (in French) lists manuscripts in Latin, French, Greek, and Spanish in the Bibliotheque Nationale.

The catalog (in French) lists manuscripts in library collections at the University of Paris.

The catalog (in French) lists manuscripts in French libraries.

The catalog lists manuscripts (ancient and new) in the Department of Manuscripts at the Bibliotheque Nationale. The manuscripts are in Latin and French. The manuscripts date from the 11th century to the 18th century. The collection includes authors such as Aristotle and Ovid.

The catalog (in French) lists manuscripts in Latin in the Department of Manuscripts at the Bibliotheque Nationale.

Handlist 7 lists Middle English manuscripts found in Parisian libraries. The manuscripts date from 1100 to 1500.

The volumes list Latin manuscripts (Psalters and Books of Hours) in the Bibliothèque Nationale. The manuscripts date from the 13th century to the 16th century. The first volume contains a lengthy introduction in French about Books of Hours.

The volumes list Papal manuscripts held by public libraries in France. The manuscripts, in Latin, date from the 11th century to the 16th century. The first volume contains a lengthy introduction on Papal manuscripts (in French).

The two volumes (in French) list medieval and modern Latin manuscripts in French public libraries. The Psalters date from the 6th century to the 18th century. A lengthy introduction to Psalters is included in the first volume.

The volumes lists manuscripts, sacramentaries and missals, located in French public libraries. The manuscripts, in Latin, date from the 7th century to the 12th century. The first volume contains an introduction to sacramentaries and missals in French.

The Union World Catalog (six volumes) lists collections of manuscript books in countries including the United States, Canada, Cuba, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Spain, and Portugal. The section for the United States is organized by state while the sections on other European countries, Africa, and Asia are organized by country.

Volume 1 lists collections of manuscript books for the United States, Canada, Cuba, South America, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Other European Countries, Africa, and Asia. Volume 2 lists public collections of manuscript books in Spain and Portugal and 8 Spanish collections. Volume 3 lists printed catalogs of manuscript books. The list is arranged alphabetically by the name of the city or town of a country.

Volume 4 lists Arabic manuscripts and fragments in the Princeton University Library. Volume 5 is a supplement to volume 2: manuscript book collections of Spain and Portugal. The first section consists of 19 Spanish collections; these manuscripts are in Latin, Portuguese, French, Italian, and Spanish. The section section is the cumulated author list.

The Bavarian State Library holds manuscripts and fragments in German, English, French, Greek, Italian, Latin, Spanish, Portuguese, Slavic, Danish, Estonian, Islandic, Norwegian, Rhaeto-Romanic, Rumanian, Swedish, Hungarian, Arabic, Armenian, Hebrew, Syrian, and Chinese. The collection includes manuscripts in African and Asian languages. The library also holds modern papers and autographs from the 15th century to the 21st century. These manuscripts date from the 8th century to the 21st century.

The Department of Manuscripts and Early Printed Books has collections of block books, incunabula, libri selecti, covers, broadsides, exlibris, and icones.

The library has collection strengths in Classical Studies, Bavaria, Biological Sciences / Medicine, History, Library Science, Book Studies and Information Science, Music, History of France and Italy, Orient, Eastern Asia, and Eastern Europe. Most of the descriptions of the collection strengths are accompanied by a link to a subject portal.

Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum (MDZ) at the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library) provides access to digitized manuscripts, early prints, modern books, maps, photographs, journals, and newspapers in the library's special collections (history, classical antiquity, Eastern Europe, and musicology).

To view all of the digitized manuscripts (over 3,000) go to "Browsing Index" (under "Digital Collections") and select "Manuscripts" from the drop down menu.

To browse by language: go to "Browsing Index", click on "Subcategories", select "Greek" or "Latin" (under "Philologia (Philology)").

MDZ is currently working on a project focusing on royal renaissance and medieval manuscripts: Europeana regia: a digital collaborative library of royal manuscripts in Medieval and Renaissance Europe - Handschriften der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek. To view other digital collections, see Brief Overview.

The Saxon State and University Library Dresden's collection includes medieval codices and manuscripts and manuscripts from the early modern age and the modern age in German and other languages (Latin, Greek, etc.). The collection focuses on manuscripts from the 16th to the 19th century. The collection is strong in Saxony chronicles, regional history, literary works, biographical and genealogical minutes, literature of the Saxon Court and Nobility, and letters.

The manuscript collection contains the Maya manuscript (Codex Dresdensis), Sachsenspiegel, Machsor mecholl haschana, Codex Boernerianus, and Dresden Corvinas. All five manuscripts have been digitized.

The Search and Order Autographs and Manuscripts page lists online and print catalogs.

The Digital Collections page lists its digital collections by subject area (in German): Handschriften, Drucke des 15. Jahrhunderts, Drucke des 16. Jahrhunderts, Drucke des 17. Jahrhunderts, Drucke des 18. Jahrhunderts, Karten und Ansichten, Musik, Saxonica, Technikgeschichte, Varia, Virtuelle Schatzkammer, and Zeitgenössische Kunst.

The University Library's collection at University of Heidelberg includes more than 6,000 manuscripts in German and other languages such as Greek, Latin and Persian. Examples of manuscripts in the library's collection are the Codex Manesse (Große Heidelberger Liederhandschrift), Codices Palatini, and Codices Heidelbergenses Orientales.

Manuscripts – digitized provides access to select Bibliotheca Palatina manuscripts (Codex Manesse, Sachsenspiegel, illuminated manuscripts from Upper Germany, and medical manuscripts), Codices Salemitani, Codices Heidelbergenses, and Codices Heidelbergenses Orientales.

The catalog lists literary manuscripts (Beowulf) and fragments written in Old English and Latin before 1200.

These manuscripts are located in England, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, France, United States (Collection of William H. Scheide), Italy and Sweden. The catalog contains an appendix of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts copied by foreign scribes which provides a description and the library which has the manuscript.

The types of manuscripts included are glossaries, chronicles, homilies, martyrologies, Church laws, Church histories, rules, gospels, prayers, grammars, lives, wills, handbooks, glosses, and laws.

The catalog includes manuscripts of Boethius, Bede, and AElfric.

The catalog (in German) lists Latin manuscripts in the Hamilton Collection in Berlin, Germany. The catalog includes three indices: initia operum, initia carminum, and index nominum et rerum.

The Union World Catalog (six volumes) lists collections of manuscript books in countries including the United States, Canada, Cuba, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Spain, and Portugal. The section for the United States is organized by state while the sections on other European countries, Africa, and Asia are organized by country.

Volume 1 lists collections of manuscript books for the United States, Canada, Cuba, South America, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Other European Countries, Africa, and Asia. Volume 2 lists public collections of manuscript books in Spain and Portugal and 8 Spanish collections. Volume 3 lists printed catalogs of manuscript books. The list is arranged alphabetically by the name of the city or town of a country.

Volume 4 lists Arabic manuscripts and fragments in the Princeton University Library. Volume 5 is a supplement to volume 2: manuscript book collections of Spain and Portugal. The first section consists of 19 Spanish collections; these manuscripts are in Latin, Portuguese, French, Italian, and Spanish. The second section is the cumulated author list.

The website provides access to Icelandic manuscripts, in particular the Icelandic Sagas. These manuscripts are from the 13th century to the 19th century. The manuscripts have been completely digitized.

It is possible to browse or search the Icelandic Sagas; two types of search interfaces are available (simple and combined). A subject heading list is also provided.

The seven volumes are facsimiles of Icelandic manuscripts. Volume 1 contains The Arna-Magnæan manuscript 551A, 4to: Bardar saga, Viglunder saga, Grettis saga. Volume 2 contains The saga manuscript 2845, 4to in the Old Royal Collection in the Royal Library of Copenhagen. Volume 3 contains The saga manuscript 9. 10. Aug. 4to in the Herzog August Library, Wolfenbüttel. Volume 4 contains The Arna-Magnæan manuscript 674A, 4to: Elucidarius. Volume 5 contains The Arna-Magnæan manuscripts 371, 4to, 544, 4to, and 675, 4to: Hauksbók. Volume 6 contains The Arna-Magnæan manuscript 468, 4to: Njáls saga (Reykjabók). Volume 7 contains The Arna-Magnæan manuscript 519A, 4to: Alexanders saga.

The National Library of Ireland's collection includes manuscripts concerning Ireland or written by Irish people (in Ireland and overseas) and covers subjects such as the history of Irish civilization, landed estate records, maps, political, social and economic papers, and papers relating to language, literature, art, music and architecture. The manuscripts date from the 1000s to the present.

The collection of manuscripts includes special collections: Gaelic Manuscripts, Political Interest, Social, Economic and Labour History, Women's History, Other Collections (military, music, art and architecture), Landed Estate Papers and Deeds, Literature, Theatre, Manuscripts on Microfilm, and Manuscript Maps.

The Catalogues and Databases page lists a database (Sources: A National Library of Ireland Database for Irish Research), printed catalogs available in the Manuscripts Reading Room, and links to catalogs available online or as a PDF.

Digital Library provides a link to Irish Script on Screen (ISOS) which provides access to digitized manuscripts in the National Library of Ireland's collection as well as in other collections. The Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies maintains ISOS.

The handlist lists Latin manuscripts on music and liturgy held in collections at libraries of Great Britain and Ireland.

The catalog (2 volumes) lists Gaelic manuscripts held by libraries in Great Britain and Ireland: National Library of Scotland, King's College Library at Aberdeen University, Glasgow University Library, and Edinburgh University Library. Volume 1 includes an Index of Initia while Volume 2 is an Index to Notes on Manuscripts.

The volumes list Irish manuscripts located in the National Library of Ireland's collection. These manuscripts date from the 14th to the 19th century.

The catalog lists literary manuscripts (Beowulf) and fragments written in Old English and Latin before 1200.

These manuscripts are located in England, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, France, United States (Collection of William H. Scheide), Italy, and Sweden. The catalog contains an appendix of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts copied by foreign scribes which provides a description and the library which has the manuscript.

The types of manuscripts included are glossaries, chronicles, homilies, martyrologies, Church laws, Church histories, rules, gospels, prayers, grammars, lives, wills, handbooks, glosses, and laws.

The catalog includes manuscripts of Boethius, Bede, and AElfric.

The book contains a section on manuscripts and archives for Irish literature. The section contains a discussion of archives, best practices for archival research, and the British Library. The section includes a list of print and online resources for locating archives and manuscripts; descriptions of the resources follow the list. This section also contains a list on websites for locating archives and manuscripts; descriptions of the resources follow the list.

The Union World Catalog (six volumes) lists collections of manuscript books in countries including the United States, Canada, Cuba, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Spain, and Portugal. The section for the United States is organized by state while the sections on other European countries, Africa, and Asia are organized by country.

Volume 1 lists collections of manuscript books for the United States, Canada, Cuba, South America, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Other European Countries, Africa, and Asia. Volume 2 lists public collections of manuscript books in Spain and Portugal and 8 Spanish collections. Volume 3 lists printed catalogs of manuscript books. The list is arranged alphabetically by the name of the city or town of a country.

Volume 4 lists Arabic manuscripts and fragments in the Princeton University Library. Volume 5 is a supplement to volume 2: manuscript book collections of Spain and Portugal. The first section consists of 19 Spanish collections; these manuscripts are in Latin, Portuguese, French, Italian, and Spanish. The section section is the cumulated author list.

Cardinal Federico Borromeo founded Biblioteca Ambrosiana, a research library, in 1609. The library's collection includes manuscripts in Greek, Latin, Irish, and oriental languages. The catalog for manoscritti (manuscripts) is available online.

The library's website is in Italian; information about the Biblioteca Ambrosiana is found under "Biblioteca".

The languages of the manuscripts (papyri codices, Byzantine miniatures, letters, and autographs) in the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana's collection include Latin, Greek, and Oriental. The collection consists of religious manuscripts (Gospels, other New Testament writings, and palimpsests) as well as secular manuscripts (Vergil and Terence).

The library provides a list of manuscript collections (Fondi Manoscritti) and unavailable manuscripts (Manoscritti non consultabili).

The Catalogue of Manuscripts is also online but not all of the records are complete. It is possible to
perform a simple search, advanced search, and indexes in the catalog. Searching advanced search has numerous options in drop down menu for “Field”. Searching indexes allows you to search by author, title, subject, shelfmark, incipit, and explicit, pick a particular collection, and type terms.

The catalog lists literary manuscripts (Beowulf) and fragments written in Old English and Latin before 1200.

These manuscripts are located in England, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, France, United States (Collection of William H. Scheide), Italy, and Sweden. The catalog contains an appendix of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts copied by foreign scribes which provides a description and the library which has the manuscript.

The types of manuscripts included are glossaries, chronicles, homilies, martyrologies, Church laws, Church histories, rules, gospels, prayers, grammars, lives, wills, handbooks, glosses, and laws.

The catalog includes manuscripts of Boethius, Bede, and AElfric.

The first volume of the catalog focuses on early Christian literature in Greek manuscripts in Italy. The second volume concerns Greek literature, astronomy, and mathematics; this volume includes a general index. The catalog is in Italian.

Examples of manuscripts include Bibles, Psalters, commentaries on biblical books, sermons, homilies, lives of saints (Vita et Politia Divorvm Cosmi et Damiani), scholia, histories, and commentaries on Greek authors.

The catalog include the works of individuals such as Gregory of Nyssa, Gregory Nazianzen, John Chrysostom, John of Damascus, Aeschylus, Lycophron, Sophocles, Pindar, Homer, Plutarch, Demosthenes, Aristotle, and Plato.

The book lists Greek manuscripts in the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana (Vatican Library). The library of the Barberini family became a part of the Vatican Library in 1902. The manuscripts date from the 10th century to the 17th century. Tome I lists Codices 1-163.

The volumes lists codices in the Bibliotheca Apostolica Vaticana's collection. Tome 1 describes codices 1-425 while tome 2 describes codices 426-736. Tome 3 describes codices 737-977.

The Bibliotheca Apostolica Vaticana's collection includes medieval and modern Latin manuscripts. The manuscripts date from the 9th century to the 16th century. Tome 1 describes codices 1-250 while Tome 2 describes codices 251-500.

The Bibliotheca Apostolica Vaticana's collection includes numerous Greek codices from the 8th century to the 16th century. The volumes describe the following codices 604-866, 1485-1962, and 2162-2254.

The Bibliotheca Apostolica Vaticana's collection includes numerous Latin codices. The volumes describe the following manuscripts 679-1134, 1135-1266, 2118-2192, 11266-11326, and 11414-11709.

Volume 1 contains descriptions of Greek manuscripts in Italian libraries while Volume 2 contains plates of manuscripts described in the first volume. These manuscripts are dated to the 13th and 14th centuries.

The volumes contain a finding aid for for uncatalogued or incompletely renaissance manuscripts in libraries in countries such as Italy, Spain, Great Britain, Germany, Australia, Sweden, and Yugoslavia.

The catalog (in French) lists Latin manuscripts held by the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana (Vatican Library). The manuscripts date from the 9th century to the 15th century.

The following fonds appear in the catalog: Archivio Di San Pietro, Barberini, Boncompagni Ludovisi, Borghese, Capponi, Chigi, Ferrajoli, and Ottoboni. Each fonds begins with an introduction.

The Union World Catalog (six volumes) lists collections of manuscript books in countries including the United States, Canada, Cuba, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Spain, and Portugal. The section for the United States is organized by state while the sections on other European countries, Africa, and Asia are organized by country.

Volume 1 lists collections of manuscript books for the United States, Canada, Cuba, South America, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Other European Countries, Africa, and Asia. Volume 2 lists public collections of manuscript books in Spain and Portugal and 8 Spanish collections. Volume 3 lists printed catalogs of manuscript books. The list is arranged alphabetically by the name of the city or town of a country.

Volume 4 lists Arabic manuscripts and fragments in the Princeton University Library. Volume 5 is a supplement to volume 2: manuscript book collections of Spain and Portugal. The first section consists of 19 Spanish collections; these manuscripts are in Latin, Portuguese, French, Italian, and Spanish. The section section is the cumulated author list.

Koninklijke Bibliotheek's collection includes manuscripts; for example, the library's Special Collections contains Medieval manuscripts (until c. 1500), Modern manuscripts (from c. 1500), and Personal collections. The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin.

Medieval manuscripts (until c. 1500) contains Illuminated manuscripts, Liturgical manuscripts, and Middle Dutch manuscripts. Modern manuscripts (from c. 1500) consists of Alba amicorum, Letters, Bogaers, Cornets de Groot, Cremer, Cuper, Huygens, Immerzeel, Marsman, Kloos / Nieuwe gids, Perk, Pijper, Schoemaker, Sierksma, Tollens, Toorop, Te Winkel, and Witsen.

Personal collections includes papers, drawings, manuscripts, etc. of Achterberg, Bilderdijk, Boutens, Cornets de Groot, Couperus, Cremer, Cuper, Du Perron, Huygens, Kloos / Nieuwe gids, Koopman, Marsman, Perk, Pijper, Schoemaker, Sierksma, Tollens, Toorop, Te Winkel, and Witsen.

Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts is a database of illuminations in manuscripts. The database can be browsed by subject in several languages: German, French, and English.

The catalog lists literary manuscripts (Beowulf) and fragments written in Old English and Latin before 1200.

These manuscripts are located in England, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, France, United States (Collection of William H. Scheide), Italy, and Sweden. The catalog contains an appendix of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts copied by foreign scribes which provides a description and the library which has the manuscript.

The types of manuscripts included are glossaries, chronicles, homilies, martyrologies, Church laws, Church histories, rules, gospels, prayers, grammars, lives, wills, handbooks, glosses, and laws.

The catalog includes manuscripts of Boethius, Bede, and AElfric.

The manuscript codices in the Vossiani collection are organized by language (Latin, Greek, and German-French). The Latin manuscript codices date from the 12th to the 19th century. Volume 13 lists Latin manuscript codices in folio. Volume 14 lists Latin manuscript codices in quarto while volume 15 lists Latin manuscript codices in octavo. Volume 16 contains the indexes.

The catalog is an union catalog of Netherlands and lists medieval and modern manuscripts in Latin. The manuscripts date from the 9th century to the 16th century. The catalog is in French.

The Norwegian version of the website is comprehensive unlike the English version.

Additional information about the manuscripts collection is found on the Håndskrifter page. The National Library of Norway's manuscript collection consists of manuscripts from the Middle Ages to the present. The collection also includes papers of 19th and 20th century Norwegian poets, painters, musicians, scientists, and politicians. The online catalog contains records for materials added to the collection since 1997.

The Schøyen Collection is a private collection, located in Oslo, Norway and London; Martin Schøyen started the collection in the 20th century. The collection includes more than 13,000 manuscripts representing 134 countries and territories, 120 languages, and 184 scripts. Descriptions of 740 manuscripts are available on the website.

The collection includes manuscripts representing 5,000 years and subjects such as the Bible, history, literature, palaeography, patristic literature, liturgy, music, law, mathematics, magical literature, calendars and almanacs, Dead Sea Scrolls, papyri and ostraca, bindings, seals, apocryphal literature, Nordic countries, dictionaries and lexical texts, China, pre-Gutenberg printing, Buddhism, living and extinct religions, architecture, prayer books, historical and literary letters, legends, children's literature and fairy tales, library catalogues, maps, marine life, medical texts, lives of the saints, Roman military diplomas, ships and shipbuilding, slavery, weight and measures, and literature by female authors.

Researchers are welcome to visit the collection and to publish their research.

Biblioteka Narodowa's collection includes manuscripts (Rękopisy) such as papyri, Novum Testamentum (8th century), and Code Suprasl. The manuscripts mostly deal with Polish history, culture, life, literature, and affairs and are in Polish as well as other languages (Latin, Italian, French, and German). The website in Polish consists of additional web pages than the website in English.

The National Digital Library provides descriptions and some images of manuscripts; these manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Polish, Italian, French, and German and cover subjects such as Polish culture, life, and history, maps, literature, and religion.

The Manuscript Department at the National Library of Russia organizes its manuscripts into Greek manuscripts, Old Russian and South Slavonic manuscript books, Oriental manuscripts (Persian, Arabic, and Turkish), Western manuscripts (Latin, French, German, Spanish, Italian and other European languages), early Russian deeds of the 13th to the 19th centuries, manuscript maps, manuscript music, Russian Archive collection of the 18th to 20th centuries, and Plekhanov House collection.

The manuscripts date from the 10th century B.C. to the 21st century A.D. The collection of Western manuscripts includes documents relating to American history; these documents contain the autographs of Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, and John Quincy Adams.

The Russian State Library holds a collection of manuscripts which date from the 6th century to the 21st century. These manuscripts are in languages such as ancient Russian, ancient Greek, Latin, Slavic, Asian, and African. The manuscripts are from the archives of families, governments, Church, private institutions, and public organizations; these manuscripts cover religious and secular subject areas.

Manuscripts from the 19th century to 21st century (in Russian and foreign languages) cover subjects such as literary studies, linguistics, theology, philosophy, bibliology, and art.

The Digital Library consists of several collections: dissertations, universal collection, early printed books, and music scores collection. The collection of early printed books, books printed before 1830, includes acts, statutes, tariffs, statistics records, geographic and topographic descriptions of regions, annals, treaties, and books of heraldry.

The two volumes list Latin manuscripts in the Imperial Library of St. Petersburg's collection. These manuscripts date from the 5th century to the 13th century.

The library's collection consists of more than 100,000 manuscripts relating to Scottish history, life, poetry, politics, and abroad (exploration, missionary work, study, travel, emigration, and tourism) from the 17th century to the present. The Guide to Manuscript Collections lists manuscript collections; some of the manuscripts have a link to the inventory as a PDF file.

The Digital Gallery contains links to digitized manuscripts in the National Library of Scotland's collection: The Auchinleck Manuscript and The Murthly Hours. The Auchinleck Manuscript was created in London (14th century); the website provides a transcription and a digitized version of the manuscript (click on the icon that looks like a scroll to view the digitized version). The Murthly Hours was written and illuminated in Paris (13th century) and contains full-page miniatures by English artists; the manuscript has been digitized.

The National Library of Spain's collection contains 1600 medieval codices which includes Greek manuscripts. The Catálogo de los códices griegos de la Biblioteca Nacional (Catalogue of Greek codices) is available electronically as a PDF. The catalog is online as well.

The National Library of Spain has also acquired numerous personal libraries such as Juan Fernández de Velasco, Juan Isidro Yañez Fajardo, Andrés González de Barcia, Juan Alfonso de Guerra y Sandoval, Antonio López de Zúñiga, J.N. Böhl de Faber, Agustín Durán, Serafín Estébanez Calderón, Pedro Caro y Sureda, Marquis of Santillana, Pascual de Gayangos, Luis Usoz y Rio, and Jorge Guillén.

The Library also has manuscripts and papers from the Dominican Convent of Santo Tomás, Convent of San Vicente Ferrer, Andrés Marcos Burriel, Toledo Chapter Library (Biblioteca Capitular de Toledo), Francisco Asenjo Barbieri, José Amador de los Río, Narciso Campillo, Fundación Juan March, Benito Pérez Galdós, Jardiel Poncela, Santiago Ramón y Cajal, Adriano del Valle, Alfonso Paso, Antonio Machado, Rafael Alberti, de Celestino, Juan Antonio and José María Espinosa, Echevarría, and Manuel Gil Gala, Ricardo and Leopoldo Gutiérrez Abascal, Darío Regoyo, José Ruiz Castillo, Julián Besteiro, Emilio Castelar, Juana de Ibarburu, and Giménez Caballero.

The Cantigas de Santa Maria contains facsimiles of medieval manuscripts (To Codex and E Codex) from the 13th century. Cantigas are monophonic (solo) songs; Greg Lindahl maintains this website.

The catalog provides descriptions of Latin and Spanish manuscripts in the Cathedral of Valencia (Spain). The descriptions are in Spanish. The collection includes Bibles, commentaries on Books of the Bible, chronicles on Church Councils, constitutions, decrees, histories, homilies, missals, sermons, and lives of saints.

Volume 2 focuses on manuscripts in Spanish libraries, museums, and archives (Barcelona, Gerona, Huesca, Lerida, Madrid, Montserrat, Pamplona, Perelada, poblet, Seo de Urgel, Silos, Solsona, Tarazona, Tarragona, Tarrasa, Toledo, Tortosa, Vallbona de las Monjas, Vich, and Zaragoza).

The 8 volumes are a catalog of manuscripts in Biblioteca Nacional's collection; the catalog is in Spanish. The manuscripts date from the 11th century to the 18th century. The collection includes Bibles, homilies, sermons, histories, missals, breviaries, lives of saints, and commentaries. The manuscripts cover subjects such as the Council of Trent.

The Union World Catalog (six volumes) lists collections of manuscript books in countries including the United States, Canada, Cuba, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Spain, and Portugal. The section for the United States is organized by state while the sections on other European countries, Africa, and Asia are organized by country.

Volume 1 lists collections of manuscript books for the United States, Canada, Cuba, South America, Great Britain, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Other European Countries, Africa, and Asia. Volume 2 lists public collections of manuscript books in Spain and Portugal and 8 Spanish collections. Volume 3 lists printed catalogs of manuscript books. The list is arranged alphabetically by the name of the city or town of a country.

Volume 4 lists Arabic manuscripts and fragments in the Princeton University Library. Volume 5 is a supplement to volume 2: manuscript book collections of Spain and Portugal. The first section consists of 19 Spanish collections; these manuscripts are in Latin, Portuguese, French, Italian, and Spanish. The section section is the cumulated author list.

The National Library of Sweden's collection consists of manuscripts (4th century B.C. papyri to medieval manuscripts to the present) in languages such as Swedish, Old Swedish, Old Icelandic, Old Norwegian, and Latin. The manuscripts relate to Swedish life, history, and literature.

The Codex Gigas (contains the Bible, Flavius Josephus's The Antiquities and The Jewish War, Isidore's Encyclopaedia, medical works, and Cosmas' Chronicle of Bohemia) has been digitized.

The catalog lists literary manuscripts (Beowulf) and fragments written in Old English and Latin before 1200.

These manuscripts are located in England (Cambridge University Library, Corpus Christi College, Trinity College, Canterbury Cathedral, British Museum, Bodleian Library, and St. John's College), Belgium (Bibliothèque Royale de Belgique - the Royal Library of Belgium), Denmark (Det Kongelige Bibliotek - The Royal Library), Germany (Sachsische Landesbibliothek -The Saxon State Library), Ireland (Trinity College), Netherlands (Koninklijke Bibliotheek - National Library of the Netherlands), France (Bibliotheque Nationale de France - National Library of France), United States (Collection of William H. Scheide), Italy (Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana - Vatican Library), and Sweden (Kungl. Bibliotek - National Library of Sweden). The catalog contains an appendix of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts copied by foreign scribes which provides a description and the library which has the manuscript.

The types of manuscripts included are glossaries, chronicles, homilies, martyrologies, Church laws, Church histories, rules, gospels, prayers, grammars, lives, wills, handbooks, glosses, and laws.

The catalog includes manuscripts of Boethius, Bede, and AElfric.

The library's collection focuses on Swiss literature, musical documents, official publications, geographical maps, grey literature, serials, annual publications, and manuscripts.

The special collections includes The Lüthi Bible Collection; the collection consists of 5,000 Bibles in 450 languages.

e-codices Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland provides access to digitized medieval and early modern manuscripts in Switzerland (more than 700 manuscripts). The manuscripts date from the 4th century to the 18th century and are on materials such as papyri, parchment, and paper.

e-rara.ch provides access to Swizz prints from the 15th to the 18th centuries from Swiss libraries: Bibliothèque de Genève, ETH-Bibliothek Zurich, University Library of Basel, University Library of Bern, Zurich Central Library, BPU Neuchâtel, Bibliothèque des Pasteurs, BCU Lausanne, BCU Fribourg, Foundation of the Works of C.G.Jung, and Biblioteca Salita dei Frati.

e-rara.ch also provides access to other collections such as Natural Sciences, Miscellaneous, Mathematics and Physics, 17th century Italian poetry, Bibleikon (Bibles date from the sixteenth to the nineteenth centuries), 18th and 19th century Bernensia, Astronomy, Architecture and Urbanism, and Alchemy, Magic and Kabbalah.

The catalog lists medieval and modern manuscripts in Switzerland; these manuscripts are in Latin. The manuscripts date from the 9th century to the 16th century.

The National Library of Wales' collection includes manuscripts, archives, books, maps, pictures, photographs, films, music, and electronic information. The collection focus is on Wales and Celtic nations. The manuscripts date from the 2nd century A.D. to the present; the manuscripts are on materials such as paper, vellum, papyri, leaves, and slate. The manuscripts are in languages such as Welsh, English, Latin, French, and Cornish. The library's manuscripts are organized into two categories: general collections (NLW Manuscript Series, NLW ex series of Manuscripts, and NLW Rolls) and special collections (Peniarth, Cwrtmawr, and Llanstephan).

The Digital Mirror provides digitized manuscripts which are organized by time period (Early Ages, Middle Ages, Early Modern Period, and Modern Period). To view a manuscript click on "View the manuscript" which appears on the manuscript description page. Examples of digitized manuscripts are The Book of Llandaff, Bede’s De natura rerum, The Black Book of Carmarthen, The Book of Taliesin, Laws of Hywel Dda, The Hendregadredd Manuscript, Chronicle of the Princes, Llanbeblig Book of Hours, Medieval Astronomy, The White Book of Rhydderch, Piers Plowman, A Gutun Owain, The Black Book of Basingwerk, and The De Grey Hours.

Handlist 14 lists Middle English manuscripts found in the National Library of Wales. The manuscripts date from 1100 to 1500.