Guides: Tests and Measures Research Guide: Starting Your Search

Multiple Tests - Online

These online sources cover a variety of subjects and types of tests, and are good starting points for any research into tests and measures. Use the print sources to complement and supplement the information available online. For additional information about finding tests in these databases, see the Q&A in the Psychology Guide.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests. Covers commercially-available tests in many categories. Includes all editions since 1937. Also includes Tests in Print a comprehensive bibliography of all tests and measures in print. The tests are organized by category. TiP serves as an index to reviews in MMY, but covers additional tests. CUA users only. Also available in print: Buros Institute, Mental Measurements Yearbook. Highland Park, NJ: Mental Measurements Yearbook, 1940 - . Latest edition: 2007. Ref. L103.4.P8 B96 M5
...and allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. This database provides coverage for MMY from the first edition, published in 1938, to the present. Also produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known COMMERCIALLY AVAILABLE tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests). Identifies measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluations. CUA users only. .
administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. By creating an organized resource of previously unavailable measurement information, HAPI:
(a)provides a means of locating a variety of instruments, (b) helps to reduce inefficiency and cost, and (c) eliminates duplication and "reinvention of the wheel."

Test Reviews Online
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements. Records contain some but not all of the information available in TIP (see above). Reviews can be purchased ($15) for those tests reviewed in MMY (see above) but those reviews are freely available to Catholic University users through the MMY database.
ETS TestLink
Claims to be the largest test database in the world. In addition to published tests, indexes "Tests in Microfiche" (see below). Provides descriptive information and contact information for obtaining test copies.

Multiple Tests - Print

Please note that while some of these titles may seem dated, they remain valuable sources of tests not available anywhere else.

Directory of Test Collections in Academic, Professional and Research Libraries Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 2001. LB3051 .D564

Results of a systematic survey of collections available to researchers and practitioners who need to know the content of various tests. It provides a list of institutions, with contact information, that will allow access to their test collections. Note – no updated version is available.

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. Washington, DC. : American Psychological Association, 1974 - 2008. Ref BF 431.G61 D5 v.1-9

This series is intended to fill the ongoing need for comprehensive information about noncommercial psychological tests for psychology, sociology, and education. Each volume collects information from around 30 relevant top professional journals in a specific year range. Each test is described by the purpose, number of items, format, and citations to journal articles where the information about the test can be found. For most tests, it also gives the reliability and/or validity. Each volume has indexes to help locate test instruments by author or subject.

Jones, Reginald L., Handbook of Tests and Measurements for Black Populations Hampton, VA: Cobb & Henry Publishers, 1996. Ref BF 176 .H37

This two-volume set includes over one hundred instruments and approaches to psychology unique to working with African American patients. The first volume includes sections dedicated to measures for infants, cognitive approaches and measures to testing children, self-esteem measures, language assessment and attitude measures, measures of parental attitudes and values, and measure of family dynamics. The second volume covers topics such as world-view measures, spirituality measures, measures of acculturation and life experiences, racial identity attitude, and a section on non-cognitive measures. The book is emphatic on the separation of the Black culture and persons from all other groups.

Keyser, Daniel J., Sweetland, Richard C. (Eds.). Test Critiques Kansas City, Mo.: Test Corporation of America, 1984 - . Ref BF 176 .T419

Eleven volumes of test critiques reviewing tests and assessments. No actual tests are included. The first volume contains a number of the more widely used psychological, educational and business tests. The test reviews are divided into introduction, practical applications/uses, technical aspects, and a critique of the test.

Maddox, Taddy (Ed.). Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business. 4th ed. Austin, Tex.: Pro-Ed, 2008. Ref. BF 176. T43 2008

Contains information concerning thousands of tests; it does not provide reviews - merely descriptions. The book is divided into three main sections-Psychology, Education, and Business-and is further subdivided under each category. Each test is described by the age group for which it is suitable, the purpose of the test, a brief description, the time allotment given for the test, how scoring is done, the cost and the publisher of the test. This guide also includes regular indexes as well as special indexes, such as the "Index of Test Not in the Sixth Edition", etc. Some tests in this guide are not covered in MMY or TiP.

Additional Sources

Tests in Microfiche

A small collection of unpublished tests on microfiche. This is the most substantial collection of actual tests owned by Catholic University Libraries. Indexed online by ETS TestLink (see above). Filed in the Microfilm Room, LB 3051 .E26T3. Ask at the Information Desk.

Handbooks and Other Reference Works

Many handbooks and specialized encyclopedias discuss tests and measures for a particular subject area or application. For example, the Encyclopedia of Special Education addresses tests of interest to special education teachers and researchers. Ask at the Information Desk for assistance in identifying appropriate sources.

Jerome Sattler's Assessment of Children: Behavioral, Social and Clinical Foundations (REF BF 722.3 .S38 2006) is a good reference when working with children.

Evidence-Based Assessment (EBA)

A wikiversity page about Evidence-Based Assessment (EBA), created by Helping Give Away Psychological Science (HGAPS), offers "both broad and in-depth information about the process and science of evidence-based assessment, including lists of psychological measures." [--Suggested by Catholic University Doctoral Candidate at Developmental Psychology: Abby Ridge-Anderson]