General Anthropology Resources

• American Anthropological Association offers current topical news pertaining to all anthropology disciplines, a guide to professional development, and general resources for students and those interested in learning more about anthropology practices.
• The Peoples of the World Foundation offers facts and history on all of the Indigenous Peoples in various countries worldwide, global current news and updates, a list of available scholarships, and an overview of causes and campaigns that are currently affecting Indigenous Peoples.
• Royal Anthropological Institute houses Britain’s national anthropology library, which includes maps, manuscripts, multimedia, journals, and academic research on a vast array of topics pertaining to anthropology. The institute as well features an online anthropological index that is significantly detailed with research on Latin America, Eastern Europe, Africa, and Asia.
• Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History Department of Anthropology features collections and archives of American anthropology materials, information on research and training programs, and details on recent exhibitions.

Archaeological Resources

• The Archaeology Channel includes a vast array of streaming videos from archeological sites throughout the world. Audio interviews, commentaries, and news from Archaeologica are also available.
• Biblical Archeology Review, published by the Biblical Archeology Society, includes nondenominational academic papers, scholarly debates, multimedia, and current news regarding archeology theories and facts about the regions named in the Bible.
• Digital Archeological Archive of Comparative Slavery is a relational database that documents the lives and cultures of enslaved Africans and their descendants in the United States during the Antebellum era. The archive includes papers and manuscripts that have been previously presented at various conferences from 2007-2002, summaries of fieldwork, and information on querying the database.
• U.S. Department of the Interior Archeology Resources has a list of archeology resources.
• The Prehistoric Society compiles research and academic papers on worldwide archeology of the earliest human origins up to the inception of written records. The group publishes an annual journal and a topical newsletter three times a year; society membership is open to all with special rates available for students.
• Society for American Archaeology gives a fantastic general overview on a wide variety of resources and information pertaining to American archaeology for students, amateurs, and working archeologists. Included are commonly asked questions and answers, a children’s area with games and activities, an outline of archeological laws and ethics, and current news. The Society also lists upcoming events as well as available job opportunities, grants, scholarships, and awards.

Biological and Physical Anthropology

• Becoming Human provides an interactive timeline on the history of human lineage from the past seven million years, games and activities on the concepts of human evolution, a current news article archive from 2005-2010, and overall, general facts on the progression of human evolution. Find information on the profession, training, and education. The ABFA was established in 1977 and is a non-profit organization.

Cultural and Social Anthropology

• American Museum of Natural History Division of Anthropology features a vast collection of over 180,000 ethnological objects from around the world, curatorial research covering various anthropological sub-disciplines, and digital images of natural history ranging from the mid 1980′s and up.
• Cultural Survival promotes advocacy for Indigenous Peoples worldwide in regards to personal rights, cultures, and land use. Cultural Survival includes current international news and updates, campaign and volunteer options for involvement, a quarterly publication, and more.
• Digital Himalaya Project features archived ethnographic materials such as music, maps, rare books, and film from the Himalayan region of Nepal, Tibet, and Bhutan.
• The Human Relations Area Files explore information on cultural anthropology for education and research through an extensive database with manuscripts and archives. The website also features tutorials and webinars on how to use the database, along with a basic guide to cross-culture research.
• Margaret Mead: Human Nature and the Power of Culture, a resource sponsored by the Library of Congress, features field materials, photographs, and the history of Margaret Mead’s research and life as a cultural anthropologist.

Linguistic Anthropology

• The Endangered Language Fund offers information regarding funded projects and outreach for endangered languages around the world, along with a native language archive.