Guides: Politics Research Guide: Find Articles

Best Places to find journal articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, first stop for the beginning researcher, is our largest multi-disciplinary database, offering thousands of full-text journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Most of the periodicals are covered back to at least the early 1990s, but some content dates back as far as 1887. The database features some content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. To cross-search additional subject-specific databases from this publisher, click on Choose Databases.
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
In-depth analysis of the path legislation takes through the U.S. Congress, from 1945 to today, including year-by-year tracking and legislative overviews.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text weekly magazine which, each week, devotes its entire issue to a discussion of a contemporary public policy topic or news event. Each 24-page issue presents background, chronology, an essay, opposing viewpoints and a bibliography.
CQ Weekly This link opens in a new window
CQ Weekly is a magazine which covers the U.S. Congress. Each issue analyzes in detail both congressional and general political activity of the week. Major bills are followed from the time they are introduced until they are passed and enacted into law.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR project is a digital archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, Asian Afro American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
Nexis Uni (New LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. It offers an intuitive, engaging research experience on a wide range of devices and provides collaboration tools to make it easier to work on team research projects efficiently while ensuring that individuals stay accountable.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Congressional Universe contains full-text information by and about Congress. It includes CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress, which provides top-quality indexing, abstracting and legislative histories, as well as links to the Congressional Record, Congressional hearings, committee reports, public laws, congressional documents, current hot bills and topics, and much more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.

Political Extremism and Radicalism provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard-to-access primary sources. The content supports questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and more.

Presidential Studies Quarterly (Journal)

Presidential Studies Quarterly (PSQ) is the only scholarly journal that focuses on the most powerful political figure in the world - the president of the United States. Offers articles, features, review essays, and book reviews covering all aspects of the American presidency.

Presidential Studies Quarterly

Finding news and newspapers

Newspapers record events as they occur. They are considered primary sources because they are generated by a particular event, by those who participated in the event; or by those who directly witnessed it. Search Historical Newspapers to find out about past events;search Access World News or Nexis Uni (former Lexis Nexis) for current information.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
With an unprecedented combination of global, regional and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (PDF image editions, web-only, full-text), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty. Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,000 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories. Easy-to-use interface.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2014) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of the New York Times (1851-2014). Individual articles or full pages may be viewed, and the newspaper text may be searched.
Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2002) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of the Wall Street Journal (1889-2002). Individual articles or full pages may be viewed, and the newspaper text may be searched.
Historical Newspapers: Washington Post (1877-2002) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of the Washington Post (1877-2002). Individual articles or full pages may be viewed, and the newspaper text may be searched.
Nexis Uni (New LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. It offers an intuitive, engaging research experience on a wide range of devices and provides collaboration tools to make it easier to work on team research projects efficiently while ensuring that individuals stay accountable.