The images which make up the core of this collection were among the first materials actively pursued by the University's original archivist, Fr. Henry Browne, when the Archives was founded in 1949. Since that time, numerous offices and individuals have contributed photographs to this collection until the archivists decided to close the collection in 2003. The Catholic University of America Photograph Collection includes images created by University offices, departments, and student organizations (i.e. Alumni Office, Athletics Department, Drama Department, Catholic University newspapers, Catholic University yearbook, office publications, etc.), from 1887, before the founding of the University, to 1999.
See Digital Collection and Finding Aid for The Catholic University of America Photograph Collection.
Some notable photographs from the 1930s include:
- Box 20, Folder 2: Alumni (1930-1939)
- Box 45, Folder 7: Orange Bowl, 1936
- Box 60, Folder 2: Anniversaries, Sesquicentennial of Signing of U.S. Constitution, December 7, 1937 (McCormick, P.J.; MacWhite, Michael; MacWhite, Mrs.; Corrigan, Joseph M.; Bloom, Sol; Wankowicz, Witold; Sesquicentennial Signing of the United States Constitution, 1937)
- Box 60, Folder 3: 50th Anniversary of CUA, 1939
- Box 60, Folder 10: Commencements (1), 1930-1939
- Box 71, Folder 5: Drawings of Catholic University (packet) ca. 1930s (Koenig, Francis L.; Mullen Memorial Library; Caldwell Hall; Gibbons Hall; McMahon Hall)
Caption: Photograph of the 1936 football squad on the steps of the John K. Mullen of Denver Memorial Library. On New Year’s Day 1936, the CatholicU Cardinals narrowly defeated Ole Miss 20-19 in the Orange Bowl championship.