The Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts. The manuscripts are in Anglo-Norman, Arabic, Aramaic, Catalan, Czech, Dutch, English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Occitan, Rhenish, Spanish, and Welsh. It is possible to browse by location, shelfmark, author, title, scribe, artist, and languages. The University of California, Berkeley maintains this database.

The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) maintains the Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts, a database which provides links to medieval manuscripts available electronically.

These manuscripts are from libraries and universities in countries such as Australia, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Poland, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, United States, and Wales.

The languages of these manuscripts include Anglo-Norman, Arabic, Armenian, Catalan, Cornish, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Latin, Middle English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, High German, Irish, Italian, Middle Cornish, Middle Dutch, Middle French, Middle Irish, Middle High German, Old English, Old French, Old Old Irish, Old Latin, Persian, Polish, Spanish, and Welsh.

It is possible to browse by languages, title, author, shelfmark, and location.

The Manuscripts Department at BnF - National Library of France consists of the history of manuscripts, languages and linguistics, literature, illuminated and painted manuscripts, music, orient and eastern collections: manuscripts, tools and sources for genealogy and local history, philosophy, religion, and theater (writings, stage production, and broadcasting).

The manuscripts are organized by language (Greek, Latin, French and other European languages, Arabic, Coptic, Ethiopian, Hebrew, Persian, Turkish, Near- and Middle-Eastern languages, Chinese, Japanese, Tibetan, Sanskrit, Indian languages, and Vietnamese) or by content (collections of learned materials, Library Archives, and French provinces).

It is possible to search for manuscripts in the catalog, BnF catalog gallica bibliotheque numerique, by clicking on “leaf through” in a record from the list of results, a new window opens up with the digitalized version of the manuscript.

Mandragore, base des manuscrits enluminés de la BnF is the Manuscripts Department’s database of iconographic materials. The database is in French but the Recherche page contains search boxes for manuscripts and images.

The Bavarian State Library holds manuscripts and fragments in German, English, French, Greek, Italian, Latin, Spanish, Portuguese, Slavic, Danish, Estonian, Islandic, Norwegian, Rhaeto-Romanic, Rumanian, Swedish, Hungarian, Arabic, Armenian, Hebrew, Syrian, and Chinese. The collection includes manuscripts in African and Asian languages. The library also holds modern papers and autographs from the 15th century to the 21st century. These manuscripts date from the 8th century to the 21st century.

The Department of Manuscripts and Early Printed Books has collections of block books, incunabula, libri selecti, covers, broadsides, exlibris, and icones.

The library has collection strengths in Classical Studies, Bavaria, Biological Sciences / Medicine, History, Library Science, Book Studies and Information Science, Music, History of France and Italy, Orient, Eastern Asia, and Eastern Europe. Most of the descriptions of the collection strengths are accompanied by a link to a subject portal.

Cardinal Federico Borromeo founded Biblioteca Ambrosiana, a research library, in 1609. The library's collection includes manuscripts in Greek, Latin, Irish, and oriental languages. The catalog for manoscritti (manuscripts) is available online.

The library's website is in Italian; information about the Biblioteca Ambrosiana is found under "Biblioteca".

The languages of the manuscripts (papyri codices, Byzantine miniatures, letters, and autographs) in the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana's collection include Latin, Greek, and Oriental. The collection consists of religious manuscripts (Gospels, other New Testament writings, and palimpsests) as well as secular manuscripts (Vergil and Terence).

The library provides a list of manuscript collections (Fondi Manoscritti) and unavailable manuscripts (Manoscritti non consultabili).

The Catalogue of Manuscripts is also online but not all of the records are complete. It is possible to
perform a simple search, advanced search, and indexes in the catalog. Searching advanced search has numerous options in drop down menu for “Field”. Searching indexes allows you to search by author, title, subject, shelfmark, incipit, and explicit, pick a particular collection, and type terms.

The National Library of Spain's collection contains 1600 medieval codices which includes Greek manuscripts. The Catálogo de los códices griegos de la Biblioteca Nacional (Catalogue of Greek codices) is available electronically as a PDF. The catalog is online as well.

The National Library of Spain has also acquired numerous personal libraries such as Juan Fernández de Velasco, Juan Isidro Yañez Fajardo, Andrés González de Barcia, Juan Alfonso de Guerra y Sandoval, Antonio López de Zúñiga, J.N. Böhl de Faber, Agustín Durán, Serafín Estébanez Calderón, Pedro Caro y Sureda, Marquis of Santillana, Pascual de Gayangos, Luis Usoz y Rio, and Jorge Guillén.

The Library also has manuscripts and papers from the Dominican Convent of Santo Tomás, Convent of San Vicente Ferrer, Andrés Marcos Burriel, Toledo Chapter Library (Biblioteca Capitular de Toledo), Francisco Asenjo Barbieri, José Amador de los Río, Narciso Campillo, Fundación Juan March, Benito Pérez Galdós, Jardiel Poncela, Santiago Ramón y Cajal, Adriano del Valle, Alfonso Paso, Antonio Machado, Rafael Alberti, de Celestino, Juan Antonio and José María Espinosa, Echevarría, and Manuel Gil Gala, Ricardo and Leopoldo Gutiérrez Abascal, Darío Regoyo, José Ruiz Castillo, Julián Besteiro, Emilio Castelar, Juana de Ibarburu, and Giménez Caballero.

The Bodleian Libraries' collection includes various types of manuscripts: Western (3rd century B.C. papyri to medieval manuscripts to present day manuscripts and languages such as English and Latin) and oriental languages (Arabic, Chinese, Hebrew, Persian, Sanskrit, Aramaic, Armenian, Burmese, Chagatay, Coptic, Egyptian, Ethiopic, Georgian, Javanese, Korean, Malay, Mongolian, Syriac, Tibetan, and Turkish). The oriental manuscripts are from areas such as Asia, North Africa, Central Asia, Tibet, the Himalayas, Korea, and South East Asia.

Digitised images from the Bodleian Libraries Special Collections contains collections such as Greek Manuscripts, Medieval and Renaissance Manuscript Illumination, Crossing Borders: Hebrew Manuscripts as a Meeting-place of Cultures, and Western Manuscripts.

The British Library's collection contains numerous medieval and renaissance manuscripts in languages such as Greek, Latin, Hebrew, and French (Arthurian manuscripts ). The manuscripts are organized in categories such as Medieval and Earlier Manuscripts (circa 300 BC to 1603), Modern Historical Collections (1603 to the Present), and Literary and Theatrical Collections. Descriptions and images of some of the manuscripts are found in the Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts.

The Digitised Manuscripts provides access to all of the manuscripts which have been digitized by the British Library. It is possible to browse by manuscript, author, scribe, or title (Latin and Greek).

The British Library's collection also includes Hebrew Manuscripts; catalogs and guides for Hebrew manuscripts are listed on the website.

The Online Gallery contains more than 20 books which includes manuscripts and are available electronically through Turning the Pages. These books and manuscripts represent the various subject areas found in the British Library's collection; for example, art, music, literature, medicine, religious, and Hebrew manuscripts (the Golden Haggadah (Glorious Hebrew prayer book) and Lisbon Hebrew Bible).
To find books and manuscripts:
Select “Virtual Books” tab
Select “View All”
Click on a link to view a particular book

The Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University contains a collection of 98 Greek manuscripts from 9th to 17th centuries (known as the Kenneth Willis Clark Collection of Greek Manuscripts) as well as papyri in Greek. Descriptions of the manuscripts in the Kenneth Willis Clark Collection of Greek Manuscripts is available online.

Images of the papyri are available in the Duke Papyrus Archive. To find Greek papyri, select "Greek" under "Browse by language".

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) has created a digital collection of its medieval manuscripts. The manuscripts and fragments (prayer books, missals, Bibles, Books of Hours, poetry, histories, etc.) date from the 10th century to the 19th century. Manuscripts in Latin and Greek cover subjects such as theology, philosophy, history, literature, and genealogy. It is possible to search by keyword or country as well as to browse subjects by letter, date range, or shelfmark.

Saint John's University created the Hill Museum and Manuscript Library (HMML) in 1965 to preserve manuscripts found in European monasteries and libraries (Germany, Austria, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, Portugal, England, Malta, Ethiopia, etc.) by microfilming the manuscripts.

HMML contains three special collections of manuscripts and rare books: Saint John’s University Collection, Arca Artium Collection, and HMML Collection. HHML has images of manuscripts from Europe, Ethiopia, the Middle East, and India and owns Greek, Ethiopian and Arabic manuscript books, the Steiner Collection, and the Kritzeck Collection (a collection of letters and autographs of Popes, Monarchs, and American Presidents).

Numerous handlists and catalogs (Arabic, Armenian, music, etc.) to manuscripts are available online.

HMML Research Resources provides two databases: Manuscript Catalogue Search and Search for Images Online. In the Search for Images Online database, it is possible to browse HMML’s Collection by type of material such as manuscript which returned over 700 results.

The website also provides information regarding manuscript reproductions.

The Houghton Library's collection consists of manuscripts pertaining to Western civilization (American, Continental, and English history and literature) such as ostraca, daguerreotypes, and the working papers of living authors and poets. Manuscripts belong to categories such as early books and manuscripts (to 1600), Donald & Mary Hyde Collection of Dr. Samuel Johnson and Early Modern Books and Manuscripts (1600-1800), Modern Books and Manuscripts (1800-present), Theodore Roosevelt Collection, Printing and Graphic Arts, Harvard Theatre Collection, and George Edward Woodberry Poetry Room.

The Digital Medieval Manuscripts at Houghton Library contains bibliographies and catalog records for medieval and renaissance manuscripts in Latin, Greek, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Judaica, Portuguese, Spanish, and Syriac with subjects such as literature, art, history, music, philosophy, and theology.

The Exhibition page of Picturing Prayer Book of Hours in Houghton Library, Harvard University provides the opportunity to examine 10 digitized Book of Hours.

The Islamic Heritage Project provides access to more than 280 manuscripts from the 12th to 19th centuries and in languages such as Arabic, Chagatai, French, Gujarati, Indic, Malay, Persian, Turkish, and Ottoman. These manuscripts cover topics such as biography, calligraphy, dictionaries, divination/occultism, geography, Grammar, Hadith, Ismaili literature, Koran, law, literature, logic, philosophy, poetry, rhetoric, science (astrology, astronomy, mathematics, and medicine), Sufism, and theology.

The John Rylands University Library at the University of Manchester contains an extensive collection of Greek manuscripts: ostraca, codices, and papyri (such as a fragment of St John's Gospel). The codices are from the 10th century A.D. to the 19th century A. D. while the papyri are from the 3rd century BC to the 7th century A. D.

The Royal Library collection includes manuscripts from the early middle ages to the present. The manuscripts (illuminated manuscript, letter, manuscript, diary, rough draft, etc.) tend to represent Danish and European history, literature, and cultural history.

The manuscript collections include Music Manuscripts (manuscripts of contemporary composers), Oriental Collection (manuscripts and block prints from Asia and North Africa which date from the 10th century to the present), Judaica Collection (manuscripts in Hebrew), e-manuscripts (compete digitized facsimiles of manuscripts in Danish, Greek, Latin, Old-English, French, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish, and German from 600 to 1900), and the Digital facsimiles of rare books in the Royal Library. The Digital facsimiles of rare books in the Royal Library includes rare books from the 15th to 19th century in Danish and rare books in English, Flemish, German, Latin, Slovenian, and Spanish from the 16th and 18th centuries.

e-manuscripts consists of the following collections:
Codices Latini Haunienses, Fragmenta Latina Hauniensia, Middle Ages and Renaissance, 17th and 18th Century, and 19th and 20th Century (mostly in Danish).

The David Simonsen Manuscripts have been digitized; the manuscripts date from the 12th century to the present.

The Manuscript Databases and Catalogues page lists databases (Manuscripts and Archives in REXclassic, REX, Aquisitions 1924-87, The Letter Base, and DANPA - The National Data Base of Private Archives) and print catalogs available online.

The library has manuscripts of Peter Uldall, Abraham Kall, Jacob Langebek, J. A. Bølling, E. C. Werlauff, C. F. Allen, N. C. L. Abraham, Poul Martin Møller, Henrik Ibsen, H. C. Andersen, the family Holstein-Ledreborg, S. A. E. Hagen, Søren Kierkegaard, and H. C. Ørsted.

Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum (MDZ) at the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library) provides access to digitized manuscripts, early prints, modern books, maps, photographs, journals, and newspapers in the library's special collections (history, classical antiquity, Eastern Europe, and musicology).

To view all of the digitized manuscripts (over 3,000) go to "Browsing Index" (under "Digital Collections") and select "Manuscripts" from the drop down menu.

To browse by language: go to "Browsing Index", click on "Subcategories", select "Greek" or "Latin" (under "Philologia (Philology)").

MDZ is currently working on a project focusing on royal renaissance and medieval manuscripts: Europeana regia: a digital collaborative library of royal manuscripts in Medieval and Renaissance Europe - Handschriften der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek. To view other digital collections, see Brief Overview.

Early Manuscripts at Oxford University provides access to digitized manuscripts (Latin, French, Old English, Greek, Anglo-Norman, Italian, English, Irish, and Welsh) which are organized by collection: Balliol College, Bodleian Library, Corpus Christi College, Jesus College, Magdalen College, Merton College, and St. John's College. The manuscripts date from the 9th to the 19th centuries.

It is also possible to browse a list of all the manuscripts; a description accompanies each manuscript.

Princeton University's collection of manuscripts includes medieval and renaissance (8th to 16th centuries and languages such as Latin, Byzantine Greek, post-Byzantine Greek, Middle English, French, Italian, Spanish, German, and Dutch or Flemish), Islamic (9th to the 19th centuries and languages such as Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish), non-Western (Ethiopic, Indic, and Mesoamerican manuscripts), modern literature (British, American, and Latin American authors), art and photography, publishing history, and American history (colonial and early American manuscripts).

Some of the medieval and renaissance manuscripts have been digitized such as Garrett MS. 125, Garrett MS. 158, Princeton MS. 173, and Garrett MS. 43. Links to these manuscripts are found on the Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts page.

Images of some of the Islamic manuscripts are in the Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts. The manuscripts can be viewed in alphabetical order or by subject and genre; one of the subjects/genres is illustrated and illuminated manuscripts. Click on a title and then click on "View Item" on the description page to view images of the manuscript.

The Russian State Library holds a collection of manuscripts which date from the 6th century to the 21st century. These manuscripts are in languages such as ancient Russian, ancient Greek, Latin, Slavic, Asian, and African. The manuscripts are from the archives of families, governments, Church, private institutions, and public organizations; these manuscripts cover religious and secular subject areas.

Manuscripts from the 19th century to 21st century (in Russian and foreign languages) cover subjects such as literary studies, linguistics, theology, philosophy, bibliology, and art.

The Digital Library consists of several collections: dissertations, universal collection, early printed books, and music scores collection. The collection of early printed books, books printed before 1830, includes acts, statutes, tariffs, statistics records, geographic and topographic descriptions of regions, annals, treaties, and books of heraldry.

The Saxon State and University Library Dresden's collection includes medieval codices and manuscripts and manuscripts from the early modern age and the modern age in German and other languages (Latin, Greek, etc.). The collection focuses on manuscripts from the 16th to the 19th century. The collection is strong in Saxony chronicles, regional history, literary works, biographical and genealogical minutes, literature of the Saxon Court and Nobility, and letters.

The manuscript collection contains the Maya manuscript (Codex Dresdensis), Sachsenspiegel, Machsor mecholl haschana, Codex Boernerianus, and Dresden Corvinas. All five manuscripts have been digitized.

The Search and Order Autographs and Manuscripts page lists online and print catalogs.

The Digital Collections page lists its digital collections by subject area (in German): Handschriften, Drucke des 15. Jahrhunderts, Drucke des 16. Jahrhunderts, Drucke des 17. Jahrhunderts, Drucke des 18. Jahrhunderts, Karten und Ansichten, Musik, Saxonica, Technikgeschichte, Varia, Virtuelle Schatzkammer, and Zeitgenössische Kunst.

The Knights of Columbus Vatican Film Library makes accessible manuscripts from the Vatican Library in America to scholars and researchers. The collection includes manuscripts in Greek, Latin, Western European vernacular, Hebrew, Ethiopic, and Arabic. The collection includes non-Vatican Library manuscripts as well. It is possible to search for manuscripts online in the Manuscripts on Microfilm Database Search.

The Edgar J. Goodspeed Manuscript Collection at the University of Chicago contains New Testament manuscripts and lectionaries in Greek, Latin, Armenian, Syriac, and Ethiopic from the 5th to 19th centuries.

The manuscripts in this collection are currently being digitized and are available at The Goodspeed Manuscript Collection.

The University Library's collection at University of Heidelberg includes more than 6,000 manuscripts in German and other languages such as Greek, Latin and Persian. Examples of manuscripts in the library's collection are the Codex Manesse (Große Heidelberger Liederhandschrift), Codices Palatini, and Codices Heidelbergenses Orientales.

Manuscripts – digitized provides access to select Bibliotheca Palatina manuscripts (Codex Manesse, Sachsenspiegel, illuminated manuscripts from Upper Germany, and medical manuscripts), Codices Salemitani, Codices Heidelbergenses, and Codices Heidelbergenses Orientales.

The manuscripts collections at the University of Pennsylvania cover the broad categories of medieval, Renaissance and early modern, modern American studies, modern European studies, and South Asian studies. The broad categories include sub categories such as theology and doctrine, literature, literary, philosophy, scientific, Islamic and other non-Western manuscripts, and music history.

The Rare Book & Manuscript Library also contains the Henry Charles Lea Library (history of the Inquisition and the Catholic Church), the Horace Howard Furness Memorial Library (Shakespeariana), and the Edgar Fahs Smith Memorial Collection (history of chemistry).

Some of the manuscripts are available online as facsimiles and with bibliographic information in Penn in Hand: Selected Manuscripts. Finding aids for the manuscripts are also available online. The manuscripts are in Arabic, Catalan, Chinese, ‎Coptic, Dutch, ‎English, French, German, ‎Greek, Hebrew, Italian, ‎Latin, Persian, Portuguese, ‎Provençal, Rajasthani, ‎Sanskrit, and Spanish. ‎

Yale University Library's collection covers public policy, administration, diplomacy, international affairs, political thought, social thought, science, medicine, environment, legal history, judicial history, performing arts, urban planning, architecture, environmental policy, psychology, psychiatry, history and culture of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, and the history of New Haven, Connecticut and New England.

The Yale Finding Aid Database provides finding aids to the various collections held by Yale University. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library: Pre-1600 Manuscripts provides descriptions of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts which are based on the Catalogue of Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, edited by Barbara Shailor et al. The manuscripts are in Latin, Greek, French, German, Italian, Spanish, English, Icelandic, and Nahuatl.

Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library: Digital Images & Collections Online contains images of photographs, textual documents, illuminated manuscripts, maps, works of art, and books.

Europeana provides access to numerous collections held by European libraries, museums, and archives. A search for manuscript returns more than 24,000 results; the results can be limited by provider, country, type, date, and rights.

A search for Greek manuscript retrieves 184 results while a search for Latin manuscript returns 952 results. The record for an object includes the option to view the manuscript in its original context.

Searching Europeana provides search tips.

The European Library provides access to the print and digital resources of more than 40 European national libraries. The Home Page contains numerous limits for searching such as catalogs from national libraries, digital collections, full-text search, and manuscripts. There are numerous options for browsing: all collections, by subject, by description, or by material. The page for Libraries lists participating libraries by country and provides information for each library.

Koninklijke Bibliotheek, The Netherlands (KB) hosts The European Library.

The Schøyen Collection is a private collection, located in Oslo, Norway and London; Martin Schøyen started the collection in the 20th century. The collection includes more than 13,000 manuscripts representing 134 countries and territories, 120 languages, and 184 scripts. Descriptions of 740 manuscripts are available on the website.

The collection includes manuscripts representing 5,000 years and subjects such as the Bible, history, literature, palaeography, patristic literature, liturgy, music, law, mathematics, magical literature, calendars and almanacs, Dead Sea Scrolls, papyri and ostraca, bindings, seals, apocryphal literature, Nordic countries, dictionaries and lexical texts, China, pre-Gutenberg printing, Buddhism, living and extinct religions, architecture, prayer books, historical and literary letters, legends, children's literature and fairy tales, library catalogues, maps, marine life, medical texts, lives of the saints, Roman military diplomas, ships and shipbuilding, slavery, weight and measures, and literature by female authors.

Researchers are welcome to visit the collection and to publish their research.

The CICweb.be created the Online guide to mediaeval manuscripts in Wallonia - Brussels which lists records for 1,300 medieval manuscripts in institutions' collections in Wallonia and Brussels (the French Community of Belgium). The manuscripts date from the 7th century to the 16th century; these manuscripts are in languages such as French, Greek, Latin, Romance languages, and Arabic.

The first volume of the catalog focuses on early Christian literature in Greek manuscripts in Italy. The second volume concerns Greek literature, astronomy, and mathematics; this volume includes a general index. The catalog is in Italian.

Examples of manuscripts include Bibles, Psalters, commentaries on biblical books, sermons, homilies, lives of saints (Vita et Politia Divorvm Cosmi et Damiani), scholia, histories, and commentaries on Greek authors.

The catalog include the works of individuals such as Gregory of Nyssa, Gregory Nazianzen, John Chrysostom, John of Damascus, Aeschylus, Lycophron, Sophocles, Pindar, Homer, Plutarch, Demosthenes, Aristotle, and Plato.

The catalog lists manuscripts in the Bibliothèque Royale de Belgique. The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Greek, and French. The manuscripts cover Sacred Scripture, liturgy, patristics, theology, jurisprudence, history, sciences, arts, and literature.

The catalog (seven volumes) lists medieval and modern manuscripts in Latin; the catalog is in French. The manuscripts date from the 9th century to the 16th century. The manuscripts are in Latin, Greek, and French.

This catalog is continued by the monographic series, Manuscrits Datés des Bibliothèques de France.

The catalog lists Greek manuscripts in France. The manuscripts contain the work of individuals such as Aristotle and Pindar.

The catalog (in French) lists manuscripts in Latin, French, Greek, and Spanish in the Bibliotheque Nationale.

This catalog lists additions of manuscripts to the British Library for years 1756 to 1782. This catalog consists of numerous manuscript collections: Birch Collection, Madox Collections, Rymer Collections, Rotuli Parliamentorum, House of Lords Journals, Miles Collection, Pococke Collection, Banks Collection, and Stuart Collection.

The manuscripts are in languages such as Icelandic, French, English, Greek, and Latin. The manuscripts date from the 13th century to the 18th century.

These manuscripts cover subjects such as heraldry, music, medicine, theology, Ireland, and House of Lords.

This catalog lists the Western European Manuscript collection of the British Library (which includes the Royal, Cotton, Harley, and Sloane collections); these manuscripts date from the 8th century to the 16th century. The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Greek, Italian, Icelandic, Netherlandish, French, German, Spanish, and Anglo-Saxon.

Cicero, Catullus, Virgil, Ovid, Aristotle, Plutarch, Xenophon, Augustine of Hippo, Eusebius, Isidore, and Thomas a Kempis are examples of authors whose manuscripts appear in the Western European Manuscript collection.

Examples of manuscripts listed in the catalog include lives of saints, life of Christ, sermons, missals, Bibles, psalters, histories, annals, chronicles, and calendars, lexicons, and poems.

The catalog provides summary descriptions of manuscripts in the Lambeth Palace Library: 1222-1860. The manuscripts date from the 10th century to the 19th century. The manuscripts are in Latin, Greek, English, Scottish, and French.

The collection includes Bibles, registers (Shanghai China), papers, statutes, poems, photographs, sermons, and letters.

The catalog lists summary descriptions of manuscripts in Lambeth Palace Library: 2341-2689 and 2751-3119. The manuscripts (letters, sermons, photographs, papers, diaries, journals, postcards, and registers) date from the 13th century to the 20th century.

The collection includes manuscripts concerning the divorce of Catherine of Arragon, the Council of Trent, Ancient Monuments (Churches) Committee, and Confraternity of the Blessed Sacrament. The registers concern the baptisms and marriages in Mesopotamia (Iraq) 1883-1972 and Atbara (Sudan) 1937-1953.

The collection also contains the papers of individuals such as Athelstan Riley, Revd. William Jocelyn Palmer, Richard Bertie, Arthur Cayley Headlam, Revd. John Mason Neale, Mauurice Bernays, William Ewart Gladstone, Roundell Palmer, Revd. Edwin Palmer, Sir George Lee, Dr. John Lee, and William Wake.

The catalog lists medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale University; the Rare Book and Manuscript Library consists of the general collection and the Marston collection. The three volume catalog describes 500 manuscripts in the general collection (Volumes 1-2) and 234 manuscripts in the Marston collection (Volume 3). The catalog contains an index of incipits (Index VII).

The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Greek, French, German, Italian, Spanish, English, Icelandic, and Nahutal. The manuscripts date from the 10th century to the 18th century.

The catalog lists archiepiscopal manuscripts and registers in Lambeth Palace's collection. The manuscript collection includes Codices Lambethani, Codices Whartoniani, Codices Carewani, Codices Tenisoniani, Codices Gibsoniani, Codices Miscellanei, and Codices Manners-Suttoniani. The book includes an index to the codices manuscripti and an index to the account of the records.

The manuscripts are in Greek, Latin, Arabic, Italian, and French. The manuscripts date from the 9th century to the 17th century.

Examples of manuscripts included in the catalog are Bibles, New Testament, Psalters, homilies and sermons of Church Fathers, liturgies, missals, Books of Hours, lives of saints, martyrologies, Greek and Latin Classics, letters, histories of England, chronicles, statutes (of cathedral Churches, collegiate Churches, universities, and colleges), diplomatic proceedings, biographies, and poems. The manuscripts also cover Scottish history and genealogies, history of Ireland, France, Spain, Germany, Poland, Italy, and Holland.

The manuscripts cover subjects such as theology, religion, history, literature, voyages and travels, heraldry and genealogy,

The records consist of the registers of the Archbishops of Canterbury, Papal Bulls, parliamentary surveys, augmentations of livings, presentations to benefices, leases, Notitia Parochialis, references to endowments of vicarages and other ecclesiastical rights, terrars, statues, and wills.

The catalog provides detailed descriptions of medieval manuscripts given by James P. R. Lyell to the Bodleian Library. The manuscripts are in Latin, English, Spanish, French, Greek, Italian, Portuguese, German, Hebrew, and Arabic. The manuscripts date from the 11th century to the 17th century and cover subjects such as theology, liturgical, astronomy, astrology, mathematics, and medicine.

The catalog lists the British Museum's Harleian manuscripts; the manuscripts are in Greek, Latin, Hebrew, Chaldee, Arabic, English, French, German, Low Dutch, Armenian, Russian, and Saxon. The manuscripts date from the 8th century to the 18th century. The catalog consists of three volumes while the fourth volume consists of four indexes (names of persons, names of places, subject matter, and a general index).

Examples of manuscripts include Gospels, Bibles, Biblical Books, Psalters, Talmuds, Cabbalas, sermons and homilies of Church Fathers, liturgies, missals, breviaries, Books of Hours, lectionaries, martyrologies, lives of saints, hymns, litanies, prayers, histories, chronicles, letters, journals, statutes, charters, registers, genealogies, chartularies, lexicons, glossaries, dictionaries, chorographies, poems, ballads, and essays.

The manuscripts cover subjects such as liturgy, theology, religion, Patristics, Church history (councils, canons, and Popes), antiquities, topographical description of Britain and Wales, history (civil and ecclesiastical), law, ceremonials, Greek and Latin Classics, literature, music, architecture, geometry, ship-building, military affairs, natural history, philosophy, agriculture, travels, astronomy, geography, chemistry, medicine, and illuminations.

The book lists Greek manuscripts in the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana (Vatican Library). The library of the Barberini family became a part of the Vatican Library in 1902. The manuscripts date from the 10th century to the 17th century. Tome I lists Codices 1-163.

The manuscript codices in the Vossiani collection are organized by language (Latin, Greek, and German-French). The Latin manuscript codices date from the 12th to the 19th century. Volume 13 lists Latin manuscript codices in folio. Volume 14 lists Latin manuscript codices in quarto while volume 15 lists Latin manuscript codices in octavo. Volume 16 contains the indexes.

The Bibliotheca Apostolica Vaticana's collection includes numerous Greek codices from the 8th century to the 16th century. The volumes describe the following codices 604-866, 1485-1962, and 2162-2254.

The book contains descriptions of dated Greek manuscripts of the 13th and 14th centuries in Great Britain libraries as well as plates of the described manuscripts.

Volume 1 contains descriptions of Greek manuscripts in Italian libraries while Volume 2 contains plates of manuscripts described in the first volume. These manuscripts are dated to the 13th and 14th centuries.

The catalog describes manuscripts (Bibles, Psalters, devotional books, and lives of saints) in the College Library's collection at Magdalene College. The manuscripts cover subjects such as biblical, liturgical, theological, historical, legal, music, and science. These manuscripts are in Latin, Greek, and English and date from the 13th century to the 18th century.

The catalog lists manuscripts in the Library of Lambeth Palace in England. The manuscripts, in Latin, Anglo-Saxon, Greek, and English, date from the 10th century to the 17th century. The manuscript collection includes Bibles, sermons, and chronicles.

The catalog lists manuscripts in the library's collection at Sidney Sussex College. The manuscripts are in Latin, Greek, and English; these manuscripts date from the 12th century to the 18th century.

The manuscript collection includes Ouidii Metamorphoses and Martin Luther's Tischreden.

The catalog describes the manuscripts in the library's collection at St. John's College. The manuscripts are in Hebrew, Greek, Latin, English, Italian, Flemish, Irish, and French. The manuscripts date from the 9th century to the 17th century.

The manuscript collection includes Bibles, Psalters, Thomas Aquinas de Veritatibus Theologicis, Bedae Historia, Isidorus Constitutiones, and Hugo de Sacramentis.

The catalog describes the manuscripts in the library's collection at Christ's College. The manuscripts, religious and medical, date from the 11th century to the 15th century. The manuscripts (Bible, New Testament, Book of Hours, and sermons) are in Greek, Latin, and English.

The catalog contains descriptions of manuscripts (including a Bible, Lectionary, Psalter, sermons, and books on astronomy and medicine) in the library's collection at Clare College. The manuscripts include works by Augustine, Gregory, Xenophon, Thomas of Capua, and Geoffrey of Monmouth.

The manuscripts are in Latin, Greek, English, Spanish, and French. The manuscripts date from the 10th century to the 16th century.

The two volumes contains copies of catalog cards in The New York Public Library's manuscript collection. The manuscript collection has strengths in the history of North America, Latin America, and New York (state and city). These manuscripts cover subjects such as diplomatic history, science, and literature. The manuscripts are in languages such as Greek, Latin, Spanish, German, and English.

Volume 2 contains three appendices: Gansevoort-Lansing Papers, Garrison-McKim-Maloney Collection (antislavery and movement for Irish independence), and Musical Resources Largely Transferred to the Music Division, November 1965.

The Preface concludes with the names of three Special Collections which also hold manuscripts: William A. Spencer Collection of books finely bound and finely illustrated, George Arents Collection on the History of Tobacco and of Books in Parts, and Albert A. and Henry W. Berg Collection. The Rare Book division holds the Oscar Lion Collection of Whitmaniana.

The catalog lists Greek manuscripts in the Department of Manuscripts at the Bibliotheque Nationale. Some of these manuscripts include Latin as well. The manuscripts date from the 7th century to the 17th century. Fonds Coislin contains manuscripts of saints such as Basil, Gregory of Nazianzus, Gregory of Nyssa, Ephrem, John Chrysostom, Thomas Aquinas, Cyril of Alexandria, and Basil of Caesarea. The collection also contains manuscripts of Aristotle and Euripides.

The Huntington Library's collection consists of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in Latin, Greek, Dutch, Flemish, Spanish, and English. The catalog (in two volumes) describes 390 manuscripts and fragments; the manuscripts date from the 9th century to the 18th century.

The manuscript collection includes cartularies, Bibles, psalters, Book of hours, missals, statutes, poetry, and literature (Canterbury Tales by Chaucer). The collection includes manuscripts of ancient authors such as Cicero, Plutarch, Aristotle, Virgil, Ovid, and Sallust.

Volume 2 contains numerous indexes: Dated Manuscripts, Other Manuscripts Cited, Persons and Institutions (Mainly Owners), Scribes, Artists, Iconography, Saints, Index of Middle English Verse Numbers, and General Index. A Chart of the Books of Hours is included as well.

The volumes contain a finding aid for for uncatalogued or incompletely renaissance manuscripts in libraries in countries such as Italy, Spain, Great Britain, Germany, Australia, Sweden, and Yugoslavia.

The Annual List of Additions to the Department of Manuscripts at the British Museum provides the name, description, and number of the manuscript. The List has an index as well.

The manuscripts are in numerous languages including English, Burmese, Latin, Greek, Arabic, Persian, Italian, Dutch, French, and Spanish. The manuscripts date from the 13th century to the 18th century.

The List is continued by the Catalogue of Additions to the Manuscripts in the British Museum in the Years .... (Z6621.B86 C2). The library has the list/catalog of additions for years 1836 to 1915 and 1921 to 1945.

The book lists medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the Houghton Library at Harvard University. The Houghton Library's collection includes manuscripts in Latin, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and Greek. The library has 850 manuscripts in Western European languages which date before 1525.

Volume 1 contains manuscripts in Latin and date from the 12th century to the 16th century.

The catalog lists Greek and Oriental medieval manuscripts of Keeble College. The manuscripts are in languages such as Latin, Arabic, Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Italian, Pashto, Persian, Samaritan, and Turkish. The manuscripts date from the 12th to the 16th century.

Types of manuscripts in the collection include horae, meditations, Bibles, homilies, missals, breviaries, prayers, rules, sermons, liturgies, martyrologies, Old Testament, and New Testament.

The catalog lists manuscripts in the Bodleian Library; these manuscripts date from the 5th century to the 19th century. The manuscripts are in Greek, Latin, English, Old English, Middle English, Arabic, Persian, Turkish, Welsh, Irish, and Italian.

These manuscripts cover subjects such as theology, liturgy, Church history, Greek literature, Latin literature, English literature, foreign literature (French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Russian), history, British topography, foreign topography, colonial topography, medicine, astrology, astronomy, mathematics, architecture, and music.

Examples of manuscripts in the Bodleian Library include Bibles, biblical glosses, Psalters, Books of Hours, penitentials, statutes, decrees, registers, chronicles, letters, papers, poetry, and journals.

The catalog lists manuscripts in Greek, Latin, English, and French. The manuscripts date from the 11th century to the 17th century.

The Greek manuscripts include the Pauline Epistles, Hippiatrica, Psalter, Herodotus, Theocritus, and Pindar. The manuscript collection contains documents on the Council of Basel.

The four volumes list theological, historical, and oriental manuscripts as well as the Gale Manuscripts held in the library's collection at Trinity College. The manuscripts are in languages such as English, Latin, and Greek. The manuscripts date from the 11th century to the 18th century.