Skip to Main Content

Library and Information Science Research Guide

The knowledge and skill with which recorded information is selected, acquired, organized, stored, maintained, retrieved, and disseminated to meet the needs of a specific clientele

Meet Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Kevin Gunn
Contact:
314B Mullen Library
202-319-5504
Website
Contact: Twitter Page

Finding Articles

Articles can be found both online and at Mullen Library.  A good place to start is the SearchBox for Articles on the home page. You may also choose to click on the  databases tab from the home page, then databases by category, followed by the Library and Information Science Tab.

To research a topic begin by brainstorming several related keywords.  Then choose a the Searchbox for Articles or a database and begin searching.  Expand or refine your topic as necessary.  Use the Advance Search option to narrow your results. Sometimes an article will not be available in full-text from a particular database.  Try clicking on the "Find It" button to see if it is located somewhere else online, or in the WRLC libraries.

Finding Journals

If you are looking for a particular journal there are two ways to locate it in the University's collections.

To find out if we have online access search for the title in Journal Title Search.  If it is available in a database clicking on the title should take you straight to the journal. If it is available in more than one database, pay attention to what years are available, then select the appropriate one.

To find out what the library physically holds search for the title in the WRLC Catalog. Pay attention to the location and call number.

If you are unable to locate a journal in our collections submit a request through Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar

Having trouble with an incomplete citation? Can't seem to locate resources on your topic? A little detective work in Google Scholar might do the trick. More info

Google Scholar Search

General Article Databases

Library Science Electronic Resources