Skip to Main Content

University Libraries

Copyright Basics

This guide will help you understand how copyright affects you as a user. You can also learn about the new ways creators and users are sharing creative works fairly.

Using Copyrighted Material in the Classroom

Fair use allows students and teachers to use copyrighted materials without permission in a presentation, classroom, or other learning activity.

Any copyrighted performance work is a little more complicated. The Classroom Use Exemption allows you to perform or display any work in the classroom, in person, in face-to-face instruction, at a nonprofit educational institution. This applies to movies, music, dramatic works, as long as it’s not an illegitimate copy. (Source)

The Classroom Use Exemption does not apply to distance learning interactions. The TEACH Act was enacted in 2002 and enables educators to use copyrighted materials for online distance education with certain restrictions.

If you’re not sure about whether you can use something, you should ask for permission from the copyright owner.

Resources:

  • American Library Association: TEACH Act FAQ

  • MSU Copyright FAQ
    This FAQ from Michigan State University offers a helpful glance of what you can and can’t use in specific instances.

Using Copyrighted Material in Publications

You may be able to use fair use to use copyrighted materials in publications and dissertations, but if you don’t feel you can make a good case, you will need to request permission from the copyright holder. Quoting from a published work is fine with the proper citations.

Copyright Considerations - University of Michigan
This research guide from University of Michigan provides a helpful overview on using copyrighted material in publications and obtaining permission.

Using Special Collections and Archives

Due to the nature of archival and manuscript collections, Special Collections may not have exclusive copyright or ownership rights of all materials in the collections. All known copyright information will be provided, however, Special Collections does not provide copyright research services and assumes no responsibility for resolving questions of copyright.

For special collections outside of CU, it will largely depend on the institution and its collection. You should research and request information from the individual collection about its re-use policies. There may be a licensing fee.

Reproduction of Materials in CU Special Collections
Information about reproduction policies and fees for Catholic University’s Special Collections and Archives.