This site is designed for History teachers and their students. It offers teaching materials, guides for analyzing historical evidence and first-person primary documents dealing with U.S. history. The site is maintained by George Mason University and the Graduate Center, City University of New York. [http://historymatters.gmu.edu]
This site provides general information about the National Archives and Records Administration descriptions of the collections. These collections include current government information, the JFK Assassination Records and a database of the American West.
The Organization of American Historians supports study and teaching of American history. Provides links to some content in the Journal of American History and OAH Magazine of History, both published by the OAH. Teaching Tools offers a variety of teaching resources.and lesson plans geared toward secondary and postsecondary learners. http://www.oah.org
The Louisiana State University Libraries’ Division of Special Collections hosts materials relating to the antebellum, Civil War and Reconstruction periods. Most materials deal with historical themes such as developing sectional identity, race relations, plantation life and politics in the years 1850-1865.
Not restricted to historical topics, this Rutgers site deals with every aspect of eighteenth century study. The section on history includes links to full text documents and other interesting web pages.
Contains primary source materials dealing with German history, politics and culture. Material is presented in 10 historical periods from 1500 to present. An attractive site; very easy to use. GHDI is an initiative of the German Historical Institute, Washington, DC.
This site serves as a gateway to World War II sites appropriate for students and teachers. Links revolve around the following topics: The Rise of Fascism-Germany, Italy and Japan, Holocaust, Pearl Harbor and America's Response, D-Day and the War in the Pacific, The Home Front, Plans for Peace and the Atomic Bomb, Personalities, Literature, Propaganda, Women in the War, and Miscellaneous.
About 11,000 English broadside ballads of the entire seventeenth century survive. To capture the genre’s arc of development, EBBA seeks to archive all these printed ballads—with priority given to the black-letter ornamental broadside of the genre’s heyday—as well as all surviving sixteenth-century broadside ballads (about 250) and a representative sampling of broadside ballads of the early eighteenth century.
The Internet Law Library (formerly the U.S. House of Representatives Internet Law Library) was originally provided to the public courtesy of the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. Pritchard Law Webs now maintains the site.