Guides: Washington 101: Databases

Tips for searching databases

Be sure to think out your search strategy before diving into the database. This can be as simple as jotting down keywords relevant to your research. Remember some of the key terms that are listed on the home page of this guide!

To learn more about Boolean searching, check out this pdf from the Library at UC Berkeley.

Database search tips from MIT

A helpful presentation on successful database searching from MIT Libraries.

Databases: Art & Architecture

Art Index This link opens in a new window
Find articles related to Washington, DC.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Find articles related to Washington, DC.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A massive database of digital images of artwork!
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Again, just a simple search for "Washington, DC" is a good start here. Also, this is a good database if you are researching DC neighborhoods as well.
and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. In addition, this database also provides nearly 13,000 citation records for architects' obituaries.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
There is a great introductory essay on Washington, DC, just search "Washington, DC".

Databases: History & Politics

Accessible Archives
Developed by dedicated instructors and students of American history, Accessible Archives' databases contain the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This database is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

American Civil War: letters and diaries,
A good place to search for primary documents relating to the Civil War. You can browse via place!

American Decades Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Another storehouse of primary sources!
Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2014) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of the New York Times (1851-2014). Individual articles or full pages may be viewed, and the newspaper text may be searched.
Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2002) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of the Wall Street Journal (1889-2002). Individual articles or full pages may be viewed, and the newspaper text may be searched.
Historical Newspapers: Washington Post (1877-2002) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of the Washington Post (1877-2002). Individual articles or full pages may be viewed, and the newspaper text may be searched.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Congressional Universe contains full-text information by and about Congress. It includes CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress, which provides top-quality indexing, abstracting and legislative histories, as well as links to the Congressional Record, Congressional hearings, committee reports, public laws, congressional documents, current hot bills and topics, and much more.

Databases: Literature, Music, & Theater

American Song
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.

Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Searching "Washington, DC" is a good start. From there you can narrow your search further. Intuitive site!
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Search "Washington, DC" and you will find a great introductory essay on DC.
Grove Music Online is recognized as the preeminent authority on music and is the most widely used music reference work in the academic and professional community. The online version contains the full text of the 28 volume print second edition (25 million words), including notated musical examples. In addition to sophisticated search capability, it also includes links to digital sound files and to related sites. The online version is scheduled for quarterly updates to biographies, works lists, and bibliographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature This link opens in a new window
Search for DC-related authors.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance This link opens in a new window
I would suggest using very specific search terms for this database. For example, use specific titles or names when searching.

National Cathedral

National Cathedral, view from the Bishop's Garden.

Washington, DC

[photograph by Sarah Rice Scott]

University Libraries

Washington 101