Skip to Main Content

University Libraries

Media Studies Research Guide

A guide to doing research on media studies, film, cinema, radio and television at The Catholic University of America.

Television

This page lists reference and other resources specific to the study of television.

Research Guides & Bibliographies

Film and Television by Mark Emmons
Call Number: PN1626.8 .M9 E47 2006

ISBN: 1563089149

Publication Date: 2006-03-30

A guide to reference resources relating to the study of film and television focused on how films and television shows are created, produced, distributed, and received by the community. .
Mass Communications Research Resources by Christopher H. Sterling (Editor); James K. Bracken (Editor); Susan M. Hill (Editor)
Call Number: HC20.8 .T28 M37 1998

ISBN: 0805820248

Publication Date: 1997-09-01

A guide to resources relating to American mass communications, including newspapers, magazines, radio, television, cable, and electronic services.
Television and Ethics by Thomas Cooper
Call Number: PN1626.8 .T4 C6 1988

ISBN: 0816189668

Publication Date: 1988-06-01

1,170 books, articles, speeches, and theses that deal with practices and programs on TV.
Television and Film by Frank W. Hoffmann; Michael R. Pitts
Call Number: [eBook]

ISBN: 0585454736

Publication Date: 2000-01-01

A bibliography designed for librarians, educators, students, researchers and others interested in researching television and film topics. Originally published in CD-ROM format.
Theatre Arts Publications Available in the United States, 1953-1957: A Five Year Bibliography
Call Number: PN 1626.5 .T4 1964

Publication Date: 1964

Over 8,000 resources relating to theatre arts which were published between 1953 and 1957. The section on drama in the modern media includes coverage of television.

Sources for Scripts

Index to Plays in Periodicals
Print, 1979, [PN1626 .K29 I3 1979].

more... less...

Indexes more than 9,500 plays published in over 260 periodicals before 1976. Details
Plays in Periodicals: An Index to English Language Scripts in Twentieth-Century Journals
Print, 1970, [PN1626 .P31 P7].

more... less...

Indexes more than 4,000 plays published in 97 English-language periodicals between 1900 and 1968. Details.
SimplyScripts: TV Scripts
Online.

more... less...

This site provides an alphabetical list of TV shows and places to obtain selected episode scripts for them (either .html or .pdf format). For some scripts the site also links to the show on IMDB and provides a link to Amazon where the TV show can be purchased.
The Drama Scholars Index to Plays and Filmscripts (2 vols)
Print, 1964, [PN1626.S19 D7].

more... less...

Indexes select film, play, television and radio scripts published in anthologies/collections, series and periodicals through 1972. Details.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & More

A Companion to Television by Janet Wasko (Editor)
Call Number: PN1992.5 .C615 2005

ISBN: 140510094X

Publication Date: 2005-05-27

Mullen Library Stacks.
Encyclopedia of Television by Horace Newcomb (Editor)
Call Number: PN1992.18 .E53 1997

ISBN: 1884964265

Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Mass Media by Robert V. Hudson
Call Number: P92 .U5 H77 1987

ISBN: 0824086953

Publication Date: 1987-03-01
Television Studies by Bernadette Casey (Editor); Neil Casey; Ben Calvert; Liam French; Justin Lewis
Call Number: PN1992.5 .T385 2002

ISBN: 0415172373

Publication Date: 2001-11-09
The Broadcast Communications Dictionary by Lincoln Diamant (Editor)
Call Number: PN1990.4 .D5 1989

ISBN: 031326502X

Publication Date: 1989-03-24
The Television Genre Book by Glen Creeber (Editor); Toby Miller (Editor); John Tulloch (Editor)
Call Number: PN1992.55 .T44 2001

ISBN: 0851708498

Publication Date: 2001-06-01

Mullen Library Stacks
Women and American Television by Denise Lowe
Call Number: PN1992.8 .W65 L69 1999

ISBN: 0874369703

Publication Date: 2000-01-01

Last Updated: Oct 16, 2025 10:45 AM
URL: https://guides.lib.cua.edu/mediastudies
Print Page

Subjects: Humanities

Tags: film, film_studies, humanities, interdisciplinary, media, media_studies, radio, television