Guides: Augustine Research Guide: Understanding Augustine

Introduction

This page lists resources which provide background and biographical information as well as commentary on Saint Augustine and his writings. Dictionaries and encyclopedias (print and electronic) contain background information for understanding Saint Augustine and his works.

Encyclopedias

These links contains background information for understanding Saint Augustine and his writings. The first two links are online encyclopedia articles (peer reviewed and open access) on Saint Augustine. The next five links are to books; some of the books are also available as subscription databases. The last link is a subscription database.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
more...less...
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy consists of peer reviewed articles on all aspects of philosophy including Aristotle. This encyclopedia provides information of scholarly quality freely on the web. The article on Saint Augustine contains the following sections: Early Years, Manichean and Neoplatonist Period, Conversion and Ordination, Later Years, Anti-Manicheanism and Pelagian Writings, Activity Against Donatism, Development of His Views, and Miscellaneous Works.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
more...less...
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy has an article by Christopher Shields on Aristotle which concludes with an extensive bibliography (Selected Latin Texts and Critical Editions, Selected English Translations, Selected General Studies, and Selected Secondary Works).
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Edwards, Paul. New York : Macmillan: Free Press; London: Collier Macmillan, 1967. B41 .E56 1967a (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library, Reference, and Stacks)
more...less...
This encyclopedia is the English-language reference source for philosophy and has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf.

The extensive article on Saint Augustine by R. A. Markus discusses belief, understanding, mind, knowledge, reason, will, action, virtue, love, law, world, and God according to Saint Augustine. The article concludes with a bibliography (Latin translations and English translations).

Another article of interest is Augustinianism by John A. Mourant; this article discusses Augustinian faith, understanding, psychology, epistemology, rationes seminales, hylomorphism, plurality of forms, meaning of history, ethics of charity, and superiority of the will.

This encyclopedia is also available online.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Craig, Edward (ed). London; New York: Routledge, 1998. B51 .R68 1998 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
The encyclopedia contains articles on Augustine and Augustinianism. The Augustine article discusses Saint Augustine's life, scepticism, philosophy of language, epistemology, philosophy of mind (dualism, memory, and will), Metaphysics (God and divine attributes, creation, time, and eternity), philosophy of religion (problem of evil, divine foreknowledge and free will, faith, reason, and mysticism), ethics (sin, vice, virtue, 'ought' and 'can', and on killing), and philosophy of history. The Augustine article is accompanied by a list of works (recommended editions and than translations of individual works) and references and further reading.

The Augustinianism article discusses Augustinianism and Saint Augustine's reception in the 12th, 13th, and 14th century.

The encyclopedia is also available as a CD-ROM in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library).
New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd ed.)
Catholic University of America. 2nd ed. Detroit: Thomson/Gale; Washington, D.C.: Catholic University of America, 2003. BT 6 .N53 2003 (Religious Studies and Philosophy and Reference)
more...less...
New Catholic Encyclopedia (Volume 1) contains an article by R. J. Teske on St. Augustine which concludes with a bibliography.

The encyclopedia is also available online.
Augustine Through the Ages: An Encyclopedia
Fitzgerald, Allan, John C. Cavadini, et al. Grand Rapid : W.B. Eerdmans, 1999. B655.Z69 A84 1999 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library and Stacks)
more...less...
This encyclopedia focuses only on one Church Father, Augustine, and his influence on the Catholic Church. You will find the List of Entries before the Foreword. Some of the entries concern Saint Augustine's influence on other individuals as well as individuals who influenced him (Plato) while other entries represent themes. All of Saint Augustine's works have an entry. Each entry concludes with a bibliography.

The encyclopedia also contains a chart of Augustine's works which provides the abbreviation, Latin title, English title, and various books in Latin and English which contain the specific work.
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
Ferguson, Everett (ed.). 2nd ed. New York: Garland, 1997. BX 235 .E5 1997 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library and Canon Law Library)
more...less...
Volume 1 contains an extensive article on Saint Augustine by Margaret R. Miles and contains sections such as Augustine and Manichaeism, Donatist Controversy, Pelagianism, Writings, and Influence. A bibliography (editions, translations, and secondary sources) is included as well. The article concludes with additional articles of interest.

The index (in Volume 2) provides a long list of other articles which mention Saint Augustine.
Encyclopedia of Religion
more...less...
Encyclopedia of Religion (Volume 2) contains an article by Warren Thomas Smith on St. Augustine; the article concludes with a bibliography.

Dictionaries

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Audi, Robert (ed.). 2nd ed. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999. B41 .C35 1999 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This dictionary contains an article on Saint Augustine and references to other articles of interest (Neoplatonism, Patristic Authors, and Philosophy of Religion).
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Blackburn, Simon. 2nd ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. B41 .B53 2005 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
The dictionary contains an article on Saint Augustine and provides references to other articles,
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
more...less...
The Oxford Classical Dictionary has a short article by John F. Matthews on Saint Augustine.
The Concise Dictionary of Early Christianity
Kelly, Joseph F. Collegeville: Liturgical Press, 1992. BX 31 .K39 1992 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library and Stacks)
more...less...
This dictionary focuses on Christianity from the first to the sixth century and includes an entry on Augustine of Hippo,
Dictionary of Early Christian Literature
Siegmar Döpp and Wilhelm Geerlings (eds.). Translated by Matthew O'Connell. New York: Crossroad Publishing, 2000. BR66.5 .L4813 2000 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
The Dictionary of Early Christian Literature is the English translation of the first German edition, Lexicon der Antiken Christlichen Literature. The dictionary consists of numerous articles on early Christian authors which contain a brief description of their lives and a presentation of their works.

Commentaries

Confessions
O'Donnell, James J. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1992. BQ 5750 1992 (Greek and Latin Seminar Room and Stacks)
more...less...
The three volume set contains commentary in English on Saint Augustine's Confessions. Volume 1 contains an introduction and the text in Latin while Volume 2 contains commentary on books 1-7. Volume 3 contains commentary on books 8-13 and indexes.

The Stoa Consortium and the Perseus Project have created an electronic version of the commentary and text.
The Essential Augustine
Bourke, Vernon J. 2nd ed. Indianapolis: Hackett, 1974. BQ 5685 .B77 1974 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book contains selections of Saint Augustine's works in English and commentary.
De Civitate Dei Books 1 & 2
P. G. Walsh (trans.). Oxford: Oxbow Books, 2005. BR65.A64 E54 2005 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
The book contains an introduction to Books 1 and 2 of De Civitate Dei in English, the text in Latin, an English translation, and commentary on the English translation.
De Civitate Dei Books III & IV
P. G. Walsh (trans.). Cambridge: Oxbow Books, 2007. BR65.A64 E54 2007 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
The book contains an introduction to Book 3 and 4 of De Civitate Dei in English, the text in Latin, an English translation, and commentary on the English translation.
De Civitate Dei = City of God Book V
P. G. Walsh (trans.). Warminster: Oxbow Books, 2009. BR65.A64 E54 2008 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
The book contains an introduction to Book 5 De Civitate Dei in English, the text in Latin, an English translation, and commentary on the English translation.
De Civitate Dei = City of God Books 6 & 7
P. G. Walsh (trans.). Warminster: Oxbow Books, 2009. BR65.A64 E54 2010 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
The book contains an introduction to Books 6 and 7 of De Civitate Dei in English, the text in Latin, an English translation, and commentary on the English translation.

Understanding Saint Augustine . . .

This section lists a selection of books concerning Saint Augustine and his writings. Saint Augustine's writings can be organized into three periods: First Period (386-396), Second Period (396-411), and Third Period (411-430). The biographies consist of ancient (Saint Possidius) and modern (Chadwick, Brown, and O'Donnell) authors. These books also discuss Saint Augustine's theology and philosophy. Most of the books are in English.

The Cambridge Companion to Augustine
Stump, Eleonore, and Norman Kretzmann (eds.). Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001. B655.Z7 C35 2001 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book contains essays written by scholars which highlight the importance and influence of Saint Augustine and his works. The essays highlight the influence of Saint Augustine's theories such as the just war and discuss time, eternity, evil, faith, and reason.

The essays are Augustine: His Time and Lives; Faith and Reason; Augustine on Evil and Original Sin; Predestination, Pelagianism, and Foreknowledge; Biblical Interpretation; The Divine Nature; De Trinitat; Time and Creation in Augustine; Augustine's Theory of Soul; Augustine on free will; Augustine's Philosophy of Memory; The Response to Skepticism and the Mechanisms of Cognition; Knowledge and Illumination; Augustine's Philosophy of Language; Augustine's Ethics;, Augustine's Political Philosophy; Augustine and Medieval Philosophy; and Post-medieval Augustinianism.
A Companion to the Study of St. Augustine
Battenhouse, Roy W. New York, Oxford University Press, 1955. BQ 5740 .B33 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book contains 15 essays organized into three sections: Introduction, A Critical Guide to the Major Works, and Special Aspects of St. Augustine's Thought. These essays highlight the importance of Saint Augustine. and Augustinian wisdom.
A Companion to the Confessions of St. Augustine
Quinn, John M. New York: P. Lang, 2002. BR65.A62 Q56 2002 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book, a biography, discusses important events and themes found in Saint Augustine's Confessions.
A Reader's Companion to Augustine's Confessions
Paffenroth, Kim, and Robert P. Kennedy (eds.). Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox Press, 2003. BR65.A62 R42 2003 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book contains 13 chapters, written by scholars; one chapter for each book of the Confessions. The scholars are Todd Breyfogle, Pamela Bright, Phillip Cary, John C. Cavadini, Frederick Crosson, Leo Ferrari, Robert P. Kennedy, Thomas Martin, Charles T. Mathewes, Robert McMahon, Kim Paffenroth, Eric Plumer, and James Wetzel. Suggestions for further reading and extensive notes are included as well.
Augustine's City of God: A Reader's Guide
O'Daly, Gerard. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. BR65.A65 O33 2004 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book discusses in detail Saint Augustine's De Civitate Dei (City of God). One of the appendices pertains to manuscripts and editions of De Civitate Dei.
Amor Dei: A Study of the Religion of St. Augustine
Burnaby, John. London: Hodder & Stoughton,1938. BQ 5792 .B87 A4 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book highlights God's love as central to Saint Augustine's theology.
Augustine: A New Biography
O'Donnell, James J. New York: Ecco, 2005. BR1720.A9 O36 2005 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book, written by James J. O'Donnell, examines what Saint Augustine did not mention in the Confessionsand provides explanations.
Augustine: Ancient Thought Baptized
Rist, John M. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994. BQ 5739 .R5 1994 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book highlights the fact that Saint Augustine made Platonism and Christianity to agree. Topics such as divine love, human love, providence and omnipotence of God, marriage, and sexuality are covered in the book.
Augustine and the Disciplines: From Cassiciacum to Confessions
Pollman, Karla, and Mark Vessey (eds.). Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. BR65.A9 A948 2005 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book contains essays which explore Saint Augustine's attitude toward the liberal arts and education.
Augustine of Hippo: A Biography
Brown, Peter. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2000. BR1720.A9 B7 2000 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book is a revised biography of Saint Augustine by Peter Brown.
Augustine of Hippo: A Life
Chadwick, Henry. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. BR1720.A9 C473 2009 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book is a biography of Saint Augustine by Henry Chadwick.
Augustine the Bishop: The Life and Work of a Father of the Church
Meer, F. van der. Translated by Brian Battershaw and G. R. Lamb. London, New York: Sheed and Ward, 1962. BQ 5739 .M49 A9 E5 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library and Stacks)
more...less...
This English translation of F. van der Meer's Augustine de Zielzorger focuses on Saint Augustine as a bishop.
The Augustinian Person
Burnell, Peter. Washington, DC: Catholic University of America Press, 2005. BTZ 701.3 .B87 2005 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book focuses on the development of Saint Augustine's understanding of human nature and person.
Augustinus-Lexikon
Mayer, Cornelius, Erich Feldmann, Karl Heinz Chelius, et al. Basel: Schwabe, 1986-. BQ 5829 .A8 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
These volumes contain entries on the life and thought of Augustine as well as individuals, places, objects, and concepts associated with Augustine in English, French, and German. The preface is available in English, French, and German.

Volume 1 covers entries from A to Con, Volume 2 covers entries from Cor to Fides, and Volume 3 covers entries from Figura to Mensura.
Béatitude et Saggesse: Saint Augustin et le Problème de la fin de l'homme dans la Philosophie Ancienne
Holte, Ragnar. Paris: Études augustiniennnes; Worcester, MA: Augustinian Studies, Assumption College, 1962. BQ 5811 .H75 B4 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book, a revised translation of Beatitudo och Sapientia, discusses Augustine as a philosopher.
The Christian Philosophy of Saint Augustine
Gilson, Etienne. Translated by L. E. M. Lynch. New York: Random House, 1960. BQ 5811 .G48 C5 E5 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book is an English translation of Introduction à l'étude de saint Augustin.
Friendship and Society: An Introduction to Augustine's Practical Philosophy
Burt, Donald X. Grand Rapids, MI: W.B. Eerdmans Pub., 1999. B655.Z7 B854 1999 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book discusses Saint Augustine's practical philosophy and the relationship between friendship and his practical philosophy.

The book is also available online at Reflections on Augustine Spirituality.
A Guide to the Thought of Saint Augustine
Portalié, Eugè̀ne. Translated by Ralph J. Bastian. Chicago: H. Regnery, 1960. BQ 5739 .P84 G9 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library and Stacks).
more...less...
This book discusses Saint Augustine's philosophical and theological thinking. The chapters are organized into the following sections: Life (Aberrations and Conversion, From His Conversion to the Episcopate, and The Episcopate), Works (Writings of St. Augustine), Teaching (Augustine's Unexcelled Teaching Role, Neoplatonic Influences, Religious Knowledge, The Divine Nature, Creation and Creatures, Christology, Grace and Pelagianism, Grace as Developed by Augustine, The Church, The Sacraments, St. Augustine's Moral Theology: The Doctor of Charity, Eschatology, and The Characteristic Genius of Saint Augustine), and Influence (Authority of Saint Augustine).
Language in the Confessions of Augustine
Burton, Philip. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. BR65.A62 B87 2007 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book discusses some of the issues of language which appear in Saint Augustine's Confessions.
The Mystery of Continuity: Time and History, Memory and Eternity in the Thought of Saint Augustine
Pelikan, Jaroslav. Richard Lectures. Charlottesville: University Press of Virginia, 1986. BQ 5824 .C66 P4 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book, by Jaroslav Pelikan, discusses continuity, time, and eternity which are found in Saint Augustine's writings.
Saeculum: History and Society in the Theology of St. Augustine
Markus, R. A. Cambridge: University Press, 1970. BQ 5818 .M33 S3 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book discusses Saint Augustine's interactions with society and the Church and their portrayal in Saint Augustine's theology.
Sancti Augustini Vita Scripta a Possidio Episcope
Weiskotten, Herbert T. Princeton, Princeton university Press, 1919. BQ 5735 .P85 V8 1919 (Stacks)
more...less...
The PhD Thesis from Princeton University consists of the Latin text, an English translation of Saint Possidius' Vita S. Augustini, and notes on the Latin text. The book also contains a biography of Saint Augustine and a discussion of the manuscripts and editions of the Vita S. Augustini.
St. Augustine and His Influence Through the Ages
Marrou, Henri. Translated by Patrick Hepburne-Scott. New York: Harper Torchbooks, 1957. BQ 5739 .M361 E5 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book, a translation of the French Saint Augustin et l'augustinisme, focuses on the influence of Saint Augustine's philosophy and theology.
St Augustine of Hippo: Life and Controversies
Bonner, Gerald. The Library of History and Doctrine. Philadelphia, Westminster Press, 1963 BQ 5739 .B71 S1 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book presents a biography of Saint Augustine and discusses issues Augustine had with the Manichees, Donatists, and Pelagians.
Vita di Cipriano Vita di Ambrogio Vita di Agostino
Bastiaensen, A. A. R. Scrittori Graeci E Latini. Milano: Fondazione Lorenzo Valla, 1975. BX 8211 .V87 v.3 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book contains the text of Vita S. Augustini (the Life of Saint Augustine) by Saint Possidius in Latin, an Italian translation, and commentary in Italian.