Guides: Medieval and Byzantine Studies Research Guide: Primary Texts

Primary Texts Online

Finding specific texts in these online databases may be tricky. Be sure to look at any documentation provided, and contact me if you have any questions.

Some of these works are available in print. Click on the More Information link (the exclamation point in the blue circle) for call numbers where applicable.

Dictionary of Old English: A to I Online This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Old English: A to G covers the vocabulary of 600 - 1150 A.D. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary which covers 1100 - 1500 A.D. and the Oxford English Dictionary. These three works comprise a comprehensive English vocabulary. Entries in the DOE have links to the OED. The DOE has over 12,000
headwords.
Dictionary of Old English Corpus This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Old English Corpus is an online database consisting of 3047 texts of Old English.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
The EEBO contains the full text of 100,000 early English works from 1470-1700. The subject areas include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science

Monumenta Germaniae Historica
more...less...
The MGH is is a collection of several hundred works in German medieval history dating from 500 to 1500 A.D. Contains selections from the five divisions of the Monumenta Germanie Historica (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates), which covers a wide range of medieval documentation. Newer series cover specific studies. The entire collection with the exception of the last five years, is available online. The print edition is available in Room 316 Mullen in the folios section. DD3 .M81 The CD-ROM version is available in room 314.

Brepols International Directory of Medievalists This link opens in a new window
The International Directory of Medievalists is the continuation of the printed editions and contains 15,000 names and addresses from over 70 different countries with their fields of study.
Patrologiae Graecae This link opens in a new window
The online version of Migne's Patrologiae Graecae.
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
No single collection of Western philosophical and theological writings is comparable to the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, the extraordinary achievement of the nineteenth-century scholar and priest, Jacques-Paul Migne.

The Patrologia is divided into the Patrologia Latina and the Patrologia Graeco-Latina. The Patrologia Latina covers the works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian around 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216...
In 221 volumes it covers most major and minor Latin authors, and contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history and literature.

The Patrologia Latina Database is the full-text electronic version of the Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus, indexes and illustrations.

The Patrologia Latina Database has made an enormous difference to the work of scholars of patristics, theology, medieval history and Latin. In many other disciplines in the humanities, from philosophy and medieval languages to the history of art and the history of medicine, it is making a significant contribution to research. No other full-text database in the humanities serves so many disciplines in so many ways.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1972, the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. The web version currently provides access to 3,700 authors and 12,000 works, approximately 91 million words. You must create a separate account with the TLG (free of charge) and login to have full access.

Primary Text Collections in Print

Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Call Number: DD3 .M81 (Room 316 Folios)
MGH: Enormous Series of documents related to the history of Germany. Some portions are available online.
Rerum Britannicarum Medii Aevi Scriptores (Chronicles and Memorials of Great Britain and Ireland)
Call Number: DA 25 .B5 (Room 316)
Frequently called the "Roll's Series"
Rerum Italicarum Scriptores
Call Number: DG403 .M97 (Mullen Stacks Folios)
Documents related to the history of Italy

Primary Texts on CD-ROM

CD-ROM workstations are located in the Religious Studies and Philosophy Library in room 314 Mullen Library.

Some of these works are available in print. Check the description (below the title) for call numbers to the print version where applicable.

Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature
The corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe and the Latin works of the "peregrini" on mainland Europe during the period 400 - 1200 A.D. These texts span a variety of fields including theology, liturgy, grammar, hagiography, poetry, and historiography and include legal texts, charters, and inscriptions.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
Database of over 500 complete works in Latin literature covering the Roman Republic to the Imperial Period and Late Antiquity (300 BCE to 500 AD).
Past Masters
We have the works of Augustine (Opera Omnia-Corpus Augustinianum Gissense), the collected works of Thomas Aquinas in English, and Anselm’s Opera Omnia.
Thomae Aquinatis Opera Omnia
The entirety of the works of St. Thomas Aquinas in Latin. Index Thomisticus is available in the Religious Studies/Philosophy Library folios. T/P BQ 6879 .B96 folios . You may want to examine the Corpus Thomisticum website as well: http://www.corpusthomisticum.org/index.html
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
The TLL is the premier Latin dictionary. Entries included in this edition cover the letter ranges A to P. The Print version can be found in the Greek and Latin Seminar Room in the folios section. (PA2361 .T41)