Use the Library of Congress Classification System to help you navigate the stacks! All of our Music items (including books, scores, CDs, and more) are located on the first floor of Mullen Library, in Stacks 1 North.
| Subclass M - Scores | Subclasses ML and MT - Music Literature |
|
|
Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) attempts to create a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.
Collected Works of Select Composers
| Johann Sebastian Bach (Gesellschaft) | George Friedrich Handel (Hallische Händel-Ausgabe) | Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Werke) (Neue Mozart-Ausgabe) | Franz Schubert |
| Ludwig van Beethoven (Gesamtausgabe) | Josquin | Carl Nielsen | Robert Schumann |
| Hector Berlioz (Werke) (New) | Franz Liszt (Musikalische Werke) | Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina | Heinrich Schütz |
| Johannes Brahms | Felix Mendelssohn (Kritische durchgesehene Ausgabe) | Jean-Philipe Rameau | Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck |
| Frederic Chopin | Claudio Monteverdi | Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov | Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky |
These collections are housed in closed stacks (except for the Dom Mocquereau Chant Microfilm Collection, which is located in the Microform Area). Because these collections contain material segregated from the general collection due to ephemeral nature, rarity, size, or other conditions, items within them cannot be found using SearchBox.
The Choral Music Collection contains over 4,000 choral pieces, published in single octavo scores, from all time periods, languages, and styles, both sacred and secular.
Note: This database does not index our expansive collection of larger choral works , which are included in the library catalog.
The Sheet Music Collection consists of nearly 10,000 published titles, including both single sheets of music and songbook compilations.
The Latin American Music Collection contains over 2,000 scores by Latin American composers, including commercial publications, manuscripts, and reproductions of manuscripts provided by the composers themselves. It is housed in the Latin American Center for Graduate Studies in Music and may be consulted there or in the Mullen Library.
Founded in 1984, The Latin American Center for Graduate Studies in Music (informally called the Latin American Music Center, or LAMC), is a cooperative venture between The Benjamin T. Rome School of Music, the Organization of American States, and the Inter-American Music Council.
The microfilming of seminal liturgical chant manuscripts began in 1974, with generous funding from the Dom Mocquereau Foundation. This unique microfilm collection of nearly 500 manuscript reproductions is often cited in scholarly musicological journals. The collection is most used by faculty, visiting scholars, and advanced graduate students whose research may involve the comparison of chant repertories or the readings of a chant as they appear in multiple sources.