Guides: Nursing Research Guide: Legislative Information (Health Policy)

Web Resources

CDC National Center for Health Statistics
Welcome to the National Center for Health Statistics' website, a rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information - a critical element of public health and health policy. Description from: https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/about/index.htm
Congress.gov
From Congress.gov -"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service." Description from: https://www.congress.gov/about
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.Description from: https://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/About-Healthy-People
State and Local Governments
A page listing indexes and links to state and local government information. Created by the staff of the Library of Congress.
US Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Description from: https://www.census.gov/about.html

Catholic University Libraries Databases

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text weekly magazine which, each week, devotes its entire issue to a discussion of a contemporary public policy topic or news event. Each 24-page issue presents background, chronology, an essay, opposing viewpoints and a bibliography.
Nexis Uni (New LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. It offers an intuitive, engaging research experience on a wide range of devices and provides collaboration tools to make it easier to work on team research projects efficiently while ensuring that individuals stay accountable.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Congressional Universe contains full-text information by and about Congress. It includes CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress, which provides top-quality indexing, abstracting and legislative histories, as well as links to the Congressional Record, Congressional hearings, committee reports, public laws, congressional documents, current hot bills and topics, and much more.