Skip to main content

Engineering Research Guide

Civil Engineering at Catholic University

Welcome to Civil Engineering @ CUA!

By Elvert Barnes from Hyattsville MD, USA [<a href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0">CC BY-SA 2.0</a>], <a href="https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File%3AWashington_Railway_Long_Bridge_at_14th_Street_Bridge_Complex_from_WMATA_Yellow_Line_-_23_April_2010.jpg">via Wikimedia Commons</a>

Catholic University CE Presentation Fall 2020

Using Google Scholar

Set your Google Scholar Preferences for CUA resources

Google Scholar Search

Civil Engineering Research Journals and Books

Article Databases for Civil Engineering Research

Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science provides "Cited Reference Search" and subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches. Our Web of Science subscription includes citations and references for articles in almost 9000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 2002 to the present. Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage is in the sciences (more than 6000 journals), followed by social sciences (approximately 1800 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1100 journals). For impact factor information about specific journals, users are directed to the index "Journal Citation Reports."
 
Full-text access to the American Society of Civil Engineers' twenty-eight technical journals, starting with the year 1999.
 
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.

 

The ICE Virtual Library is provided by Thomas Telford, the knowledge business of the Institution of Civil Engineers. This platform gives alternate access to the 19 e-Journal CUA subscription titles, as well as Web 2.0 tools for use with these titles. Topics include Civil Engineering, Engineering Sustainability, and Energy and Construction Materials.


Books & eBooks

Help with eBooks

Engineering Books located in Mullen Library will give you more information about broad topics, like transportation engineering or building materials. Try searching for them in the WRLC Libraries Catalog.

Here are some ways to search:

  • Try a search like precast and concrete. This search will return all of the records that have both the words precast and concrete, no matter what order they're in. If word order is important, just put quotation marks around the term: "precast concrete".
  • On the Search Results screen, select "Publish Date Descending" from the "Sort by:" drop-down menu to see the most recent books first.
  • Remember that words may be in singular or plural form, depending on how the author used them. With a Keyword Search you can use a ? to truncate words -- a search for structur? and mechanics will return both "structural mechanics" and "mechanics of structures".

Searching the WRLC Libraries Catalog returns catalog records from all of the academic libraries in the Washington Research Library Consortium. CUA students and faculty can borrow materials from any of these libraries. You can go to any of these libraries to borrow the material directly, or click the Request button at the top of the catalog record and fill out the form to make a "CLS request". The material will be sent for you to be picked up at Mullen Library (or viewed on the web, for articles).

 

GB: Physical geography (including Geomorphology and Hydrology) TA: Engineering (General). Civil engineering
GC: Oceanography TC: Hydraulic engineering. Ocean engineering
GE: Environmental Sciences (including Policy and Management) TD: Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering.
HE: Transportation and Communication TE: Highway engineering. Roads and pavements.
KF: US Law (including Construction and Environmental Law) TG: Bridge engineering
QH: Ecology (including Ecological risk assessment) TH: Building construction

 

 

 

CE Books