Guides: Music Research Guide: Audio & Video

Streaming Media Services

In addition to the collection of CDs, DVDs, and BluRays available in Mullen Library, these audio and video streaming services are available to the Catholic University community:

Naxos Music Library
The Naxos Music Library is a sound-streaming service including the complete recordings of the Naxos label and others. It includes classical music (ancient times to the present), jazz, world music, folk, historical recordings and more. In addition to 85,000 tracks, which can be compiled into personal playlists for classes, the service contains extensive biographical information on composers and artists and notes on the works.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall
The Digital Concert Hall provides streaming, high definition video of the Berlin Philharmonic's performances. The library includes hundreds of concerts, covering all periods of music, as well as artist interviews and documentaries. New videos are made available each week, and more than forty performances are streamed live every year. The Digital Concert Hall also provides an app to make streaming more convenient on mobile devices.
Met Opera on Demand
Met Opera on Demand delivers streaming audio and video of more than 500 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances from the 'Live in HD' series, the classic Met telecasts from 1977-2011, and over 250 radio broadcast performances that dating back to 1936.
Opera in Video
Opera in Video contains more than 200 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors. Performances cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century. Users may browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.
medici.tv
The largest online catalog of classical music, opera, and dance videos, including 3,500 musical works from the 1940s to the present day, 2,500 films (concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, and master classes), and editorial content including synopses, casts, and performers' biographies.