Need a refresher or want to see how to use RefWorks 2.0?
Other Bibliographic Managers
RefWorks is compatible with a number of other bibliographic management products. You can easily convert an existing bibliographic management database (such as EndNote) into RefWorks (Archived Webinar available). For details related to importing data from other bibliographic management products, please contact email@example.com for assistance in converting your records.
The first time you login to RefWorks you must register for an individual account.
- Select RefWorks from this page Tutorials and Tools.
- From the login window, click the Sign up for an Individual Account link.
- Complete the New User Information box. You will select your login and password.
- Click Register.
- You will receive an email confirmation including your login and password. You only need to register once.
- Once your account is set up, you will need to login both to MY LIBRARY ACCOUNT then RefWorks if trying to access the database from off-campus.
NOTE: A Group Code is not necessary when logging in from off-campus. Just be certain to access RefWorks from the CUA library homepage.
Build your own reference database: Begin to build your personal database of references and articles by importing citations directly from subscription databases (ex: ProQuest, Ebsco, PubMed, CSA, etc), from the Libraries’ Catalog, from other reference manager programs (ex: EndNote or RefManager), or from website sources via RSS feeds and more. You can also enter references manually. More directions on importing resources using RefWorks.
Organize references: Create folders and let the organizing begin! One resource/article may be stored in one folder or in several folders simultaneously – ex: an article could be saved in folders for two different classes and also in a folder for curriculum committee discussion and review. More directions on folders.
Incorporate references directly into Word documents: Using the RefWorks application called “Write-n-Cite,” users can incorporate both parenthetical and bibliographical citations directly into documents. More information on using Write-n-Cite.
Use multiple citation formats for customized output: RefWorks allows users to arrange “output” for references, choosing from hundreds of citation styles, from the most common to a specific journal style. For example: 10 resources can be incorporated into a draft of an article using the Journal of Applied Physics style format and then the same 10 resources could be exported into a webpage file according to APA format. More on different output styles.
Search: Quick Search and Advanced Search features allow for quick retrieval of resources. More information on using search features.
RefWorks Q & A
Can I still keep my database after I graduate or leave the university?
Yes. Any RefWorks user with an existing CUA account can purchase an individual license to the service from RefWorks at a preferred rate of $50.00 per year. If you are moving to another institution that uses RefWorks, contact RefWorks Support by phone (775) 327 4105 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org and they will work with your to transfer your existing database to the new institution.
Can I share my database/folder with colleagues outside our institution? Yes, using RefShare, you can share a folder or your entire database, be sure to add the proxy URL prefix to beginning of the RefShare URL to ensure that your colleagues can access your folder when they are off-campus. Or, if your colleague is not a CUA community member, the best way would be to export your reference data into a format that is compatible with their reference management system (RefWorks-Tagged format, BibTeX, ProCite, Reference Manager, EndNote, or any other program that supports the RIS Format -- as well as XML and Tab Delimited) consulting the directions for Exporting a Database for more information