Guides: Augustine Research Guide: Other Sources

S. Augustinus

The engraving is of Saint Augustine, a Church Father and Patristic author.

Object Type: Print

Materials: Paper

Techniques: Engraving

Production Person: Print made by Theodoor van Merlen

Date: 1615-1672

Introduction

This page lists print resources which aid in reading and understanding Saint Augustine in Latin and web resources pertaining to Saint Augustine. The Web Resources are organized into the following sections: Websites, Papal Documents Concerning Saint Augustine, and Other.

The left column contains the Web Resources: Websites, Web Resources: Papal Documents, and Associations and Societies for the Study of Saint Augustine while the right column contains Language Resources for Reading and Understanding Saint Augustine, Web Resources: Other, and Videos on Saint Augustine.

Web Resources: Websites

This section lists websites containing information on Saint Augustine and his writing as well as lists of translations, commentaries, books, papers, and articles on Saint Augustine.

Augustine of Hippo
more...less...
J. O'Donnell (Provost at Georgetown University) maintains this website whose pages include Introduction: Augustine's Life and Works, Texts and Translations, Some Commentaries, Research Materials and Essays, The Internet Seminar, Images of Augustine, and Augustine and Augustinians Today.

The Research Materials and Essays page consists of resources organized into sections such as Tools, Studies, Additional papers on Augustine by J. O'Donnell, and Papers by other scholars.
Reflections on Augustine's Spirituality
more...less...
This website contains information and essays on Saint Augustine and his works. The text to Friendship and Society: Introduction to Augustine's Practical Philosophy (including the bibliography) is found on the website (B655.Z7 B854 1999 Stacks). Donald X. Burt, OSA maintains this website; the website is updated regularly.
Order of Augustinian Recollects
more...less...
The Order of Augustinian Recollects' website contains biographical information, journal articles, and images of Saint Augustine. The website is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. The Related Content section on the Life of St. Augustine contains picture galleries (sketches, sculptures, stain-glass, and paintings of St. Augustine). The Works of St. Augustine page lists articles from the journal Augustinus; these journal articles are organized into 12 sections (Obras, Autobiográficas, Filosóficas, Apologéticas, Dogmáticas, Morales Pastorales, Monásticas, Exegéticas, Polémicas, Cartas, Homiléticas, and Atribuidas).
Augnet
more...less...
Augnet claims to be "Your reference site to Saint Augustine of Hippo and the Order of Saint Augustine". Two extremely useful tabs are Life of Augustine (Growing Up, In Italy, In Africa Again, Augustine in general, and His era) and Works of Augustine (His Writings, His Spiritual Tradition, His Ideas, and His Impact).

Web Resources - Papal Documents Concerning Saint Augustine

The papal documents (Encyclical Letter, Apostolic Letter, and Audience) were written by Pope Pius XI, Pope John Paul II, and Pope Benedict XVI.

Ad Salutem Humani
more...less...
Pope Pius XI wrote an Encyclical Letter in April 1930 on Saint Augustine. The Vatican website provides the letter in Latin and Italian. Saints.SQPN.com provides an English translation of the letter.
Augustinum Hipponensem
more...less...
Pope John Paul II wrote an Apostolic Letter in August 1986 on Saint Augustine. The Vatican website provides the letter in Latin, Italian, Spanish, and English. The Catholic Information Network (CIN) also provides an English translation of the letter.
Saint Augustine of Hippo (1)
more...less...
The January 9, 2008 Audience was the first of five audiences which Pope Benedict XVI gave on Saint Augustine. The audience is available in Croatian, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish on the Vatican's website.
Saint Augustine of Hippo (2)
more...less...
The January 16, 2008 Audience was the second audience which Pope Benedict XVI gave on Saint Augustine. The audience is available in Croatian, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish on the Vatican's website.
Saint Augustine of Hippo (3)
more...less...
The January 30, 2008 Audience was the third of five audiences which Pope Benedict XVI gave on Saint Augustine. The audience is available in Croatian, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish on the Vatican's website.
Saint Augustine of Hippo (4)
more...less...
The February 20, 2008 Audience was the fourth audience which Pope Benedict XVI gave on Saint Augustine. The audience is available in Croatian, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish on the Vatican's website.
Saint Augustine of Hippo (5)
more...less...
The February 27, 2008 Audience was the fifth audience which Pope Benedict XVI gave on Saint Augustine. The audience is available in Croatian, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish on the Vatican's website.

Associations and Societies for the Study of Saint Augustine

This section provides the websites for associations and societies of Saint Augustine as well as philosophy in general.

The American Catholic Philosophical Association (ACPA)
more...less...
This association was established in 1926 and focuses on the classical sources and the Catholic Philosophical heritage. The website for ACAP has information regarding the annual meeting and useful philosophy links.
American Philosophical Association
more...less...
The American Philosophical Association, founded in 1900, is the professional organization for philosophers in the United States. Useful pages are Meetings, Publications, and Resources.

Language Resources for Reading and Understanding Saint Augustine

Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar
Allen, Joseph Henry, and J.B. Greenough (eds.). New Rochelle, NY: Aristide D. Caratzas, 1992. PA2087. A42 (Stacks)
more...less...
A complete and substantial study of Latin grammar.
A Latin Dictionary Founded on Andrews' Edition of Freund's Latin Dictionary: Revised, Enlarged, and in Great Part Rewritten
Lewis, Charlton Thomas, and Charles Short. Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1955. PA2365.E5 A56 1955 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, Greek and Latin Seminar Room, Canon Law Library, and Stacks)
more...less...
The dictionary by Lewis and Short includes an orthographical index, as well as references to ancient authors and their works.
Oxford Latin Dictionary
Glare, PGW (ed.). Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1968-1982. PA2365.E5 O98 (Greek and Latin Seminar Room Folios)
more...less...
This dictionary is a standard reference for classical Latin.
The Rare and Late Latin Nouns, Adjectives, and Adverbs in St. Augustine's De Civitate Dei: A Morphological and Semasiological Study
Mahoney, Catherine, of Siena. Washington, DC: The Catholic University of America., 1935. PA25 .C36 v.44 (Stacks)
more...less...
The PhD thesis contains a postclassical Latin glossary as well as the semantics found in Saint Augustine's De Civitate Dei.
Thesaurus Augustinianus
CETEDOC. Corpus Christianorum Thesaurus Patrum Latinorum. Turnhout : Brepols, 1989-2003. BQ 310 .C75 A8 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Folios)

Web Resources: Other

This section provides the website for a center dedicated to the study of Saint Augustine, an English translation of Saint Possidius' Life of St. Augustine (available online), and a coin collection containing a coin depicting Saint Augustine.

Possidius, Life of St. Augustine (1919) pp.39-145
more...less...
Roger Pearse's Tertullian Project contains an English translation of Saint Possidius' Vita S. Augustini. This English translation is by Herbert Theberath Weiskotten. Roger Pearse transcribed the English translation from Herbert Theberath Weiskotten's Sancti Augustini Vita Scripta a Possidio Episcopo.

Videos on Saint Augustine

Augustine [videorecording]: Late Have I Loved Thee. James J. O'Donnell (writer and narrator). Santa Fe, NM: Della Robbia Productions, 1992.

Marymount University and Georgetown University (VHS)

This videorecording is also available on J. O'Donnell's website, Augustine of Hippo. To download the videorecording follow the directions under "Late Have I Loved Thee" (found on the Homepage).

Augustine of Hippo [videorecording]. Lisa Belcher Hamilton (producer/writer) and Linda Hanick (executive producer). The Trinity Television Collection. Worcester, PA: Vision Video, 2005.

St. Augustine’s Confessions [videorecording]. William R. Cook and Ronald B. Herzman (lecturers). Great Courses. Springfield, VA: Teaching, 2004.

Catholic University of America and Georgetown University (DVD)

St. Augustine [videorecording]: His Life & Spirituality. Fr. Benedict Groeschel and Eternal Word Network. Ft. Collins, CO: Ignatius Press, 2008.

George Mason University (VHS)