Guides: Bioethics: Bibliographies

Bibliographies and Catalogs

Bibliography of Bioethics.
Editor, LeRoy Walters. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1975-. R102.8.E8 W23 B5 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This annual annotated bibliography covers all aspects and issue in bioethics. All citations can be found in the NLM catalog (see below).
ETHXWeb
more...less...
ETHXWeb provides citations of literature (journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals) relating to the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research.
BELIT
more...less...
The German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences created BELIT, a bibliographic database containing records on bioethics literature from German, American and French databases.
National Library of Medicine (NLM) Catalog
more...less...
The NLM Catalog provides records for resources such as journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, and electronic resources.
Global Ethics Observatory (GEObs)
more...less...
Global Ethics Observatory (GEObs) consists of six databases:Who's Who in Ethics, Ethics Institutions, Ethics Teaching Programmes, Ethics Related Legislation and Guidelines, Codes of Conduct, and Resources in Ethics.
Kennedy Institute of Ethics New Titles
more...less...
The Kennedy Institute of Ethics at Georgetown University makes available New Titles in Bioethics which contains all the new books dealing with bioethics and other fields for each month. The information for each book is presented in the way the book would be found in a Bibliography.

Handbooks

The Oxford Handbook of Bioethics
Steinbock, Bonnie. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. QH332 .O94 2007 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This book provides information on contemporary issues in the field of bioethics in essay format. The following chapters are included: 1. Theoretical and Methodological Issues, 2. Justice and Policy, 3. Bodies and Bodily Parts, 4. The End of Life, 5. Reproduction and Cloning, 6. Genetics and Enhancement, 7. Research Ethics, and 8. Public and Global Health.
A Handbook of Bioethics Terms.
Tubbs, James B. Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University Press, 2009. R725.5 .T83 2009 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
This book contains terms and definitions, alphabetically arranged, relating to bioethics and medical ethics.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Bioethics
This edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set first published in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.

Dictionaries

Bioethics, Health Care, and the Law: a Dictionary.
Hedges, Richard. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1999. R725.5 .H44 1999 (1st Floor Reference)
more...less...
The dictionary contains terms relating to bioethics, health care, and medical ethics.

Reference Works

A Companion to Bioethics.
Kuhse, Helga, and Peter Singer, eds. Oxford, UK; Malden, Mass., USA: Blackwell Publishers, 1998. R724 .C616 1998 (Religious Studies and Philosophy Library)
more...less...
The book contains information on bioethics and medical ethics; a bibliography is included.
Bioetica Medica per Medici e Professionisti Della Sanità.
Russo, Giovanni, ed. Bioetica solidale 3 Messina: Coop. S. Tom; Leumann (Torino): Elledici, 2009. QH332 .B564 2009 (Stacks)
more...less...
This book has information on bioethics and medical ethics; a bibliography is included.
An Introduction to Bioethics.
Shannon, Thomas A. and Nicholas J. Kockler. 4th revised edition. New York: Paulist Press, 2009. R724 .S455 2009 (Stacks)
more...less...
The book consists of general information regarding bioethics and various issues related to bioethics.
The Penn Center Guide to Bioethics.
Ravitsky, Vardit, Autumn Fiester, and Arthur L. Caplan (editors). New York: Springer Pub., 2009. QH332 .P46 2009 (Nursing/Biology Reserve 7 Day)
more...less...
The book contains background information and presents an overview of issues concerning bioethics and medical ethics. The Penn Center for Bioethics at The University of Pennsylvania is a leader in the field of Bioethics.