Articles can be found both online and at Mullen Library. A good place to start is the SearchBox for Articles on the home page. You may also choose to click on the databases tab from the home page, then databases by category, followed by the Library and Information Science Tab.
To research a topic begin by brainstorming several related keywords. Then choose a the Searchbox for Articles or a database and begin searching. Expand or refine your topic as necessary. Use the Advance Search option to narrow your results. Sometimes an article will not be available in full-text from a particular database. Try clicking on the "Find It" button to see if it is located somewhere else online, or in the WRLC libraries.
Journals can be found by doing a journal title search in Searchbox. Search results will include records for online databases and print holdings.
Carefully select the right record, taking note of the years available. A print journal may be in the library or in off-campus storage. Pay attention to the location and call number. You can request a journal article from off-campus storage through Interlibrary Loan.
If you are unable to locate a journal in our collections, submit a request through Interlibrary Loan.
Bottom Line: Managing Library Finances
College and Research Libraries
Information Technology and Libraries
Interlending & Document Supply
International Journal of Information Management
Journal of Academic Librarianship
Journal of Education for Library & Information Science
Journal of Librarianship and Information Science
Library & Information Science Research
Academic Search Complete, first stop for the beginning researcher, is our largest multi-disciplinary database, offering thousands of full-text journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Most of the periodicals are covered back to at least the early 1990s, but some content dates back as far as 1887. The database features some content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. To cross-search additional subject-specific databases from this publisher, click on Choose Databases.
JSTOR is a digital archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, Asian studies, Afro American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics. It also includes over 2 million rights-cleared images (fka ARTstor) from major collections around the world, discoverable alongside JSTOR’s electronic texts on one feature-rich platform. Learn more about the transition to JSTOR.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. It offers an intuitive, engaging research experience on a wide range of devices and provides collaboration tools to make it easier to work on team research projects efficiently while ensuring that individuals stay accountable.
ProQuest Complete provides a single search to all ProQuest databases that Catholic University subscribes, such as ProQuest Research Library, Historical Newspapers, Dissertation Abstracts International, Social Services Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science, etc. It allows search in a limited subject area too.
