Provides comprehensive coverage of the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin).
This award-winning encyclopedia surveys the vibrant terrain of American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day.
Provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. In addition to performances in playhouses, it covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circuses, and public executions.
Lists interpretations of American plays published primarily between 1890 - 1977 in books, periodicals, and monographs. The focus is on stage plays and musicals written by American dramatists, with a few Canadian/Caribbean works which have been performed in the United States. Entries are listed alphabetically by playwright, with related critical material listed under each play. Indexes include: List of Books Indexed, List of Journals Indexed, Index of Titles, Index of Playwrights, Index of Critics, and Index of Adapted Authors and Works. There are also four supplementary volumes. Supplement I (1984) lists more-recently published interpretations as well as reflecting new research on early American plays. Supplement II (1989) covers interpretations of American plays through 1987, including a few works by European playwrights living and working in the United States and Canada. It reflects further research into early American plays and increased interest in works by and about women, African-Americans, Chinese-Americans and Hispanic-Americans. Supplement III (1992) lists references to American plays published in books, periodicals, and monographs through 1990. Special studies on Jews, Native Americans, immigrants, gays, lesbians and women in American drama are included. Beginning in this supplement, articles of a general nature are included, immediately below the playwright’s name. Supplement IV (1996), compiled by Lanelle Daniel, covers references to American plays published in books, periodicals, monographs, and various audiovisual materials through 1993. It reflects growing interest in feminist criticism and female playwrights and performance artists. There are special studies covering gay and lesbian drama (especially as it involves AIDS and related issues), as well as Jews, Native Americans, immigrants and women in American drama.
This eight-volume work provides an in-depth scholarly analysis of 538 of the world's major dramatists, from classical to contemporary. Strong emphasis is given to writers from the West. Essays range from 4 to 12 pages and include vital statistics, a list of the author's major dramatic works, awards and achievements, biographical and bibliographical information, as well as analysis of the author's overall work and specific works. More than 310 photos and illustrations accompany the author entries. There are 64 essays dealing with general overviews on topics in drama, such as dramatic traditions, genres, techniques, and contemporary trends. These topical essays also include bibliographies. The appendix in Volume 8 contains lists of major drama awards and their recipients, a timeline of dramatic world history, and a chronology of authors that are covered in the series. The indices include a geographical index of dramatists, a categorized index of dramatists, and a subject index. A special effort has been made to include women dramatists and provide a more multicultural approach. The Second Revised Edition combines, updates and expands the 1994 Critical Survey of Drama, Revised Edition [7 vols, PR623.C75 1994] and the 1986 Critical Survey of Drama: Foreign Language Series [6 vols,
This six-volume work provides an in-depth scholarly analysis of more than 170 major world playwrights, from classic to contemporary, with a specific focus on drama in languages other than English. Articles range in length from 7 to 16 pages and include vital statistics, a list of the author's major dramatic works and a survey of their work in other literary genres, awards and achievements, and biographical information, as well as analysis of the author's overall work and specific works. Each article concludes with a listing of major publications other than drama and a bibliography of significant criticism on the works of the subject dramatist. The final volume of the series contains 18 essays dealing with the development and presentation of drama in various time periods and cultural contexts; these essays include bibliographies. Volume 6 also includes an index of authors, works, and subject areas within the scope of the series.
This select bibliography has 12,000 entries on over 300 American and foreign playwrights. The vast majority of the playwrights are from the 20th-century, but some playwrights from the 19th-century are included if their plays are still being performed. The bibliography looks at about 630 books and over 200 periodicals. Organized by playwright, full-length studies, as well as partial treatments, are given. Listings of the individual plays are given in English unless there is no translation.
This book is the fourth edition. It is intended for people interested in all aspects of theater. This book provides information on about 1,500 plays from 400 BC to 1985. It covers all dramatic periods in both the East and West. The list includes plays that were critical successes, as well as those that have had commercial success. Annotations, synopses, author-title connections, dates of plays, character names, and editions are given, as well as the number of cast members and the number of male and female parts.
This 5-volume work covers the major dramatists throughout western civilization from the Greeks and Romans through much of the 20-century, as well as some minor playwrights who have influenced modern day drama. Emphasis is given to English-speaking dramatists, as well as European; however, the work also surveys themes from African, Asian, and South American drama. An earlier four-volume 1972 edition [PN1625 .M14] is available in the library.
This book amasses 27,300 entries from 1,600 journals, books, and reference works from Western languages. The bibliography provides a selective list of scholarship on world drama since Ibsen; it also claims to be a "bibliographical précis of the entire discipline of modern drama" (intro). It gives an encyclopedic and international look at the approaches and patterns of scholarship in world drama. Concentration is given to plays and playwrights, rather than to performance or performers. The bibliography consists of unclassified books, world drama, American drama, British and Irish drama, Canadian drama, Hispanic drama, French drama, Italian drama, Germanic drama, Scandinavian drama, Eastern European drama, African and West Indian drama, Australasian drama, and Asian drama. This bibliography is followed up by Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism, 1981-1990 [PN1626 .C37 1997].
Continues the work of Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1966-1980 [PN 1626.39 .C37 1986]. This book is geared towards students of modern dramatic literature (plays and playwrights) rather than theatre (performances and performers). You will find over 25,000 entries that provide you with citations of the scholarship and criticism of modern drama between 1981-1990. When combined with the previous volume, the two together give you over 50,000 entries (from 1966 to 1990). Most entries pertain to critical studies that examine literary dramatic currents of the last 1/3 of the 19th century. The bibliography is divided into twelve main categories of drama plus their respective sub-headings: (1) World Drama, (2) American, (3) British and Irish, (4) Canadian, (5) Hispanic, (6) French, (7) Germanic, (8) Scandinavian, (9) Eastern European, (10) African and West Indian, (11) Australasian, and (12) Asian.
This compilation, which updates the 1993 edition [located in Mullen Stacks, PN2220 .C35 1993], includes 2,700 entries on people, venues, companies, plays and musicals, theatrical phenomena and topics from the earliest history of theatre to the present. Over 100 topical entries cover such subjects as Asian-American theatre, Chicano theatre, censorship, Filipino-American theatre, one-person performances, performance art, and puppetry. The guide also provides an overview of several major cities with both an active past and present history of theatre. Emphasis is on contemporary theatre while retaining a historical perspective. The guide is supplemented with a thorough historical survey in the Introduction, a Bibliography of major sources published since the first edition, and a Biographical Index covering over 3,200 individuals mentioned in the text. Entries deleted from the previous edition are listed at the front of the work. Note that, unlike in the previous edition, sources are not included at the end of articles, although they are sometimes given within the text of entries.
This work includes entries on all the most important and influential actors, producers, authors, plays, movements, and other notable figures from throughout the history of American theater. The companion even includes foreign plays that have had successful runs here in the United States. The most distinctive feature of the work is its concentration on plays from the distant past. However, the 2004 edition of this work includes entries on contemporary issues, such as feminist theater, AIDS and American theater, gay and lesbian theater, New York theater companies, Hispanic American theater, Asian American theater, and award-winning plays (Tony, Pulitzer, and New York Drama Critics Circle Awards).
This book is a one-volume work that focuses primarily on the history of acting in the theater. Entries cover major figures associated with the theater (actors, directors, writers), methods of acting, important architectural theaters, genres, acting companies, festivals, and stage techniques. Biographical entries are limited to major figures, while entries on the genres of music-hall, vaudeville, and musical comedy are limited to one article. Articles on ballet, opera, or dance are not given. Articles that deal specifically with any one play are not included; however, the book does provide photographs of play productions.
This six-volume work covers contemporary theater (1945 to 1990s) from different parts of the world (over 150 countries), such as Europe, the Americas, Asia/Pacific, Africa, and the Arab World. It is a comparative study which looks at the social and political context of theater and how theater reflects the cultural climate. Volume 6 is an extensive bibliography on contemporary theater, as well as a cumulative index. This encyclopedia does not contain biographical entries, entries on festivals, or theater companies. Rather, this work is specifically about national theatrical activity on a country-by-country basis from a specifically national standpoint. The articles range from 3,000 to 30,000 words and provide theatrical professionals with not only the basic material they need to work in or visit a particular country for the first time, but also the basic material necessary to identify international trends and movements. The national articles are divided into the following thirteen sections: 1. History, 2. Structure of the National Theater Community, 3. Artistic Profiles, 4. Music Theater, 5. Dance Theater, 6. Theater for Young Audiences, 7. Puppet Theater, 8. Design, 9. Theater Space and Architecture, 10. Training, 11. Criticism, 12. Scholarship and Publishing, and 13. Further Reading.
The aim of this eighty-seven volume work is to provide a record of the scholarship published during each year from 1919 to the present (the volumes are usually two years behind) relating to English language and literature. The volumes are comprised of bibliographic essays that discuss the merits of articles, essays, editions, and books published during the year that pertain to certain topics. For example, Volume 1 (1919-1920) contains bibliographic essays for the following topics: 1. Literary Criticism and History: General Works, 2. Philology: General Works and Phonology, 3. Anglo-Saxon Studies, 4. Middle English, 5. The Renaissance, 6. Shakespeare and Elizabethan Drama, 7. The Elizabethan Period: Poetry and Prose, 8. The Restoration, 9. The Eighteenth Century, and 10. The Nineteenth Century and After. Not every volume includes the same topics, so the scholar may have to peruse several volumes in order to find relevant resources. Later volumes introduce topics such as new literatures, modern literature, and bibliography and textual criticism. Each volume concludes with an index.