An inventory of music manuscripts, secondary sources, librettos, libraries, and other location informatoin. RISM's goal is to locate and catalog all surviving musical sources from the earliest times to about 1800.
Navigating Collected Works & Historical Sets
Most sets are now analyzed when they are cataloged – meaning that a search in SearchBox will find at least volume names, if not every item in the volume. This has not always been the case.
Along with the German-language Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart, it is the largest single reference work on Western music. The Dictionary has gone through several editions since the 19th century and is widely used. In recent years it has been made available as an electronic resource.
First published in 1992, it was edited by Stanley Sadie with contributions from over 1,300 scholars. There are 11,000 articles in total, covering over 2,900 composers and 1800 operas. Appendices including an index of role names and an index of incipits of arias, ensembles, and opera pieces.
This encyclopedic reference focuses on jazz musicians but also includes explanations of jazz terms and styles, histories of instruments, and notations on clubs, record labels, and festivals of historical importance. It is cross-referenced and includes selected recordings and bibliographies. It is comprehensive as far as the eras it covers and is useful as a historical reference, but, like many such publications, it overlooks contemporary musicians.
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music is the most comprehensive and enlightening history of America's musical heritage ever published. American Grove is focused solely on the unique styles and traditions of American music. It covers popular musical forms such as country, rock, pop, soul, folk, blues, jazz, bluegrass, and big band. It explores America's vibrant classical heritage--from colonial times to John Cage--and also provides substantial articles on the traditional music of diverse cultures such as Native Americans, Jewish Americans, and Islamic Americans.
Music Research: A Handbook introduces music students to the major print and electronic research tools available to them. Ideal for graduate-level music bibliography and research courses, it can also be used in any undergraduate music course that requires students to engage in library research or to write a research paper.
This book serves as an introductory reference source of varied information, largely bibliographical, pertaining to research in the field of music. It consists of seven chapters of bibliographies, each of a different type of source, including basic reference materials, historical surveys, current journals, and editions of music.