Guides: Psychology Research Guide: Other Research Tools

Google Scholar

Many of the article databases CUA subscribes to are accessible through Google Scholar.

If you are off campus, please make sure to set the preferences so that Google will show you the resources that Catholic University provides:

go to http://scholar.google.com
click Settings at the top menu
select Library Links at the left side menu
input "Catholic Unviersity of America" in the search box
check the box in the front of our university name, then click Save in the lower right corner.

On the search result page, the link "ViewIt@CatholicU" will bring you the full text of the article from our subscribed databases.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other sources. Use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds with tools provided by RefWorks. Please see RefWorks at Catholic University for more information.

APA style books at Catholic University

These books tell and show you the APA style rules. Also Purdue OWL provides online APA style guides.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 1433805596
Location: Mullen Reference Desk
Concise Rules of APA Style
Call Number: BF76.7 .C66 2010
ISBN: 9781433805608
Location: Mullen Reference
Reporting Quantitative Research in Psychology by Cooper, Harris M.
Call Number: eBook Online
ISBN: 9781433833427
Publication Date: 2020
Location: Mullen Reference
Reporting qualitative research in psychology : how to meet APA style journal article reporting standards by Levitt, Heidi M.
Call Number: eBook Online
ISBN: 9781433833410
Publication Date: 2020
Location: Mullen Reference

There is a section of "APA citation style guidelines" in this book.

Media for Psychology

The following DVDs are stored in Mullen Library.

In addition, there are hundreds streaming videos for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling in the databases "Counseling and Therapy in Video" and "PsycTHERAPY".

Discovering the human brain [videorecording] : new pathways to neuroscience / with Susan Bookheimer ; Davidson Films & Classroom Productions present ; written and narrated by Susan Bookheimer ; produced by Crosstown Productions, Inc. and Davidson Films, I
Call Number: Viddisc. 00492
ISBN: 9781891340475
"Using the resources of the Brain Mapping Center of UCLA, this film illustrates the development of neuroscience from its classical reliance on information from brain injuries and autopsies through the new insights discovered with electronic microscopes, EEG equipment, PET scans and MRI machines. Examples of current research that utilize these tools are presented including a study on the role of mirror neurons in autism and mapping of a woman’s several language centers before surgery for a brain tumor. Animations and graphics review the gross anatomy of the brain and the actions of its neurons."--Container.
The emotional brain [videorecording] : an introduction to affective neuroscience / with Brian Knutson ; Davidson Films, Inc. presents ; script written and narrated by Brian Knutson ; producer, Frances Davidson ; director, John M. Davidson ; produced and d
Call Number: Viddisc. 00495
ISBN: 1891340794
"Physiological studies in the mid-twentieth century, based largely on animals, and more recent neuroimaging studies of humans have uncovered hard evidence that neural circuits support emotional experience. Affective neuroscience thus blends the insights of psychology with methods from neuroscience."--Container.
Making sense of sensory information [videorecording] / with Dale Purves ; Davidson Films presents ; written and narrated by Dale Purves ; producer, Frances Davidson ; director, John Davidson ; produced and distributed by Davidson Films, Inc.
Call Number: Viddisc. 00494
ISBN: 9781891340789
"This film explores the challenge of explaining visual perception. The production includes an overview of the human visual system, illustrated with animated graphics and live action footage and describes, using engaging ’optical illusions,’ the profound technical and philosophical challenges scientists face in attempting to explain perception. The film ends with a thought-provoking discussion of the essential role of human experience in determining what we perceive"--Container.
Human brain development [videorecording] : nature and nurture / with Helen Neville ; Davidson Films & Classroom Productions present ; written and narrated by Helen J. Neville ; produced by Classroom Productions, Inc. and Davidson Films, Inc. ; director, J
Call Number: Viddisc. 00493
ISBN: 9781891340499
"The fascinating interplay of genetic predispositions and experience in the development of the brain after birth is demonstrated in this film produced at the Brain Development Laboratory at the University of Oregon"--Container.
Mind talk [videorecording] : the brain’s new story / a presentation of Films for the Humanities & Sciences ; a presentation of the New Hampshire Humanities Council.
Call Number: Viddisc. 00229
Experts, including Oxford mathematician Sir Roger Penrose, cognitive scientist Dr. Daniel Dennett, and cyber-age technovisionary Jaron Lanier contemplate the social and moral impact of brain research and questions such as how matter developed consciousness, whether computers can model human abilities, how free "free will" really is, and where legal responsibility for actions begins and ends.
Love Lab [videorecording] : Our child is out of control / produced by Leibovitz-Hellman Productions, Inc. for Discovery Health ; produced and directed by Jaime Hellman, Barbara Leibovitz ; writer, Jaime Hellman.
Call Number: Viddisc. 00230
"Using the experience of world-renowned therapists John and Julie Gottman, this video offers an intricate analysis of a young family’s emotional interactions--even those that occur behind closed doors. After placing seven cameras throughout the family’s household to capture nearly every behavior over a three-day period, the Gottmans uncover disturbing connections between the couple’s precarious relationship and their 3-year son’s behavioral problems. The Gottmans’ painstaking documentation, in-depth study, and frank and extensive advice offer a unique learning experience for therapists in child psychology and other disciplines, as well as for growing families."--container.
The love lab [videorecording] : putting marriages back together / produced for Discovery Health Channel by Leibovitz-Hellman Productions, Inc. ; directors, Jaime Hellman, Barbara Leibovitz ; producers, Barbara Leibovitz, Jaime Hellman ; writer, Jaime Hell
Call Number: Viddisc. 00231
Goes inside John Gottman’s renowned "Love lab" to see how one of America’s best known marriage counselors and his staff analyze and advise couples in marital distress.
Being in love [videorecording]
Call Number: Viddisc. 00232
Examines the irrepressible nature of love and the consequences of misdirected desire. Monogamy, "lovesickness," stalking, free love, plural marriage, infidelity, mate-switching, jealousy, spouse abuse, and the healty benefits of love are discussed by evolutionary psychologist David Buss, clinical phychologist David Celani, social psychologist Arthur Aron, neurobiologist Antonio Damasio, anthropologist Helen Fisher, Robert Levenson, of the Institute of Personality and Social Research, and others. Footage of experiments that measure empathy and that demonstrate bodily changes associated with emotional states is included.
Otto [videorecording] : a study in abnormal psychology / produced by Indiana University Audio-Visual Center.
Call Number: Viddisc. 00228
"Dramatizes a case study in abnormal behavior that portrays a middle-aged man, Otto, who suffers from real and imagined pressures at home and at work. Explains that Otto feels overburdened and insecure at work. At home, his wife complains that Otto suffers from insomnia and is becoming withdrawn, anxious, and incommunicative."--From online catalog description.
The Mind of a murderer [videorecording] / BBC Education & Training ; a BBC-TV production in association with WGBH, Boston ; written and produced by Michael Barnes.
Call Number: Viddisc. 00211
Documents the Los Angeles trial of Kenneth Bianchi, commonly known as the Hillside Strangler, through still photographs, news footage, courtroom action, and interviews with those involved in the case. Focuses on psychiatric evidence concerning Bianchi’s sanity.
Behavioral treatment of autistic children [videorecording] / Focus International Inc. ; producer, Edward L. Anderson ; director, Robert Aller ; writer, O. Ivar Lovaas.
Call Number: Vidcass. 00224
Presents an explanation, demonstration, and long-term follow-up of a major breakthrough in the behavioral treatment of young autistic children based on a study of two clients over a period of twenty years.