Public Domain Materials - Libraries, Archives, & Museums - Open Educational Resources Guide - Guides at The Catholic University of America

OER Resources by Discipline

Catholic University's liaison librarians have included discipline-specific OER resources in many of their subject guides. To access OER resources by discipline, choose a subject from the list below.

Public Domain Materials - Libraries, Archives, and Museums

Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. To ensure you have complete access to available items, click the "Log In" button, and choose "Catholic University of America" from the drop-down menu. Select "Continue" and then enter your CU Username and Password.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. Search across books and journals, scientific names, authors and subjects.
Digital Public Library of America
Discover 38,932,706 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Search all the collections that have been digitized from the Library of Congress.
National Science Digital Library
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks.
Smithsonian Open Access
Where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.